We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, good value, nice setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madame Butterfly

Madame Butterfly
Ranked #107 of 844 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delight in Siem Reaps iconic and long established Khmer Restaurant Madame Butterfly. We offer the best of authentic Cambodian cuisine mixed with Thai and Chinese influences while pampering guests in a cozy traditional wooden house surrounded by lush tropical gardens. Madame Butterfly is the perfect place for a romantic dinner, relaxed cocktails or social gathering. Located away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street there is without a doubt nothing you can compare it with in the city of Siem Reap. Come and experience our beautiful location and famous hospitality for yourself.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food, good value, nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The 4 of us had our first dinner in Cambodia at this restaurant on the advice of the hotel staff. It was beautifully set back from the main road, with rooms of wood open to the outside with fans about. It was like eating in a tree house. Khymer food, with curries among the choices.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    156
    50
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very nice food in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had dinner here on our last night in Siem Reap.
The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable.
The food is delicious (we had the rolls, a trio of different salads and a khmer crêpe and signature chicken dish as mains). You do feel the French influence of the chef but still this is local cuisine at its best.
Ask to be seated outdoors and upstairs where you have that lovely colonial feeling.
Highly recommendable and not overpriced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The grounds and building are beautiful, we ate on the balcony overlooking the garden. The food was very good and beautifully presented. We had the set lunch and especially enjoyed the soup starter. Our vegetarian companions were well looked after. Service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_engineer_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Attentive staff and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We went to this restaurant with four others making a party os six.

The atmosphere is great being based on a traditional stilt house. We were in a small room upstairs with three other tables in addition to ours making it quite intimate for the party.

We each ordered separately although there are set menus if you don't know what to order. The food was well presented and great tasting.

Whilst there are clearly far cheaper restaurants in the area I would recommend spending a little bit more here. Best meal we had in Siem Reap.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant and decided to check it out, having booked in advance (essential if you want a good table). We were met at the gate when we arrived in our tuk-tuk and taken to our table on the first floor, overlooking the garden.

We decided to have the set menu and a decent bottle of wine and were not disappointed. The service was superb and the food presented beautifully, and to top it all, it tasted divine. The wine complemented the meal and we could not have asked for a better evening.

There was a lovely gift shop on the ground floor, but unfortunately didn't have time to visit! There were plenty of tuk-tuks outside, so getting back to our hotel was not a problem.

If you are visiting Siem Reap, do go and have a meal at this restaurant. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Butterfly also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Madame Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing