We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Nearby Hotels
$45
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$51
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Temple Residence(Siem Reap)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,196)
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveler rating
960
204
19
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
204
19
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden bananadeluxe villaoutdoor bathtubstone tubpub streettuk tukquiet alleyacross the riverthe salt water poolfree foot massageold marketfive minute walkan oasisrain showerangkor watnight marketprivate balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 1,196 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Golden Banana suited our needs in Siem Reap perfectly. It's just far enough out of the centre of town to have a sense of seclusion, but is a short walk away from Pub Street and the rest. The sense of being insulated from the tumult and heat of Siem Reap and Angkor is one of the key qualities of the "resort". As the afternoon wears on, people gather around the pool after a morning of seeing the sights, relaxing with a book or ipad. A cocktail from the bar may also be to hand. Lovely.

The staff at the resort were uniformally excellent. Always cheerful and willing to help out. They, alongide the resort's fleet of tuk tuk drivers, will meet all of your sightseeing needs and the costs (which are very reasonable) can all be charged for payment when you check out. Very convenient.

Our room was spacious, clean and everything worked. The frequent power cuts in Siem Reap were not a problem as a result of the newly installed generator.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Went for the second time in 2 years.
Were welcomed back by the once again superb staff. They are really what make this place.
Stayed in a lovely deluxe villa - perfectly equipped and with none of the power or water problems described by others here. In fact the manager said they had recently added a waterpump and a generator to prevent similar things happening in the future.
For our stay everything worked perfectly.
The food and drinks and bar service are still just wonderful and I would stay here again for sure.
Why not 5* like I gave last time - It is still the same magical place - but the prices have gone up somewhat, So with that comes increased expectations as well.

Room Tip: Deluxe villa if you want to splurge - otherwise the roomsfacing the pool are also just great .
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Nicolai,

It was very nice to see you again at our Resort.
We love to welcome our returning guest and see them becoming in a certain way a member of our GB ‘Family’.
Regarding our prices that slightly went up, this is true, after two full years without increasing our rates, we had to make them a bit higher.
Siem Reap is a beautiful city in full expansion, this offers a lot of benefits for those who visit it; great restaurants, bars, shops, spa’s,... but at the same time the facilities provided by the government can not follow and are not 100% sufficient.
Because of this we decide to invest a lot in backup systems to guarantee Electricity & Water supply, Wi-Fi., etc. at all times.
Apart from this for those who book direct to us we also have our “special returning guests rates or free upgrades”
Next time; please don’t be shy to ask for it, we are more than happy to offer them also to you.

The full GB team is looking forward to your next visit.

With best regards,
Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you are planning to stay in Siem Reap, this is an excellent choice. It is off the beaten path, in a great location. It is in walking distance to the markets and restaurants. We walked everywhere (easy walks). If you are looking for a big name brand hotel, this is not your place. But if you are like us and want to stay in a place that offers terrific service, good food, and makes you feel part of the community, stay here. We looked forward to seeing and talking to the staff everyday. Our room was nice and the pool beautiful and refreshing. (One review stated the waterfall is noisy - but they turn it off in the evening - we happen to like waterfalls)
The Golden Banana will set up all your tours and provide you with drivers any where you want to go. Our driver and guide were so fun and knowledgeable. We had such a good time, we are trying to figure out a way back. And we will stay at the Golden Banana again.
- Paula & RJ

Room Tip: We thought our room was very good. We had a balcony and a good sized bathroom and bedroom. Our room was two floors, so if you are stair challenged be aware of this.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A friend in NY, NY recommended the attractive Golden Banana where he'd stayed several times. My daughter and I loved our visit at the GB. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely designed and comfortable, our meals in the restaurant were delicious. The location was a short walk to the Night Market and restaurants. The GB staff helped us organize transportation and a guide to Angkor Wat. Our experience at The Golden Banana helped to make our vacation a memorable one. We were sorry that we didn't plan more time in Siem Reap.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good. We were on the second floor overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzan307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at the Golden Banana Resort in Mid-March. We had a room just off the pool, with a terrace upstairs.

My favorite thing about the hotel was the staff - particularly in the bar/restaurant. They were very nice and always smiling. One afternoon I was at the pool, and the GM was having a staff meeting. I could hear lots of kudos and lots of applause. They seem to have a sense of teamwork and community there. the sign of great management.

The quality of food was quite good and the price more than reasonable.

My only feedback is the bed. To truly experience the sights of Cambodia. you must climb stone stairs, walk miles, and really push yourself. The bed is firm, like most Asian hotels, and while I can deal with that, it also features a wood ledge around the mattress. Some nights I was so sore and tired that getting up to get some water or use the restroom was painful, because I had to traverse the bed ledge. While it was useful for my alarm clock, and attractive to look at, the ledge at times caused me some pains. A small thing really.

I miss the smiles at the Golden Banana. thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews