We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location - Boutique Style Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #38 of 384 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

From the moment we pulled up to this boutique style hotel located at the end of a small quiet alley way we knew this was going to be an oasis away from it all - and it sure was. Yet we were right around the corner from the hip happening town too (Pub Street and Market) . The staff delivered an awesome experience. The resort itself provides basic room and restaurant accomodations (what we expected for a 3 star rating and the great price). The lush garden pool area and asian style decor (in the rooms and common areas) made for a very peaceful expereince. The manager of the property was very engaged with guests and was passionate about being sure you had everything you wanted. The staff was always willing to give more and go the extra mile. Very enjoyable experience and highly recommended accomodations. The town of Siem Reap is amazing as are the attractions around it. The property was so relaxing and peaceful aht one evening we just sat by the pool and enjoyed a relaxing romantic evening of doing nothing! One other suggestion - try to stay longer than 3 days (we felt like we needed more time).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcoMonkey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Tucked away at the corner of a small quiet alley . Don't be confused by several other hotel resort by the same name next door. Most probably by same management.
We were greeted with a warm and helpful staff who welcomed us with cold drinks & towels.
Our room which was large enough for both of us located just above the restaurant . Comfy bed , nice power shower with a balcony & bath tub outside overlooking the pool
And most importantly free WIFI !
There is no lift to the upper floor . If you can't carry those heavy luggage with you , do not be despair, the staff will be more then happy to help you with that.
The stairs can be slippery though especially after the heavy pours most afternoons .
My travel partner accidentally slipped from the staircase that leads to the restaurant. Luckily it was nothing serious.
A sudden 20 mins power failure for 2 nights in a row was a little bizarre I must say.
The hotel massage service was quite good but not cheap.
I believe you can find many around town with affordable prices .
Breakfast was simple but good enough to start your day.
We only had lunch once at the restaurant during our 4 nights stay. Curious glares I've been getting from a waiter while having my meal can make one feel a little awkward.
Despite all that we had a really good laughs with the staff who've made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveldayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

first- quiet, lovely place with attentive staff, and wonderful pool, restaurant and comfortable rooms- a private seating area with a soapstone tub is just outside the door, and secluded from the pool area by plantings. we slept well, and ate well, and felt well tended to.the tuk tuk drivers related to the GB are friendly, knowledgeable and go the extra mile to make seeing the sights pleasant. really a great place. spoiled briefly for us because we arrived hungry dusty and tired- and there was no room for us. -despite a reservation, confirmation # and email exchange. and the front desk did not handle it well at all. but they put us up a block a way at another nice place, and when we did finally settle in, the golden banana- now called -see above-- to separate it from 2 or 3 other GBananas on the same street- so if you sign up- make sure it is the right one. we would easily choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: our room was on the first floor- we thought there might be pool/bar noise but it was quiet and we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtski48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

definitely among the list of my favorite boutique design hotel. Comfy beds, great bathroom! A nice selection of local and western food. The staff is nice and friendly and extremely helpful too. I realised my phone was left at the hotel when at the airport waiting to fly out. The staff quickly found a taxi driver to deliver it to the airport.

Make sure you confuse this for the golden banana b&b - which is not part of the Golden Banana resorts by rambutan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeiLuo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better base at Siem Reap. Lovely staff, friendly bartender. Daily adventures handled smoothly and with good suggestions thrown in to help.

I realized after a stay at a not-so-well-run, uptight, snooty small hotel rececntly that I base what a good, small, personable, valuable, experience-based, friendly but not intrusive, hotel should be, on this hotel.

Simply fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boxfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights over new year. It was great being in a gay owned / managed place and while the customers were gay and straight it had a good vibe. Staff were attentive, helpful and pleasant. After my partner was ill for a couple of days they went out of their way to make some food she could eat. Room was lovely- outside bath slightly overlooked and bed v comfortable. It's hard to think of anything that could be improved- only minor thing was the pool was cold!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaKelly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear MonicaKelly,

We very much appreciate to receive your positive feedback.
Also for us it was a pleasure to have both of you staying as our guests.
Regarding the special food request during the period your partner was not feeling well, this was no problem or effort at all, our chef is well trained and can cook or create almost any special request.
If necessary we just go to the market to buy it.
We hope your partner finally recovered well during the continuing of your trip?
About the 'cold' pool, indeed this time of the year ('winter') the pool doesn't heat like during the warmer season. This year we can say the cool mornings and warm afternoons are a bit exceptional and very different than previous years. Never the less this creates very pleasant temperatures; excellent to do some temple or other visits. On top of this a refreshing jump in the cool pool in the early morning or at the end of the day works very well to improve your blood circulation and prepare you for your next tour. :-)

We are very much looking forward to welcome you again next year!

With best regards,
Tommy
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. The staffs are great and always very helpful. The hotel is clean and is located in a nice quiet alley. The bathroom could use a little upgrade but overall it's a nicely decorated, charming hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blazyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#32 of 384 in Siem Reap
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#26 of 384 in Siem Reap
3,868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#7 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
#29 of 384 in Siem Reap
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Kumm Sala komreuk, Krom 10 | Phum Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $77 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style villas and deluxe suite rooms built around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an al fresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a boutique design resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of local and Western dishes, a fully functional front desk that can help you organize all your tours and travels and there are spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing