We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay just as great as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #39 of 354 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“2nd stay just as great as the first”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here recently for the second time. And the second time was just as good as the first, if not better. The real strength of this hotel is the sense of community created by the size, layout of the property and the wonderfully engaging folks who work here. The staff is just first rate and always making you feel at home. The property, being centered around the pool and restaurant, creates a sense of community where you can relax, meet people and share experiences and tips for visiting many of the wonderful things the Siem Reap area offers. We stayed for 10 nights and the time just flew by. Highly recommend this very special hotel. While we were a couple traveling together I think this hotel works for single travelers or families (which were also present.) Also, the location cannot be beat. With the creation of the new night market south of the river you can literally cross through the market and over the new pedestrian bridge to pub street, restaurants and stores in literally minutes. Extremely pleasant walking and quick/convenient location to things to see and do in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second floor villa. Its a great room and highly recommended. The poolside villas ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael-and-Jose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Michael & Jose,

Thank you so much for your positive review.
We where delighted to see you guys coming to stay with us again and to read you enjoyed it as much as last time.
Regarding the room tip your are totally right, the ground-floor villa's are more suitable for those travelers who like to jingle and mingle a bit more with the other guests or with their friends next door.
The more 'private' rooms are indeed on the higher floors or in the corners of the properties.
If you guys would come back don't be shy to ask for your favorite room, we are more than happy to organize it again for you.

With warm greetings,
Tommy
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    193
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
127
502
171
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel - very comfortable, peaceful and relaxing despite being really central (a short walk to the river and market area). Lovely rooms with private balconies, a nice salt water pool, on site spa and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Small, stylish and personal; I would describe this place as a boutique guesthouse.
We stayed at the resort for 6 nights with our 3 teenagers in 2 deluxe villa’s. The decoration is quirky, with lots of nice little touches. The rainshower is fantastic and the upstairs terrace is really nice and offers plenty of privacy. The saltwater pool is perfect for relaxing and kept very clean, as is everything else in the resort. There’s a good choice of breakfast and you can order food/drinks throughout the day, which is handy if you don't want to go into town to eat. The staff is sweet and friendly. Location is good, town is about a 5 minute walk away, yet the hotel complex is peaceful and gives the feeling of being far away from the chaos of Pub Street.

As with every hotel, using them to book services such as transport, laundry, etc, will always be more expensive. It's a compromise between convenience and budget. However mark-up prices here were high compared to other places we stayed at in Cambodia, but this could be the norm in Siem Reap.
Some points worth mentioning about the services we booked via the hotel:
1) A minivan and driver for further afield sights cost $85 for the day. Our driver, Sitath, was excellent. He was a careful driver, told us loads about the surrounding villages and, with his suggestions, we worked out a great itinerary with him. Recommended.
2) A tuktuk cost $13 per tour. The hotel employs smaller tuktuks which means you can fit 2, maximum 3, people in one tuktuk. If your party is larger than 3 it's worth arranging your own tuktuk in town, a few minutes walk away. In town, and elsewhere in Cambodia, the 5 of us (sometimes with our luggage) fitted easily into one tuktuk.
3) Onward bus tickets to Battambang cost $5 pp. When the pickup dropped us off at the bus station we were transferred to a Rith Mony bus, a company which travellers are advised to avoid on the TA forum. The bus trip was ok but if you're choosy about the bus company book the tickets direct with the bus company itself.
If you want to be near town, with its choice of restaurants, entertainment and transport, yet want a quiet place to relax and sleep, Golden Banana Resort is a good choice. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howie2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and loved it. What a gem in the madness of this little city. The staff including the bar man Ang and Ravi made sure our stay was fantastic. The rooms are stylish, love the outdoor baths and the pool area to die for. I suggest trying the Mojito's with the ginger twist to them.

Town is a 2 minute walk away, as is the river making it an idea location but not in the middle of pub street for that well earned rest after exploring ruins all day. Price was more than reasonable and dinner in the restaurant always enjoyable. Nothing was a problem when wanting to change around a few orders at breakfast so all in all a great job and well done. We will be staying with you guys next time.

Room Tip: If you can handle the stairs I think the upstairs rooms are nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yum2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A charming place in a good location with good accessibility to both the airport and the Angkor temples. The rooms are set around a beautiful courtyard and swimming pool creating a really memorable and special atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was very good. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A very relaxed place, with a charmíng staff. Beautiful build in traditional style. Lovely food for a very reasonal price. Do not forget to do the massage it is gordious. we stayed here for 4 days. You walk within two minutes to the old market and the busy village Siem Reap. But Golden Banana boutique resort is still in the quiet area.

Room Tip: Every room we saw was different. But all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarjondG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My friend and I came to the GB for our spring break and stayed 4 nights. The staff is really helpful and accommodating. The food at the restaurant is awesome from the coffee and breakfast to the amok :) I highly recommend staying here, it is tucked into a quiet corned but just a short walk to the market and heart of Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lund712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#18 of 354 in Siem Reap
3,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#19 of 354 in Siem Reap
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#5 of 354 in Siem Reap
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#61 of 354 in Siem Reap
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#29 of 354 in Siem Reap
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing