We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place to stay in Siem Reap”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Ranked #27 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I've never written a review for Trip Advisor before, though I've relied on other people's reviews, and especially photos (and I enjoy reading the worst reviews of the best hotels by ridiculous guests), but I do want to put in a good word for this hotel. Just nine villas around a swimming pool, outside of the unprepossessing town of Siem Reap: the magical Cambodian countryside is where you want to be. Anyway, it is simple, and relatively cheap, but it has been put together with great intelligence and taste. Except for a few bells and whistles, it has all the comfort of a fine luxury hotel. The staff are extremely charming and eager to please: they have been trained to do certain things, which they do perfectly, and can't always do other things that they haven't been shown how to do, but they are genuinely interested in the happiness of the guests. The whole establishment shows how much the owners care for it: the gardens alone are a delight. I hope to go there again and I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The temple villas are really great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank strether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 872 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2011

A beautiful, immaculate, comforting place with amazing service and great food.
What else is there to say. In a word, perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleepingCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed at Sojourn because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor and we're glad we did. At first you aren't quite sure where the driver is taking you as you are driven across bumpy dirt road into what seems like the middle of nowhere. However, you arrive at Sojourn and it's a wonderful oasis in the middle of a quaint little village area.
The staff really makes an effort to learn your names and call you by your name anytime they see you. They will accommodate anything you need. We arranged our private temple tours for two days with them, and we got a great guide (Sokha) who also taught us a lot about Cambodian culture along with our tours through the ancient temples. They also can arrange tuk tuk transportation for you to and from the town of Siem Reap at low cost ($2/ride), and the town is only about a 15 minute ride.
The food here is also amazing. The chef has specials for breakfast and lunch/dinner, which didn't disappoint and the menu is fantastic.
I'm sure there are other places in town that are 1/2 the price, but the personal service here was fantastic and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Excellent in every respect especially the staff who are really switched on friendly and so helpful

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We loved everything about our four-night stay at Sojourn Villas – especially the staff - from the front desk to the wait staff to the fabulous drivers (car and tuk tuk) – all organized by Sojourn. I could copy exactly what has been stated in the last several reviews, as it is all so true and so nicely written.

Sojourn Villas does have an incredibly strong commitment to the local community. Not only though financial support but also by employing members of the community to work at the hotel – an opportunity most of they would have never had. This was probably our favorite part about visiting Siem Reap – walking through the villages they support, meeting and interacting with the children. An experience we will never forget.

We booked several tours through the hotel and were very pleased with everyone of them. We highly recommend the visit to Kompong Khleang, the stilted village and the floating village on the Tonle Sap Lake – an amazing adventure.

We also enjoyed the food at Sojourn Villas – we had several lunches and dinners. The food was always very fresh and tasty.

We can’t wait to go back to Siem Reap Cambodia and stay at the beautiful Sojourn Villas!

http://donaldandcathy.typepad.com/donald_and_cathys_europea/2011/04/thailand-and-cambodia-part-2-cambodia-sojourn-village.html

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Sojourn Villas are located a short (and bumpy) drive from downtown Siem Reap in Treak Village. The welcome was very warm and friendly. As we had our 2 kids with us (ages 5 and 2) and we were all pretty tired we were shown straight to our room with no long check in procedure, always appreciated. The rooms are all individual bungalows, clean and modern design. We had a beautiful waterfall bath which the kids loved and an outdoor shower. There was more than enough space for the four of us in the room. Turn down service was excellent with a scented candle lit every night and a delicious chocolate for everyone. All the staff from front of house to waiting staff and our fabulous driver (organised by Sojourn) were absolutely fantastic. A delicious breakfast was included in our room rate (a la carte, no stale buffet!) and the lunch and dinner menu was varied. The quality of the food was excellent. Outdoor facilities were also lovely with a great pool and pool bar, perfect for a rest and a cool down after a morning visiting the temples. An absolutely first rate place to stay, I only wish we had had more than 4 nights - there is easily enough to do around Siem Reap and Angkor to justify a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfall bath, very relaxing after a tiring day trekking around Angkor Wat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fischen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My family recently spent 3 days at the Sojourn while visiting the Angkor temples. Others have commented on the beauty of the hotel's facilities; we fully agree with their descriptions and only briefly elaborate below.

For us, what separated this hotel from other luxurious hotels in Siem Reap is its incredibly strong commitment to and ties to the local community. In a town where abject poverty is evident and where just one night at the super-posh, high-cost hotels (Raffles, Aman, LeMeridien, etc) can cost more than most locals earn in an entire year, it is nice to stay at a hotel that is not only as comfortable as can be room-wise but also integrally connected to the local community. (While other in-town hotels give financial support to the locals, none seem to be as truly integrated into the community as the Sojourn). The Sojourn staff comes from the local village and are as pleasant and friendly as can be; they are also well-compensated by local standards. The hotel is working with the local village to ensure clean water, adequate food and sound housing; you can take an eye-opening trek through the local village to see how real Cambodians live (the hotel can arrange donations of water filters, fruit trees, etc though its NGO if you would like). Instead of your tourist money going primarily to some large international hotel corporation, your money is being filtered in a substantial manner back into the community.

On top of its strong commitment to bettering the community, the hotel's infrastructure itself is top-notch. Sojourn is a wonderful, small hotel -- only 10 large bungalows so you never feel crowded and instead always are made to feel special. The bungalows surround a beautiful saltwater pool with a swim up bar (great non-alcoholic fruit drinks as well as the usual bar drinks) at which you can also order delicious food! The service is outstanding (I believe there is at least a 4 to 1 staff-to-room ratio!!); everyone greets you by name by the second day of your stay. A delicious breakfast is included at the excellent, reasonably-priced, on-site restaurant, which also serves a fine dinner if you are too tired to venture into town after a day exploring the temples (the tuk-tuk ride is only 10 minutes to town and it is a lot of fun too boot -- the hotel employees the drivers, who will wait for you while you explore town so you do not have to worry about finding a ride back to the hotel). We found it very nice to stay on the outskirts of town as it was quiet and peaceful yet still within a few minutes of Siem Reap's shops and restaurants.

As for activities, Sojourn runs a tour service in town so can easily arrange any activity you want -- it is nice that everything is handled directly through the hotel so that you can make all your bookings through one central location. In addition to the walking tour discussed above, the cooking class is highly recommended. The hotel's chef walks you through preparation of a delicious meal, which you then eat on a beautiful pavillion in the middle of a pond (5 minute walk from hotel). You get a recipe book at the end; we look forward to making the delicious curry and spring rolls quite often.

Overall, staying at the Sojourn makes you feel that you have been introduced to the locals instead of being isolated from them. There are certainly plenty of upscale hotels in Siem Reap but If you like to stay in a luxurious setting while also getting a real feel for the place to which you are traveling and feel like you are helping to truly support the local community, Sojourn is your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank biggreencane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.7 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#8 of 361 in Siem Reap
589 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#22 of 361 in Siem Reap
367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
2.5 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Privilege Boutique
The Privilege Boutique
#12 of 361 in Siem Reap
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sojourn Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sojourn Boutique Villas

Address: Treak Village Rd. | Treak Village, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#9 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#22 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#23 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $62 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sojourn Boutique Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among rice paddies and palm trees lies Sojourn, the place to unwind and experience Siem Reaps best treasures. Imagine relaxing in tropical surrounds, enjoying decadent cocktails poolside, or at the swim up bar or perhaps indulge in a massage at our 'Origins' Spa. And when a hard days travels draw to a close, watch our magical sunset, as the day sinks into the palm trees. Sojourn offers unique accommodation, the best Khmer hospitality and a team committed to ensuring you have the ultimate escape. With only ten private villa rooms Sojourn offers journeys of an entirely different nature.Located only a short drive from Siem Reap town, within walking distance of the Ancient Wat Athvea temple and purpose built for your ultimate experience....Welcome to Sojourn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sojourn Boutique Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sojourn Boutique Villas Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing