We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #39 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. The staffs are great and always very helpful. The hotel is clean and is located in a nice quiet alley. The bathroom could use a little upgrade but overall it's a nicely decorated, charming hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blazyrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

As long as your open minded this hotel has excellent service with a staff thats friendly and always have a smile . Rooms and the property are well maintained and would stay here again . If traveling with young children might look at other options as seems to have a large same partner clients base which was fine with us .

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahoo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Wahoo 1000,

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us.
We are indeed an open minded gay/strait friendly resort that welcomes everyone.
The concept is to offer our guest a homey feeling away from home with a strong focus on a personal customers service.
We have regular visits of families with children, most of the times this works perfectly, as long as the children and parents also can respect the calm and serenity we like to guarantee to all our guests.
If you are looking for a more "family friendly" place with many other children to play with our resort might be not 100% suitable.
When you like the charm of a boutique resort where you can spend some nice quality time with your partner or family in a tranquil atmosphere; this is the perfect spot.

With warm regards,
Tommy
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Location is excellent - easy from airport - to the Sites and 10 min walk to "Pub Street" the unofficial center of Siem Reap. Staff were always helpful and friendly and went out of their way to assist - the manager of the site was always on hand and helped over a period the (free) wifi link went down to get alternative connections and keep us on line. Cars / Tuk tuk's were arranged and all arrived as expected. Rooms are good but would suggest trendy or interesting rather than boutique in nature - but we just slept there.Out flight was cancelled out of Siem Reap and the resort not only allowed us to stay for the day and use its facilities but also provided a bathroom to shower and change before our 14 hour delayed flight left - excellent service yet again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from walk ways (pool area) if you want a bit more quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADTMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I spent 8 nights in the GB Resort, choosing a deluxe villa which was a good call I think as the private rooftop sunbeds were great after a morning temple-hopping. Room was nice, breakfast OK but the big plus here is the brilliant staff - everybody was so smiling and genuinely helpful - nothing too much trouble - eg we gave our list of chosen restaurants (from TA reviews) to the guy on reception and he booked them for us and gave us a note with days and times.

Go there - you won't be disappointed and much better than a big anonymous plastic hotel. .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_HirstUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our five point review:

1. Staff is very helpful and polite. Addressed all our requests.

2. Breakfast is included and satisfies your basic needs though portions are not "American-sized".

3. Best part is proximity to downtown, within easy walking distance but far enough so the craziness of pub street isn't felt.

4. Clean and comfortable.

5. Would recommend!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was a friendly and fun stay, we spent only 2 nights and found the staff friendly and the rooms were big with an interesting combination of features, our room has a roof garden on top. There was no tea of coffee facilities in the room which wasn't nice but the bathroom had an interesting decor. The pool is tightly positioned in a courtyard with rooms around it on all 4 sides.

The restaurant was small and nice but the staff seemed run off their feet at times and breakfast could get slow at times.

The reception was efficient and extremely friendly however finding it when we 1st arrived wasn't so easy as its a combination of a few hotels and the resort was the last along a narrow lane way.

We were told by local friend that its gay friendly if that interests you. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Be careful when you book as there are a few hotels in this group with similar names and you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Bay_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed 4 nights and have a good time there.
Con: this hotel has seen its day. It looks tired though rooms was well kept clean and tidy. Wi-fi was on and off at all time and plus a powere problem in room we're in.
Pro: service from staff was excellent and location was very handy.
Tommy, manager( I supposed) was sitting and drinking by himself and couldn't be bothered to come and say hello to guests there.
Perhaps will stay there again for location and service but wouldn't hold my breathe if the place is running down as the sign was there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vngoun n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Vngoun,

Thank you for taking your time writing this feedback about us.
We very regret your stay seems not have been 100% what you had expected.
One of the reasons could be that during your stay we where in the middle of a unexpected moving and upgrading of our facilities; office, water filter system, generator, storage room etc etc.
We did try our very best to do all of this as much as possible “behind the scenes” so our guests where not bordered or disturbed by it too much.
The good news is everything is moved, upgraded and back in place so we have our full attention back to put in the hotel and the resort to keep our guest happy.
As a result of the moving or maybe it could had something to do with the peak season where we are in, but I really regret that I did not found the time to meet and greet with you in person and maybe have a coffee or drink together.
I totally understand there is no way for you to know or understand all the work that is happening behind the scenes of a hotel.

At that time I indeed might have been knackered of all the work and a bit stretched out but no excuse if you feel avoided. Thank Buddha the staff picked up and was attentive, but I sure hope I can make up to you next time.

With most kind regards,
Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#34 of 378 in Siem Reap
891 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#27 of 378 in Siem Reap
3,843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#60 of 378 in Siem Reap
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#8 of 378 in Siem Reap
1,769 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
#29 of 378 in Siem Reap
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Kumm Sala komreuk, Krom 10 | Phum Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $73 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style villas and deluxe suite rooms built around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an al fresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a boutique design resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of local and Western dishes, a fully functional front desk that can help you organize all your tours and travels and there are spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing