We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"They take their name very seriously at Smiling!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smiling Hotel & Spa
Ranked #262 of 358 Hotels in Siem Reap
Hanoi
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"They take their name very seriously at Smiling!"”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Backpackers will want to stay closer to Pub Street and honeymooners will want something more luxurious but for budget travelers -- including those of us who are 'women of a certain age' and travelling alone -- this place is perfect! It's about 15 minutes by tuk tuk from either the entrance to Angkor Wat or the restaurants in town. I chose it because it has a spa and its own restaurant. The spa was very convenient of course, but it turns out no one who stays here eats here, and I dined alone the first night. On the other hand, there's a great and plentiful breakfast buffet served next to the pool. The rooms are very nice -- mine had a balcony -- and the prices of massages and rooms are extremely good value.

But what set the Smiling apart for me was the staff. Their effusive greetings actually seemed genuine and they consistently (and happily) went out of their way to be of service: when my old laptop couldn't pick up wifi, they changed my room and moved my things -- with no fuss -- to one closer to the modem. Seriously. They arranged a tuk tuk driver for me who followed my itinerary to the temples I wanted to see, a guide for the day I decided at the last minute that I needed one, massages at the times I asked, and a second tuk tuk driver to take me into town for dinner. They gave me good information no matter how many questions I asked -- and they kept on SMILING!
I haven't had service like that since the good ole days when I could go four-star!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MAChanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    43
    32
    13
    2
See reviews for
21
43
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Me and my colleague, stayed at Smiling Hotel from August 11 until Augut 16. It was truly unforgettable meeting all their staff. they were very kind and hospitable. with all the smiles and i felt very much welcome in their hotel.

The Cafe was one of my favorite place in the hotel. The customer service there was splendid! i enjoyed the food, service and all staff are friendly. The food was trukly great here. i love it! i can\'t help but commend on this.

The Sales Manager - Mr. Kakada is so friendly as well as Ms. Houch. I will never forget my stay here it was my pelasure to have met all of you.

I recommend anyone who want to travel in Cambodia to book this Hotel! You gotta try it, to know it! :)

Room Tip: You must be very adventurous and a nature lover to appreciate this country has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maha_Mutya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I originally booked 2 nights here, but after the first night, we loved it so much I booked a 3rd night! For a really special time, I booked the Junior Suite, a HUGE room, 2 nice beds, and a big, 2 person Jacuzzi, for a great romantic evening. I do plan on returning to Siem Reap, a very nice city, and will, of course, stay here again.

Room Tip: try to book the Junior Suite! It's great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank madmax888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

The hotel is very great with value money, the friendly staff at the reception including bell boy. Housekeeping staff is friendly smile the same as the name of the hotel. For the room is perfect becasue we get the upgrade toom to Suite room from Asiarooms. Bathroom we have enjoyable with the shower bath with the music, spa and massage in the bath. My husband really enjoyable and relax with the big living space but one thing that my husband would like to suggestion for the TV in room is really small and old is not match with the big living room. All facilities, like a swimming pool is perfect, have jacussi in pool we enjoy for that.

Room Tip: I think the Superior Room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lan1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I like the environment. The hotel foyer is quite spacious, the rooms are comfortable and also spacious. The amenities are adequate, there is a swimming pool located at the courtyard at the rear of the hotel, so it is pleasantly away from heavy human traffic. The gym and spa is near the pool. The service providers from the receptionist to the chambermaids are polite and helpful, and always cheerful and smiling of course.

Room Tip: Breakfast is part of the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel-i-tales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We booked this hotel online via ebookers and paid about £20 per night as it was a special promotion, it looked nice on the website, but then don't they all!! Whe we got there were were pleasantly surprised and if anything the staff were almost over attentive as we are not used to this level of service. We ate in the restaurant, which, for a hotel of this level was very reasonable and apart from my pork being overcooked it was very tasty and we got free spring rolls to start which was a really nice touch. We got a free upgrade to a junior suite which I would imagine is not that much bigger than a std double, but was lovely and it was also very clean, the beds are very nice if a little firm.

We hired a Tuk Tuk for 3 days to see the Temples and Mr Vuty was our driver, at $15 per day this is a bargain and he is superb. He brought with him bottles of water for us in his little cool box and even little bananas too. If you get the chance ask for Mr Vuty, lovely Guy and a very safe driver too.

Overall this hotel was fantastic value for money, not sure what it's like when it gets busy, but I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank birchie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Wonderful hotel. Good roomd. Nice swimmingo pool. Nice staff. Good breakfast. You can rent one day tuk-tuk from US$ 15. You will enjoy your stay in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RCastilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Lucky Angkor Hotel
Lucky Angkor Hotel
#207 of 358 in Siem Reap
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dara Reang Sey Hotel Siem Reap
Dara Reang Sey Hotel Siem Reap
#324 of 358 in Siem Reap
50 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
Monoreach Angkor Hotel
#320 of 358 in Siem Reap
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#34 of 358 in Siem Reap
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Starry Angkor Hotel
Starry Angkor Hotel
#212 of 358 in Siem Reap
72 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
Kingdom Angkor Hotel
#272 of 358 in Siem Reap
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiling Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiling Hotel & Spa

Property: Smiling Hotel & Spa
Address: National Road No. 6, Chong Kaosou village | Sangkat Slor Kram, Siem Reap 0000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Luxury Hotel in Siem Reap
#161 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiling Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiling Hotel and Spa is a newly established, Deluxe Four Star hotel, seeking to share true Cambodian hospitality and luxurious facilities with visitors the world over. Situated only four kilometers from the bustling city centre of Siem Reap and seven kilometers from the majestic Angkor Wat, Smiling Hotel and Spa is ideally positioned for those seeking to experience the wonders of Cambodia’s past as well as the exciting Cambodia of today. Boasting 150 well appointed rooms, with 86 more to be completed during 2012, Smiling Hotel and Spa offers luxurious and comfortable accommodation with international standards. Between the large outdoor swimming pool, massage rooms, spa and sauna, gym, restaurant and cafe, guests will be able to relax in facilities of the highest quality. Our friendly and accommodating staff will ensure that your stay at Smiling Hotel and Spa is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smiling Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiling Hotel Siem Reap
Smiling Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing