We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Banana is GOLDEN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #35 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Golden Banana is GOLDEN!”
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We booked five nights at the Golden Banana Resort based on the positive reviews on TA. Once here we extended our stay to TEN – just couldn’t bear to leave such a lovely, tranquil oasis in Siem Reap. We loved this resort and highly recommend it!
The rooms are comfortable: Big bed, TV with many int’l channels, WFIF, mini-bar, large safety deposit box, excellent bathroom, balcony with lounge chairs and tub and shower!! The only minor complaint about the room would be that the lighting at night is a bit dim for old folks like us with weak eyes.
The pool and garden setting is just ideal after a hot tour of the wats.
The restaurant serves breakfast all morning – such a thoughtful gesture which accommodates various schedules for the guests. The breakfast is delicious and you have a couple of options. We always chose the “egg” option which included: a large bowl of fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly pressed coffee, eggs to order, and whole wheat toast. The staff is polite and attentive.
We also ate a few dinner meals at the restaurant. It has a limited menu, but the food was excellent and no more expensive than walking into the restaurant section in town.
The front desk staff is very helpful and can book a guide or tuk-tuk driver for you. You can rent a bike which is a fun way to get around town or the Angkor Archeological Sites if you have enough time and want a leisurely tour with some exercise.
Our tour guide, Mr. Vuthy, arranged through the hotel, was excellent. He knew the best times to be at certain wats for the best light and fewer tourists. He also knew all the bet places for photo and took some wonderful photos of us. Best of all, he took us to places “off the beaten track” and helped us organize donating a well for a local village.
If you are in Siem Reap over the weekend, you should be sure to go to the free Beatocello concert in support of the Kantha Bopha hospital which offers free health care to Cambodian children and pregnant mothers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    192
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
126
500
170
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The only hotel in Siem Reap I thought about asking regarding staying with my dog was the Golden Banana, mainly because I really liked the hotel from a previous trip. I was taking part in the Angkor Wat Cycle and half Marathon and my dog was going to be my passenger in the Cyclo that I rode. The hotel was very kind to let me stay and everyone was very sweet to her (she is a disabled dog). They let us out early in the morning to go for a walk and assured me that I could stay there again next year with her as she was so well behaved. It took a lot of stress away from what was already going to be a very demanding weekend and I highly recommend the service.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portiaChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Golden Banana Resort (GB) has to be the most perfect oasis in Siem Reap. We stayed there for three nights, and just absolutely loved it.

1. Upon arrival, our package includes an airport pick up, and the driver pick us up with no problem in a van. The ride to the hotel is short and sweet, and the driver is very friendly. GB resort is tucked a way in a small street not far from the old market place.
2. We were offered welcome drinks upon arrival and this place is incredibly beautiful with a pool in the middle court yard and a waterfall. Lounge chairs scatter around with the bar next to it. You can order drinks from the Bar.
3. The staffs are extremely nice and friendly, and they take their time to chat with you and offer some tips. They also go out of their way to help you with everything you ever need.
4. Our package includes a one day tour to Ankor Wat by tuk tuk, and Mr. Mao was our tour guide, I cannot thank him enough as he is one of the most knowledgeable tour guide ever. He is funny, and full of history facts and stories, most importantly, he speaks perfect English (as a licensed tour guide should be). He works with the hotel on a regular basis, and we were glad that we got him. If you ever stay at GB, please ask for him as a tour guide.
5. The room is very nice and spotless, our room is on the third floor with a small balcony looking out to the pool, and it was gorgeous and decorated with traditional wooden furniture and platform beds. The whole resort is WIFI and it also has a TV in the room along with mini bar and free water daily.
6. Bathroom has a natural rain shower and with all the amenities you can ask for. There is also a stone tub and an outdoor shower on the balcony which I love the most. You can either take a shower or have a bubble bath in the tub. Believe me, the bubble bath is fabulous!
7. Breakfast is standard western fair with eggs and bread, coffee juice and fresh fruit.
8. The resort offers a nice lounge area with swing chairs and a day bed where you can receive a massage there. Our package includes a 90 min massage at a nearby spa. It was nicely done and I felt terrific after my massage.
9. The hotel is less than 10 min walking distance to the old market place where you can find not only souvenirs and also food items inside the old market place. The shopping is incredible in Siem Reap and make sure you bargain at least 50% off the asking price.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable, and most of all, we felt like the staff treat us like friends and family. It does help a lot with the score card that this place is nicely decorated and a tastefully built. I enjoyed the pool tremendously and the dinner at the hotel (which is also included in our package). This place is well worth the money and I do hope to return one day. Highly Recommend for all!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Our villa suite was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. They exhibited the utmost professionalism and quiet calm that help make our stay a relaxing one. Location was perfect! Just a short walk down the street and across the bridge and you are at the center of the old town area. Lots of restaurants nearby. The tuk tuk drivers they arranged for us were great too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed here four nights, and after long days at the temples this is a good place to unwind. Don't be put off by the location, across the bridge from the market and down a potholed street- it's always active and a very short and convenient walk into town. Though for a US buck, grab a tuk-tuk in or out. The hotel will set you up a tuk-tuk for extra cost or just head up the alley and grab one.

We had a gorgeous and spacious room with the upstairs terrace. It's huge! But the outdoor bathtub was very uncomfortable and the outdoor shower projects water well beyond where you should stand. Needless to say, we opted out of the al fresco bathing and stuck to the awe-inspiring indoor rain shower (it soothes while cleaning).

All hotel staff were terrific, friendly and helpful. The place is billed as gay-friendly but it clearly caters to all who want to enjoy Siem Reap, the temples, and have a great vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2009

Just quickly wanted to say I agreed with everyone else! This place is great! Nice rooms with high celings (geckos tend to be on walls...unavoidable...it is Cambodia!)

Overall, great!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlthewrld4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

excellent boutique hotel with well designed rooms and very friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hans67netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 344 in Siem Reap
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 344 in Siem Reap
3,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#57 of 344 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#16 of 344 in Siem Reap
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#32 of 344 in Siem Reap
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing