We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Serenity wrapped with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #34 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace and Serenity wrapped with excellent service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Now I have to say I'm quite a picky guest when it comes to staying at resorts... The Golden Banana blew me away with their impeccable service, greeted by the manager upon check in and he is a lovely guy, he is concerned about your comfort and regularly walks by and engages you to see how you are in a friendly and social manner. The staff are wonderful, they all speak english well, and are even sent to english lessons as part of their employment at the GB (To be honest, I felt terrible that I couldnt speak Khmer back..I tried and it was always met with a smile). GB is gay friendly, I felt comfortable holding my partners hand in public and being affectionate (respectfully so in public..) We met another gay couple who brough their children and they looked lke they were having ball! Everyone looked relaxed and interacted with each other, you dont have to however the warm and welcoming environment provided by the GB seemed to bring out everyones social side. Everyone is included, just the way it should be :o)

The rooms are stylish and clean, I didn't want to leave! My partner and I stayed in the delux room which we highly recommend. Now I'm a little insect phobic, I did not see one little creature except for those cute geko's which are your friend (They eat the bugs) and look totally cute whilst doing it. The private bath located on our private upper deck was gorgeous, and provided a romatic setting for some private time with the other half :o)

We can not wait to return to Siem Reap and the Golden Banana, I rate this a 5 star resort which is deserves through and through. Well Done guys and thank you for a stay like no other.

From the bottom of ours hearts thank you for an amazing experience, one never to be forgotten, Siem Reap is a magical place, so you need a magical place like GB to complement its charms.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    191
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
126
499
170
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Loved this place so much that I didn't want to leave! The staff were so friendly and absolutely amazing and went out of their way in every way. Rooms were clean spacious and quiet. The food was lovely and only a short walk to the markets and pub street making this resort a perfect pick for our stay in Siem Reap. Will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have fond memories of our stay at the GB Boutique Resort. A relaxing and friendly oasis after a hard day exploring the ancient sites of Angkor and beyond. Situated within strolling distance of of the town centre but in a quiet area with a village atmosphere. The staff were friendly and professional supplying local travel advice (and marguritas) as necessary. We enjoyed the breakfast choices and loved the mango and smoked fish salad...try it if you like your food spicy! The rooms are cool,spacious and comfortable with the bonus of a private tub. The pool is well maintained.
Gay friendly but not gay exclusive.
We shall return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is just beautifully designed- the aesthetics are simple, yet elegant. We booked the two level villa with the bathtub on the balcony, which I highly recommend. While this is a gay owned resort- the heteros have discovered it and fit in quite nicely, so don't expect an all male resort. The location is perfect- just out of the main area enough that it is totally quiet at night, but close enough that you never need a tuk tuk. The staff is gracious and always smiling- they do everything they can to make your stay a pleasant one. My one minor recommendation to the management is to have more consistency with who mans the front desk- it seems to constantly change throughout the day and guest requests aren't consistently communicated between the different employees. They are all so nice though, if you keep asking, you eventually get what you need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldtraveller062, General Manager at Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Chuck,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this very nice review on Tripadvisor.
This is always very appreciated.
It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay at our Resort and hope to see you becoming a member of our "returning guests club".
Regarding your recommendation about our not 100% consistence front desk; we totally agree and understand your comment about this. At the same time I would like to assure you we are working to improve this every day. Actually at the moment of your stay we where training some new and existing staff members to improve their communication skills, also the yearly staff holidays where taking place, this apparently resulted in a less consistence situation at the front desk. Next to this we have a morning and evening shift working at our Resort to avoid the staff has to work more than 9 hours per day. Please don't take this as excuses, but rather as providing some inside information. Our staff is fantastic, are fast learners and we love them, but we are aware that we have to keep on improving the overall communication between the different shifts and teams, like in almost all organizations and or businesses (as you probable know) this is a very fragile and returning problem.
Please let us know when you would plan to come back so we can organize a very nice room for you?

With kind regards,
Tommy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Have travelled extensively and can highly recommend the Golden Banana. Tommy and his staff did everything they possibly could to ensure my stay was perfect…………………which it was. Lovely spacious room with comfortable bed I was very happy! Highly recommended, very well located……………………a gem! Please stay there when you visit Siem Reap!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms face the pool and all very well appointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff at Golden Banana will go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We had orginally booked a villa with two levels, however upon our arrival they had overbooked. After receiving several sincere apologies from the reception staff and supervisor on duty, we were offered a deluxe suite overlooking the pool with an outdoor bathtub, more than adeuqate. To compensate, we were given a free meal including entree, main, dessert and a glass of wine. In hindsight, the free mean more than made up for the mistake with our room. Staff also went out of their way to organise our onward trip to Sihanoukville.

The hotel itself has a great atmosphere and is very picturesque in a funky kind of way. The food at the restaurant is delicious, and very reasonably priced. Within walking distance to the market area and pub street, or a short 1USD tuk tuk ride if you would prefer not to walk. Woudl definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I just finished a 10 day stay in Siem Reap at the Golden Banana. I came an d stayed at the Golden Banana a year ago and coming back was like returning home. There are many things that make the Golden Banana so incredible and wonderful but I think the thing that makes them the most special is there staff. All of the staff go above and beyond their duty to make you feel at home and taken care of. One could say that they just offer good service, but with cambodians it is much more... I believe they genuinely care about people.

Everyday the room is cleaned and freshened up, and the food is amazing.

If you go on tours, ask for Mister Narath He.

Room Tip: The Golden Banana offers suites and villas. The villa is not much more money and for the value, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 343 in Siem Reap
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#59 of 343 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 343 in Siem Reap
3,543 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#30 of 343 in Siem Reap
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#3 of 343 in Siem Reap
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Property: Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Address: Wat Damnak, Krom 10 | Rambutan Lane, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#35 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style Villas and Deluxe Suite Rooms build around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an alfresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The Resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a Boutique Design Resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of Local and Western dishes, a fully functional Front Desk who can help you organize al your tours and travels and there are Spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing