We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a four-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smiling Hotel & Spa
Ranked #262 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Terrible! The room smelled of mold, sheets with holes, slow shower drain -- even after it was "fixed" following my complaint. Sound insulation is non-existent, you can hear everything that's going on in the room next to you which is particularly bad in a place where some people choose to get up at 4:30AM to see the sunrise. Not recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMILINGHOELSiemReap, Manager at Smiling Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Value guests!

We have learned from this review and found that there is an error understanding of this person. All hotels in the world would have some problem during your stay here/there but you have to contact receptionists to fix if not you can requested to change to the new room instead. This guests were ignored with our offer to change to the new room.

Some guests written review as the human be but some of them written review as the gangsters. Hotel operation or other business operation will likely to have some problem during the operation hour but they will not ignore to fix or change that.

The above mentioned are not a big argument with this guy but this is to show our response to an error written review as well as prevent misunderstanding for the further guests who wish to stay at the Smiling Hotel.

The management!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 138 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights during the visit to Angkor Wat and other attractions. My views are as follows:

The likes:

- Friendly Staff
- clean room

The dislikes:

- fly army at breakfast! We lost our appetite after fighting off these disgusting insect!
- too many mainland Chinese Tourists who shout at each other, cut queues, push and shove their ways around! We can here them shouting we'll into the night. We did not have good night rest at all during our stay.
- no soap tray inside the shower. We had to put the soap into a cup and place on the floor while we showered.

We did not return for our breakfast on the second day. We will not be coming to this hotel again by our choice.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor on the new building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKLCH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMILINGHOELSiemReap, Manager at Smiling Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Guests;

Thank you for your choosing your accommodation at the Smiling Hotel & Spa during your visiting the Angkor Wat, Cambodia.

Refer to your commend; we could not accept blame with your unfair review; our breakfast station offers variety of selection with cold and hot food/drink/bakery. You could talk to our staff if you prefer other!

The hotel is the place where the tourists stay and enjoy their holiday so any tourists can come and stay if their prefer to pay what we are offer to them! And no one can shouting at the whole night without sleeping.

We have amenity tray which is placed in the bathroom next to the hand basins with 4* standard amenity (soap, shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, saver, cotton bat, shower cap, face towels,..) Hand-towels, Bathtowels. The room we offered to you was Deluxe room with separate bathtub and shower so we could not set up with two separate amenity tray even 5* international hotel!

Image is one among other five important things in the hotel industry (price, location, service & facility).

The above mentioned are not the big argument but we just want to express the future guests who want to stay at the Smiling Hotel & Spa that we still take a good care of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days during our visit in Seam Reap recently. The room is spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed is a bit hard but it is not a problem for me, I still can doze off easily. For the breakfast, there are varieties of food but since I am staying for 5 days I get a bit bore when come to last couple of days. I have a problem with the shower, the flow of the hot water is not consistent, sometime it get too hot and sometime cold. For getting a transport to the town area is not a problem, I can easily get a 'Tuk-tuk' just outside of the hotel and their charge is quite reasonable with just USD1 for 1 person. The staff in this hotel are really nice and friendly, especially a person call 'Smey' who are so helpful. Overall I will rate this hotel nice to stay and value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Like the name of the hotel, the staff are always smiling... :-)

Our whole family went there for a vacation it was one o the best hotel experience we had. Right from our arrival to departure the hotel staff did everything to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. They arranged customized tour an transformation for us. We couldn't have asked for more.

Will definitely stay here when I go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Som P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed one night here and promptly took up with hotels.com to give us a refund the next day.

First off, the good: the staff are lovely. They're genuinely caring and will do whatever they can to help you. The trouble is, there doesn't seem to be very much.

And now, the bad: we were placed in what, I can only assume, is the "old" building. Our super-special "deluxe" view? A building site of a side of the old building...presumably this is what would happen to our side of the hotel in a few months? The pool noise, even 4 floors up, was noisy and impossible to rest during. The internet was laughable; there in name only.

I have literally slept on concrete floors that were more comfortable than this mattress. Yes, I've traveled throughout Asia and am aware of some places' affection for backbreaking beds. This beats them all. I question if anything short of magic could make this bed comfortable.

Also both hotels.com and the hotel's actual website show pictures of a hot tub/jacuzzi setup on offer at the hotel. When my husband asked where they were located the staff actually laughed and said that those had been closed for almost a year.

**BEST PART**
At around 2am, we were awoken by the loud noise of our neighbors returning and talking and laughing loudly in Korean. It was irritating, but, you know...it's a hotel, what can you do? But neither of us could get back to sleep--the noise was so loud. Around 3am, I noticed that there was a growing gold glow coming from the door between our adjoining rooms. I walked up and noticed that the door was OPEN between our two rooms! The other guests could have walked in and taken whatever they wanted to, and we would have never known!

We had tested the door before we went to bed that night, as I am always a bit weary of adjoining rooms with people I don't know. The door was locked then. Most adjoining doors have a second door as a failsafe if one door fails, but not this one! We put a chair up against the door, but that chair couldn't stop the loud chatter and noise leaking in from the open adjoining door.

There are so many other accommodation options in Siem Reap; I'd give this one a pass.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giulieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed 2 night at Smiling Hotel in new building. Room is luxury and very clean. I sleep very well :))
There are many TV channels from around Asia such as; Thailand China Japan and Korea. Wake up call make me surprise :) .You can ask for City-Map and exchange money from Reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Any L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I spent 3 days in this hotel in January. It s a **** hotel. Rooms corridors and lobby were very clean. I asked for a large bed in a quite location. I had a very big room (32 sq m as indicate on my reservation via hotels.com -expedia-) a little bit noisy -there is big road and some weddings party with heavy sound ) Cambodian people cant drive without horning....They don t have double glassed windows as we have in Europe! The lobby people were very courteous and helpful. They speak good and fluent English with a characteristic Asian accent!. My room had very good equipments and amenities. I had a saloon side. The TV screen is a little bit to small to see correctly channels from the bed.. There is a small shower-cabin inside a big bathroom. My mattress was hard for my back especially after seen Angkor temples... I had free pick up from the the bus station with an A/C car ( only one pick up for each booking : you have to pre-book and to give your flight or bus details). They have free wifi internet. This hotel is a bit far from the city but the cost of a tuk-tuk taxi to go downtown is around 2 US$. Lot of big asian tourists noisy groups arrives in the evening. Good clean and not so quite place to stay outside the city.

Room Tip: Ask by mail the room you want and give them the pick up details.... There is a swimming pool and I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianMONCEAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#210 of 361 in Siem Reap
127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
#324 of 361 in Siem Reap
75 reviews
2.0 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#32 of 361 in Siem Reap
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#71 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,116 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#123 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regency Angkor Hotel
Regency Angkor Hotel
#128 of 361 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiling Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiling Hotel & Spa

Address: National Road No. 6, Chong Kaosou village | Sangkat Slor Kram, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#163 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $48 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiling Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiling Hotel and Spa is a newly established, Deluxe Four Star hotel, seeking to share true Cambodian hospitality and luxurious facilities with visitors the world over. Situated only four kilometers from the bustling city centre of Siem Reap and seven kilometers from the majestic Angkor Wat, Smiling Hotel and Spa is ideally positioned for those seeking to experience the wonders of Cambodia’s past as well as the exciting Cambodia of today. Boasting 150 well appointed rooms, with 86 more to be completed during 2012, Smiling Hotel and Spa offers luxurious and comfortable accommodation with international standards. Between the large outdoor swimming pool, massage rooms, spa and sauna, gym, restaurant and cafe, guests will be able to relax in facilities of the highest quality. Our friendly and accommodating staff will ensure that your stay at Smiling Hotel and Spa is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smiling Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiling Hotel Siem Reap
Smiling Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing