We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal meal with vegan options”
Review of Devatas Restaurant

Devatas Restaurant
Ranked #243 of 1,272 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $4 - $12
Description: Devatas Restaurant offers you a restful lunch experience only minutes from Banteay Srei temple. The restaurant comprises several kiosks with traditional thatch roofing set amidst tropical gardens. A lake is situated in front of the restaurant and provides an ever-changing vista. Our dishes feature authentic Khmer cuisine based on traditional recipes. Devatas Restaurant is located in Banteay Srey, 500 meters from the Cambodian Landmine Museum. Access is direct from the main road to the Banteay Srey temple. Our menu has several vegetarian options and most of our fresh produce is biological and home grown in our vegetable garden.
Restaurant details
Description: Devatas Restaurant offers you a restful lunch experience only minutes from Banteay Srei temple. The restaurant comprises several kiosks with traditional thatch roofing set amidst tropical gardens. A lake is situated in front of the restaurant and provides an ever-changing vista. Our dishes feature authentic Khmer cuisine based on traditional recipes. Devatas Restaurant is located in Banteay Srey, 500 meters from the Cambodian Landmine Museum. Access is direct from the main road to the Banteay Srey temple. Our menu has several vegetarian options and most of our fresh produce is biological and home grown in our vegetable garden.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

We asked our tour-guide to take us here after visiting Banteay Srei. My girlfriend is vegetarian, so it seemed like the ideal spot.

We shared the vegetarian spring rolls and the vegetarian curry, and I can honestly say it was one of the best vegetarian meals I've ever had (and I'm not veggie). Thinking of it, I'm almost certain the food was vegan as there was no dairy in it. The meal was delicious and the service very friendly.

The most special thing about this restaurant is the idyllic, lake-side setting and the fact that they grow almost all of their vegetables on-site. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maurermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devatas_Restaurant, Manager at Devatas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mauremichael,

Thank you for your visit! We're very happy to hear about your experience. And to learn that the vegetarian options pleased both you and your girlfriend. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you here once more in the future.
Have a safe trip. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2018

We enjoyed a fabulous meal at Devatas. We had a local dish called Amok made in the traditional way. I’m vegetarian so I had tofu rather than fish or chicken. It was absolutely delicious, the best meal I’ve had in Siem Reap and area. We looked over a small lake-it was very peaceful. The service was excellent. One of the owners, Tim visited our table to welcome us. He advised us about the menu and recommended a visit to Banteay Srei.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devatas_Restaurant, Manager at Devatas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Michael,
It was a pleasure to meet you!
The whole team is happy to read your review here. And of course we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your food and thank you for recommending us to everyone. Yes, our traditional amok is a speciality!
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you here once more in the near future.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our peaceful lunch away from the tourist crowds when visiting Banteay Srei temples.
It has very friendly staff, lakeside views and great rest rooms.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ZoraB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devatas_Restaurant, Manager at Devatas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Zora,

Everybody is happy to hear you'd like to recommend us! And to know you had such a good time enjoying your lunch. We would love to welcome you here again anytime.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

An excellent restaurant with an amazing view. We came here for lunch shortly after visiting the landmine museum, the view is incredible and the atmosphere is very charming. Food is also delicious, I highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Kyle2649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devatas_Restaurant, Manager at Devatas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kyle,

Thank you for your feedback. We're more than happy to know you'd recommend us to anyone.
And we're pleased that you have loved the food and our setting.
The whole team wishes you further safe travels and look forward to see you again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

Devatas is one of those restaurants that is tucked away. But it has some fantastic foods and a great relaxing view of an old baray (ancient hand dug lake). The owners of Devatas know their food and their product and have created a relaxing and open aired environment to add to your dining pleasure. I loved there Amok and know after a number of years eating this dish, this was the best. I stretched out and enjoyed the breeze coming off the lake and later continued my journey to Bantrey Srey temple, which was only 7 km away. A great restaurant with great food, great surrounds and good service.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Wattie582015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devatas_Restaurant, Manager at Devatas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Wattie,

Thank you for your nice feedback. We're all very pleased to learn you enjoyed our cooking and especially the traditional amok, grandmother's style. And that you loved our relaxed countryside style setting.
We wish you the best and many further travels. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devatas Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Devatas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing