We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #34 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Now this is what you would call a boutique service with boutique service. From the moment I landed at the Siem Reap airport, to the time I left, I did not have to do anything towards my short visit. I mentioned to the owner that I am going to Siem Reap for only one night and I want to see as much as possible in one full day. The staff at GB made it all happen, from picking me up to the airport to planning my entire visit. I did not even have to lift a finger. All taken care of!

Immaculate property, great swimming pool, scrumptious breakfast, and the best of all... the wonderful cocktails at the pool bar. It really does not get any better than this.

Thank you, Dirk and the staff at GB!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Nomadic_Doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    191
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
126
499
170
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a villa. It was quite large with a fabulous rooftop that had an outdoor shower and bathtub. The room opened right onto the pool which was ok but we felt some cloth over the door would improve privacy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Can be a little tricky to find but tuk tuk drivers usually can find it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A friend in Hong Kong immediately told me about Golden Banana as soon as he heard I was going to Cambodia. In fact, he said that the Cambodian people are so friendly, and the Golden Banana so relaxing, he could easily spend many weekends just hanging out there. He was spot on. The place is really cute.... a little oasis. The property has several different areas with pools, hammocks, tropical lounge areas and....as part of some rooms.....secluded outdoor showers :-) we had a delicious breakfast every morning. The people working there were so nice. Sothol (Thol) Hong checked on us each day, helping us with questions we had. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorcalsTheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great hospitality and beautiful surroundings. We extended our 9 night stay, and moved to the Golden Banana B&B and boutique hotel, all very comfortable and great service. We are a family with 2 boys aged 5 and 8 and felt very happy and safe. Just be prepared to supervise your children in the salt water pool which is the feature of the enclosed courtyard. It 's also worth noting that the second single bed is more the size of a king single/double and easily big enough for our two boys. The only complaint I have is that we still didn't have enough time to laze by the pool because there were too many great things to do in Siem Reap and surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onestepatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is everything everyone has written about it! What a great place and great location! Big rooms, great balcony upstairs.
Only fault would be the doors of the rooms. Damn hard to close due to swelling of timber and movement but hey, a minor issue.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the pool area away from the bar and restaurant which was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We came back to Siem Reap in June this year and had 7 nights at Golden Banana. We got upgraded from the hotel to the resort which was really nice of them.

As you can tell from our 3rd stay we really love this place. The hotel and resort (pool, food, cocktails, rooms) are both great, the location of 4min walk to the market/town is also great but for us the best reason to stay here are the staff. They are simply the best. Relaxed, friendly, chat to you, you learn about their country, just having a friendly face when you come back each time is great.

You wont be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMAC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I arrived in Siem Reap on a Friday afternoon, cleared immigration and customs, and walked outside the terminal to be greeted by the beaming smiling face of our tuk tuk driver for the resort holding a sign with our names. So nice being expected.
A 15-20 minute trip down the highway, through the town, down a tiny little alley, and there we were, once again met with genuinely friendly smiles by the attentive and professional staff.
A quick sorting of the details, a nice cool towel and a welcome drink and we were shown to our room. I was wowed the minute they opened the door, high ceilings, platform bed, stylish, and simple. Clean, well presented, and knew we'd spend a happy three nights here. Bed was firm, which I like, and no issues at all with any of the fittings or amenities. Our private balcony looked out over the pool, had two comfy loungers and a curtained bathtub.
We had dinner that night in their restaurant, food was tasty, reasonably priced, and service was attentive. Breakfasts were the same.
Location was a 5 minute walk from the old market, and access to heaps of other pubs and cafes.
All in all, a lovely three nights, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to couples. The stairs up to our room were fine for us, but any mobility issues, try and get ground floor rooms booked. Can't wait for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiCanuckBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 343 in Siem Reap
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#59 of 343 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 343 in Siem Reap
3,543 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#30 of 343 in Siem Reap
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#3 of 343 in Siem Reap
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing