We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. Really don't recommend.”

Koulen 2 Restaurant
Ranked #696 of 899 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful. Really don't recommend.”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This "dinner and a show" is awful. Somehow we were convinced to go after a recommendation from our tuk tuk driver (who gets a tip for everyone who goes). It's terrible buffet food and a mediocre "Khmer" traditional show. Really awful food court style. Awful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peacefultraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    278
    323
    172
    133
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice show, terrible food”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you must watch a show this was nice. I thought it was cute how the dancers interacted with each other playfully and not so strict. Now here's a tip...at the end the dancers all come out and stand in a line. This is your chance to take pics with them, except there is no explanation. So if you hurry, you won't have to wait to take pics with the most popular main dancer. There is no line, you just jump up and take a pic and hope no one jumps into the frame...there are some poor mannered people out there.
Now the food had a wide assortment...but most of it was just bad. And the drinks are priced high for Cambodia. And there is no wifi. or any AC.
Another TIP: don't sit too close to stage as people will stand in the aisles to video and can care less if you can see past them or not

Helpful?
2 Thank monsternina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“EXPERIENCE KHMER FOOD AND CULTURE”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our guide who made a reservation for us here when we expressed a desire to watch a Cambodian Cultural show. It is a rather large restaurant with a shed like feel to it. The best part is that the stage is huge and can be viewed conveniently from any table/angle. The cultural show itself was a compilation of different kinds of Cambodian dances. Unfortunately, there was barely any vegetarian food in the vast buffet; so we paid mainly for watching the cultural show. They follow a very good practice of listing all the ingredients used in a dish, which I guess helps the guests in case they have certain food preferences or allergies. I cannot comment much on the food, since I did not sample most of it, but at $12 a head, it was worth going there for the cultural performance as well. I suggest they keep a few vegetarian options for guests like us, who do not eat any meat/pork/sea food but would still like to patronize the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANJUGOELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The meal and show for $12 was the best value I have experienced anywhere. Drinks were reasonably priced and anyone who couldn't find food to match their taste would have to be very fussy. The traditional Khmer dance and music was world class.
liked plenty of exits in case of fire

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LapunMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I believe that this is just great value for money even if it is for the dancing alone. There is a huge variety of food available from the beautifully presented buffet. Sure you might have to line up for 5 minutes but hey this happens at any buffet. It is only $12.00 for goodness sake.
The dancing is wonderful. Apart from the temples, this is a must do on your visit to Siemens Reip
Book ahead though

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koulen 2 Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Koulen 2 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing