We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience we could have asked for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap
Ranked #35 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for only 2 nights (Oct 30th & 31st) and we wished we could have stayed longer!

First of all, once we booked our room with them, they were very communicative with us prior to our arrival. They even sent us an email alerting us of the flooding and told us the situation in Cambodia and even arranged a free tuk-tuk from the airport for us! Once we got there (it was a late flight landing at around 10:30PM), they didn't even bother to check us in, instead escorted us immediately to our room and allowed us to check in in the morning.

They had an amazing breakfast (with several selections available) that they would either deliver to your room or you could enjoy at their poolside restaurant/bar. The actual hotel was beautiful and really felt like an escape. The pool area was serene and you felt like you were at a beach resort rather than in a landlocked city. It was well decorated and maintained. We had the deluxe room with outdoor shower and bath which was amazing to use after a long day of walking around temples. No worries about hot water here! The room was clean and no bugs- although we had some lizard friends on our balcony at night :). They had a plethora of TV channels- even Deutsche Welle (my fiance is German and we don't have German TV in Korea so it is always a treat when we do). The minibar was very cheap and well stocked (they had Moet for 27USD)! The hotel itself was five stars...

BUT what really put it over the top was the service. They went out of their way to be helpful. On our last day in Siem Reap, we discovered that our hotel in Phnom Penh cancelled on us! One of the employees helped us find a hotel, call them, and explained our situation (we would be arriving in Phnom Penh at 2AM so we needed some transportation from where our bus would be dropping us off). They then allowed us to stay at the resort, have dinner, and enjoy the pool- this was all AFTER we had already checked out! I cannot emphasize how great their service was- even if the hotel had been so-so (which it 100% wasn't) the service would had made it 5 stars. It was a very stressful situation and because of their warmth and help made it that much easier.

My fiance and I have already recommended the place to all of our friends and we definitely plan on going there again in the future.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room- well worth the extra money; book it if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittischoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

When travelling with 6 people it's hard to keep everyone happy but @ the Golden Banana they didn't miss a trick.
The welcome is attentive and warm, the introduction to Khmer custom is informative and the rooms are more than welcoming and well decorated in a modern, spacious Khmer style. As in most of Asia the beds are firm but you quickly learn to spread yourself akimbo on the spacious bedded area. Lighting is user friendly with dimable lamps and bright overheads when necessary.
The food is lovely, cooked off site (in our particular section of the Banana Group) but promptly delivered.
When we arrived most of Siem Reap was under extreme flood and yet the staff made an equally extreme effort to keep our feet and luggage dry with great success. Big points were awarded here from the first time "SE Asia in the wet season" travellers.
All staff are to be commended in this venue and I would recommend all of their properties in Siem Reap. The soon to be completed new pool looks particularly inviting. The current pool is more than enough but they are building another in the sun to accommodate the full sun lovers.
I should also note that their recommended drivers for visits to the Temples, shopping, city tours e.t.c are knowledgeable, friendly and worth booking.
A great place. Awkunh ch'ran'.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deelish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

i stayed for the third time at golden banana hotel & resort, the room is very nice, the whole resort looks a bit like a magic castle, around every corner there is something new to explore.
the stuff speaks really good english and tries to help u in any questions. it is a littlke diamond.
it is nice to have a gayfriendly place. what i ask myself is why straight people with children choose this place and don't stay in their familyfriendly resorts.but well,
we have to be tolerant.
;-))

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orlando_bln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Me and two friends were at the Golden Banana Resort for 03 nights in the last September / October.

We arrived shortly after a flood, which made our arrival in the Hotel just a little hard on the first day, but the service and help of all employees made ​​all the difference!

They have wonderful rooms, and massage services and visits to the temples.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlavioPrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is an oasis and a place you can spend days or weeks just relaxing by the pool. The rooms were great with an amazing shower, stone tub on the balcony, and comfortable beds. The staff were very attentive, helpful, and extremely friendly. Easily some of the best people we encountered throughout our travels. The restaurant was very good with a large selection for both breakfast and dinner. On our first night we were able to get an amazing couples massage with about 30 minutes notice. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EP05313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

What a great place to stay, we all had a fantasic time and the staff are the friendliest in the country, The Tuk Tuk driver that GB organised for us was a great guy as well Thanks to all the staff at Golden Banana - Hope to return one day.
Wal,Em and the boys

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wal296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I had a great trip here. Wonderful food, beautiful room and great grounds. Just the perfect distance from the noise of the pub area. We booked our guide and transport through Golden Banana and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,696 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#27 of 361 in Siem Reap
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
Chronicle Angkor Hotel
#17 of 361 in Siem Reap
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
Diamond D'Angkor Boutique
#25 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap

Address: Kumm Sala komreuk, Krom 10 | Phum Wat Damnak, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly Golden Banana Boutique Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Siem Reap
#12 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#14 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#34 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $64 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap (formerly known as Golden Banana Boutique Resort) is located in a quiet pedestrian alley only 5 minutes walk from the old market and Siem Reap city center. It consists of Khmer style villas and deluxe suite rooms built around a salt water pool with waterfall settled in a lush tropical garden. Each room comes with an al fresco stone outdoor bathtub located on your own private balcony or terrace. The resort is designed in a modern Asian style and consists all luxuries that you expect from a boutique design resort. On top of all this we have: a pool-bar with unique selection of signature cocktails and new world wines, a restaurant with well trained cooking team that serves your preferred selection of local and Western dishes, a fully functional front desk that can help you organize all your tours and travels and there are spa treatments available on request! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambutan Resort - Siem Reap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Banana Boutique Hotel Siem Reap
The Golden Banana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing