We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best In Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #36 of 365 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed here in January for my birthday. An all round enjoyable experience made even more so my the manager presenting me with a bottle of italian bubbles to help celebrate my birthday.
From the moment we arrived until we left we were made to feel like old friends rather than just hotel guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palewood37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

For people coming in from cold climates the Golden Banana Boutique Resort by Rambutan in Siem Reap must be like the Garden of Eden. The pool in the resort is large and very serene. The drink that you could get makes the area more memorable. All the temples you want to visit are close by including Angkor Watt. The food in the resort is fantastic and the night dinner choice is humungous. One of the great resorts in Asia, this resort is every resort guest’s dream resort. I am not surprised at meeting some of my co-guests from earlier stays here. It looks like all great men think alike but did some body mention fools seldom differ. Anyway, the resort is just great and keep enjoying your stay before you go back to your drab cold climate.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reeves_hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are gorgeous and spotless, breakfast is plentiful, the bar is well stocked, the pool is refreshing, and the location is quiet. Everything about our stay was perfect, and we were sad to leave.

Staff will help you book dinner reservations (ask them to send you to Marum, a training restaurant for street youth - it's fabulous!). They will also help book a driver for a day or more at the temples, or out into the countryside.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeslieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly Cambodian staff. Nice room, balcony was good. The pool is a nice place to relax. Very easy to arrange tuk tuks etc with staff. A great, relaxing place to stay, in a good location, easy 2 min walk into town. Wonderful Breakfast, I like that its available till midday! A few small things that could be improved (especially considering the high room rate) : Water pressure on 3rd floor was quite poor in shower and the toilet seat was partly broken, the room should have a kettle and some tea bags. Also, there were heaps of mosquitoes at breakfast early in the morning so a few citronella candles or something would be good for that. Mini-bar was well stocked but predictably way overpriced. Other than these small issues, a great place to stay!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bodysuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

A hidden gem in the heart of the bustling city of Siem Reap. A good place to relax after a hectic day of touring around nearby Angkor Wat temple. A gay friendly hotel with a personal touch from the owner (Derek) and general manager (Tommy). The boutique is walking distance to night market, Pub street, clubs, restaurants, and shops. Our room is comfortable and clean. We do not have coffee pot in the room but is available on request. Unfortunately we found out on our last day.
The front desk personnel (Seth and Nita) are very helpful in arranging tours,and reserving tickets to Cambodian circus. The boutique gave us a complimentary room to use to shower and clean up since we had very late evening flight.
The boutique offered Asian and Western breakfast which is very good. The servers are extremely friendly and willing to go above and beyond to service the guests. There are always staffs available on-site to take care all your needs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your great feedback!
It was also for us a delight to have you guys here as our guests.
We where very happy to see you enjoyed your holiday as much as you could.
Please let us know when you would have plans to come back so we can book your favorite room for you.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit!

With warm greetings,
The GB by Rambutan team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Golden banana lives up to all it's reviews - it is clean, charming and well located boutique style hotel. It is situated along an alleyway so it is quiet but still only a 5 minute walk to Pubstreet. The grounds are just gorgeous - it gives you a feeling of calm as soon as you step in. We had a double room on the second floor and the stairs up there are very steep and not to be recommended if you have issues with climbing stairs. The view from the room is great though and we loved staying in 'Çinderella's tower'. Breakfast is more than adequate, beds comfortable (although a bit hard but that is the case in most hotels in South East Asia), wi-fi fast and reliable, super clean rooms, plenty of hot water, wonderful staff. I was truly sad to leave and hope I will return again soon !

Room Tip: The higher floors are only accessible via very steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anna511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have just had a very good few days at this charming hotel. A very good location and for those of you, like us, who prefer personal and small hotels with a professional approach , this hotel ticks all the boxes. Nothing was too much trouble from organising trips to making sure we had somewhere to sit after we had checked out and before leaving . Very pretty as well .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellyb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#30 of 365 in Siem Reap
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 365 in Siem Reap
3,749 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#45 of 365 in Siem Reap
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#17 of 365 in Siem Reap
796 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#33 of 365 in Siem Reap
2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Kumm Sala komreuk, Krom 10 | Phum Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $78 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style villas and deluxe suite rooms built around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an al fresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a boutique design resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of local and Western dishes, a fully functional front desk that can help you organize all your tours and travels and there are spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing