We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thunborey Hotel
Ranked #278 of 372 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed in other similar priced hotels in Siem Reap. This place is far better on all counts. The rooms are large, clean and in very good condition. The wifi always works. The breakfast in the morning is outstanding. Just can not say enough good things about this place

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your value time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 14 of 125 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

It's a cheap hotel with basic amenities. The room itself was large enough and the shower had good pressure and ready hot water. Soap and dandruff shampoo were provided, but no hair dryer. Cleanliness was an issue, since the surfaces needed dusting/wiping and the floor could have used further sweeping. In room slippers provided were obviously used. A/c was strong, wifi was variable depending on which room you got. Breakfast was adequate by Asian standards. Watch out for bugs in the congee. Western items were available. I would say the hotel's strength was that it was centrally located in a safe area and provided the going rate ($1 for 10min) for in room massage.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank lilorchid82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We are staying at this hotel during the high season at the beginning of January and and we would not recommend it if you expect a quiet room where you can sleep. The staff are lovely, the room is nice but it was far too noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARILYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is located near to pub street and night market of Siem Reap and still away from all the noise and traffic. The rooms are nice and clean and bathrooms are spacious for the price you pay.
The staff is very friendly and always happy to help. I booked this through Expedia and called them for confirmation. The manager, I think his name was Peng was very courteous and offered to send a taxi or Tuktuk, with a charge but not exorbitant. He only arranged for a guide and Tuktuk the next day to visit Tonle Sap and Angkor Wat.

The breakfast is also decent. I was leaving for Phnom Penh by early morning bus after 3 nights stay and didn't have time to have breakfast. These guys packed some eggs, bread and fruits for me to have it on the bus.

The Wifi is provided in the room and it works fine. They would need to work on some of the lighting as I found the room with not sufficient light.

If they add up some good tours with a good tour operator, then people don't need to go out and scout for one. But overall I had a good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul_Maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Thunborey Hotel during my visit to Siem Reap in November. I found the staff here very friendly and helpful - couldn't have asked for more! Great value for money and the hotel is located centrally (close to Pub Street and markets). Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I went with Cambodian colleagues to Siem Reap, mostly for work though I took a day out to sample Angkor Wat (see my review of Bunhak the guide of Angkor United Tour). We stayed three nights at the Thunborey Hotel which had clean, simple but comfortable rooms with all the amenities including wifi, an excellent breakfast at no extra charge from a choice of Asian or Western food with a view from the rooftop, a friendly staff who dealt immediately with any issues, booked tours, tuks tuks, you name it and spoke fluent English. It had an overall friendly, family feel to the hotel and cost for the three nights something like US$60. It is also very close to the night market in an area with a huge choice of restaurants. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back must be quieter as they don't face a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is in a good location. The rooms were clean and the channel selection on the old tv was good.

Overall though, we didn't have a great experience. After making the booking for a deluxe room $27/night, we were informed that it wasn't available and downgraded to a different room that was $18/night and told they would move us the next day. We were fine with this. When we received the "upgrade" we were moved into the room next door that was virtually identical but had an additional bed that we didn't really need and a bath that we couldn't use - see below. The third bed may have been miscommunication but I really couldn't see how it was in any way more deluxe or VIP.

The real annoyance was that the hot water didn't work in the room for the entire 3 day stay despite repeatedly asking for it. We were told it was fixed once and it was almost warm at one point but it never got any better. The next time I asked for it, I was simply told it wasn't working with no real explanation. The final straw was that all but one power point in our room stopped working overnight resulting in our phones (also our cameras) failing to charge. There had been a couple of black outs during our stay and completely understand that this happens in Cambodia but this didnt happen that night.

We finally just decided to check out and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seihator, Owner at Thunborey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.6 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 372 in Siem Reap
2,523 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
1.2 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 372 in Siem Reap
5,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#22 of 372 in Siem Reap
3,782 reviews
1 mi away
Jasmine Family Hostel
Jasmine Family Hostel
#173 of 310 in Siem Reap
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#46 of 372 in Siem Reap
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunborey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunborey Hotel

Address: Psakrom Steet | Viheachen Village, Svaydangkum Commune, Siem Reap +855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 372 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $18 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thunborey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique hotel in Siem Reap, the city of Angkor Wat, one of seven wonders in the world is standing in the middle of the city. Our main building has ceiling, slender columns and built in Khmer wood art decoration. Enjoy the facilities and Cambodian traditional hospitality at Thunborey Hotel. Located in the Old Market area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Thunborey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing