We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in Southeast Asia!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Dalian, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in Southeast Asia!”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The Sojourn Siem Reap is an oasis of perfection! We were traveling with our two children ages 14 & 9, and even they were impressed! From the grounds to the staff and the amazing rooms we could not have asked for more! Our family of four stayed at the Sojourn for two nights and it was all we could have asked for and more. The tours arranged through the hotel were top notch. Our driver and guides were all friendly and professional. The food at the hotel was incredible and reasonably priced. The pool was a refreshing oasis after trekking around the temples all day. Our only regret was that we could not spend more time in Siem Reap! Our entire family loved the Sojourn and would recommend it to anyone we know traveling to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brneyegirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    79
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
183
457
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

While out of town the sincerity and friendliness of the staff will leave a lasting memory. All guests are on a first name basis by the second day and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. The setting is idyllic and the pool is heavenly surrounded by lush gardens. Breakfast is served to order at the table so no tedious buffets to grapple with. The hotel is located next to the local village and you must prepare yourself for very bumpy and dusty roads. But this seems to be the real Cambodia when compared to the hotels in town. However this can be seen as a down side if you wish to stay late in town in the evening. The local taxis are not recommended and most do not know the location of Sojourn and therefore the hotel will take you into town with one of their drivers who will wait for you while you dine and drink. This leaves the issue of a curfew which may not appeal to all. The trips organised by the hotel to Angkor and it's sights are superb and I would recommend the Angkor Trekker which included a full private tour for the day, an evenIng cocktail and an hour long massage for $50 which is nothing short of a bargain. We also hired bikes for the afternoon which gave a great insight into the local life in the surrounding area and brings you into direct contact with an amazing people and their culture. Two nights was definitely not long enough.

Room Tip: The villa rooms with outside shower may not be worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Similians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The location was perfect - out from the main centre of Siem Reap, but near enough. Located where it was (down a "country lane" 2-3 miles from the centre) you got a real feel for Cambodian life, but were only a short, but very enjoyable tuc-tuc ride from the centre (with Angkor Wat and the other temples being just another mile or so from there). Don't let the location put you off - it's a major bonus as Siem Reap itself as a centre is not that great (certainly not to stop in!).

In terms of the accomodation itself, we could not really have wished for more. We had a small villa (which really wasn't small) which was nicely styled and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was really nice and the shower was really good with lovely bathroom condiments. The air con was very effective too. We loved our villa there and wer sad to leave it behind!
The service at the hotel was really second to none. Right from the moment you arrive you are made to feel really welcome. The staff even learn your names and are just so nice. Every single one of them was the same. I've rarely experienced service like it. This is how it should be.

The restaurant at the hotel is also excellent. We ate here a couple of times (and also every morning for breakfast) and it is really well priced for the high quality of food seved. Some of the nicest food we've eaten in S.E. Asia. All really well presented to, without any element of pretentioness. The selection of food from breakfast through to evening meal should be enough to satisfy anybody.

In terms of the extras from the hotel - cheap, reliable transport can be arranged. We used the hotel for all our tuc-tucs and taxis as they used the same reliable sources. They would also drop you into the centre of Siem Reap and wait for you all the time you are there and return you back - and all for a couple of dollars! You don't even have to pay for all your trips etc until you check out from the hotel just to make your life easier. Brilliant service! Recommendations were made to us on routes to visit the temples, some quiter ones to look out for etc and where we could get all our bikes from etc. We were given maps and they could even supply you with picnics to take with you if you wanted. We had a tuc-tuc driver arranged for a sunrise trip to angkor wat through the hotel and also a full day driver to take us nearly a 100km away to see some more remote and distant temples. The latter comes highly recommended as you see so much of Cambodian life - a truly humbling experience.

All in all, this would be our only destination if we are to return to Siem Reap (which we hope to one day). The location, the rooms, the pool, the value for money and - above all else - the friendly service and staff are absolutely spot on. You will not be dissapointed.

Oh, finally. The hotel also puts a lot back into the local community. Not only do they employ local staff and train them well, they also but a lot of money back into the community too. They treat the staff really well and they all seem so happy to be working there, which I guess helps to explain their extraordinary service levels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkycurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This place is definately worth trying out. We were Picked up at the airport, looked after by all the staff in Sojourn throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. They organised our day tour around the Angkor Temples & then the next day let us have bikes to look around the local area. The body massage we had Here was amazing & we really enjoyed our stay. Its a little out of town, but thats not a problem as the hotel makes sure u have a designated driver.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deej666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We felt pampered as soon as we stepped out of our car. The hotel manager greeted us at the entrance and escorted us in for a refreshing drink and a quick introduction to the hotel while our luggage was being placed in our rooms. The cold towel and jasmine bracelets really brought us into the vacation state of mind.

We stayed in the two rooms in the main building at Sojourn. The rooms are simple but well-designed. The service is impeccable and the grounds, beautiful. It's particularly nice to learn how much Sojourn contributes to its community in nearby Treak village, providing services like trash pickup, filtered water, and education. They also train and employ directly from the village.

The hotel staff will also bend over backwards to help accommodate your plans. They'll arrange tours, tuk tuk drivers, even extend meal hours for you if necessary. Their tuk tuk drivers will wait for you if you need it, and they pack cold water and towels so you'll always feel refreshed.

The hotel itself is a little further from town, with a section of dirt road, but its isolation only serves to enhance the experience. You can walk to the nearby village and temple. And the villagers are all extremely friendly. In fact, the cooking class begins with a walk to a nearby village house, where the guide will show you their kitchen and talk to you about the villagers' daily lives. Don't miss this experience!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Awalefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for several nights. We thought we had died and gone to Heaven. This place is great. The staff goes above and beyond to meet and exceed your expectations. Our room was large and and quite comfortable. The little villas surround the pool which gives it a "neighborhood" feel. You find yourself getting to know your neighbors. The food in the restaurant was the best we had in Siem Reap. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is out of town and getting TO the hotel was rough. The roads are really bumpy, but we liked being out of town and close to a real village where there were lots of great photo opps and roosters crowing to wake you up in the morning. Sojourn is building a spa next door which should be open in a few months. They are training some of the local village girls as manicurists, so they are currently offering manicures/pedicures for 6 US$. What a bargain!! They did an excellent job. We booked most of our travel around Siem Reap which was maybe slightly higher than you would pay on the street, but you knew you were getting good drivers/tours, etc.

Room Tip: Go for the Garden villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We rely on Trip Advisor to choose our hotels, so we felt it was important to give back. Before you book with Sojourn, make sure you ask about the construction. I'm sitting outside on my balcony as I type this and construction noise abounds from the spa in progress. We were told that the construction would end at 3pm today, but it is 4:30p and the noise continues on. It is very loud and certainly takes away from the tranquility of the hotel. We booked this hotel specifically for the peace and quiet of being out of the city. The rooms are large, clean, and beautiful. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. Will post more as our time here unfolds, but wanted to let people know who are booking for the near future. We were told the noise today is worse than usual because they are putting the roofing in. Just be sure to ask before you book!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#8 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
2.2 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#5 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Property: Sojourn Boutique Villas
Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#20 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing