We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice show, terrible food”

Koulen 2 Restaurant
Ranked #679 of 879 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice show, terrible food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went to this restaurant to see the show, not for the food. As expected, the show was nice but the food was terrible. Overall, though, it's value for money: 12 dollars (+drinks) for a good show!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    274
    318
    171
    131
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over 65 travellers”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This restaurant caters for tour buses and hotel recommendation where I guess they are on commission for sending people. It is what we term in Australia as a 'chew and spew'. It was recommended by our hotel, if your hotel recommends it do yourself a favour and don't go. In my opinion the food is terrible, very greasy and tasteless, I had a small amount and could not eat the rest, fellow Ausies who were sitting at the next table had food poisoning that night, so save your $12 and yourself from spending you holiday time with food poisoning. This place is massive, with nil atmosphere, people are packed in for 2 hours, the drinks are expensive and if you do eat the food you will need to fight your way to the Buffett, to get it. They do have a show of dancing if this is your thing. Your money is better spent in 1 of the many smaller restaraunts around pub street where you can get authentic Khmer food or anything else you desire at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Masjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good show, bad food.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My partner and I got front tow seats and had excellent view for the show. Was a great dance performance and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole dance routine.

For 12pp we thought the food was not terrible. Huge lines and pushy people barging in and out for what they want. But a huge selection of different things.

Go see this show if you have nothing planned for your evening and want some entertainment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
168 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A must to go”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

When in Siem Reap, you have to go to this retaurant for 2 things :
Good buffet for a mere 12 USD a person
Nice Cambodian dancing.
Make reservation !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank huynhtantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“beautiful show”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our driver recommended this show so we went ahead. Priced at only usd$12 it is very worth it. Huge buffet dinner and traditional aspara show. The restaurant is very crowded. Most people go at least an hour before the show to have dinner to beat the crowds. The food is only okay but not fantastic. The show is the highlight of the package. Well worth the money as it's cheap!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvholiday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koulen 2 Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Koulen 2 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing