We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Inns Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
381
161
28
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
161
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr hakpub streettuk tuktropical treesoverhead fantwo storeygarden settingprivate balconyminute walkquiet oasisexcellent englishquiet streetair conpool areaold marketwonderful poolclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 578 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Coming back here feels like coming home, as you know you will be greeted by friendly faces who are keen to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Take the time to chat with the manager, Mr Hak, if he is around - and he generally is - as he is a fountain of knowledge about the local culture, and always interested in your feedback as to how he can keep improving his premises. Contrary to one review below, I have always found the Sonalong staff to be most obliging, and very keen to help out if you think anything needs improvement. In general, that is the way of things in Cambodia - whilst many of them find English challenging, they want you to enjoy their country and will do whatever it takes to make sure you do. I often travel here with school groups, and they throw up all manner of challenges for their teachers and the hotel staff, but Mr Hak and his staff cheerfully address each of these challenges with a smile and a "can do" approach. Nothing is too much trouble for them. These days, you can probably find glitzier, shinier places, possibly even with better pricing and flashier amenities, but if you want to mellow out and get to know some locals, or enjoy a break from the craziness of Siem Reap's tourist strip in a relaxing and safe environment, you cannot go past this oasis.

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer the upstairs rooms. Airflow is better and you look out over the tree tops and the pool. Look in the cupboards if you prefer a softer pillow.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor, even positive or negative, it is very important to improve our facilities in the future, and thank you so much again for your keep coming back to Siem Reap and staying with us.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days, as a family with 3 kids. We had two interlinked rooms that were well furnished, and well maintained (agree with other reviewer, the shower rooms could use an update but they are perfectly clean and functioning). The staff are so friendly and helpful. Location-wise it is ideal, being 10 mins safe walk to the old town, so close enough to be convenient but an oasis of peace and quiet otherwise. The pool area is beautiful and very well looked after

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shearsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor, even positive or negative, it is very important to improve our facilities in the future.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A group of us stayed in late November 2013 for a week. The staff were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasant. The rooms were large and the air conditioning great. The bathrooms I guess could benefit from a bit of an update at some time but considering the room costs they were still more than adequate. The low hot water pressure took a bit of getting used to but that was really the only downside. The pool and surrounds were great (they scrubbed the pool every morning). The management also very kindly allowed us a very late check out on our last day at no extra cost which these days you don't often find.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our 2 rooms on the lower level. No noise from the rooms above and still very private with all of the greenery.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor, even positive or negative, it is very important to improve our facilities in the future.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked this hotel as the reviews were good. Maybe we were very unlucky but the experience was awful. This hotel lacks of a good management, nothing seems to work properly and we felt ripped off all the time. We arrived in the evening and the boy at the reception was more worried about selling us tours, dinners and entertainment than in the quality of the hotel and rooms themselves. When we arrived to our room we realised the ceiling was full of mould and the smell was appalling. We requested a change to another room and were told that we could get it but the next day as it was fully booked. The next morning we were told that the guests hadn't left yet but they assured me that the room was in the 2nd floor and in the quiet area, room number 205. To our surprise when we were back in the evening this was not our room as we were assigned another one in the ground floor. Still with mould, this time only in the ceiling of the bathroom but this time closer to the street so we could hear the motorbikes during the night. Ants were running on the walls of the bathroom and the bed frame wall. Despite our request of explanation there wasn't any sensible answer, just bad words from the same receptionist than the night before. When we asked for a tuc tuc on our third day, just for half a day the price was more than the one we were offered the first day for a whole day, it seemed to us that the receptionist was making up the prices as he talked. We decided not to take it and took one from the hotel beside much cheaper. To finish our trip in Siem Reap the tuc tuc to the airport was more than 20minutes late than the requested hour.
Really this hotel is not worthwile the money, it is a pitty that with such spacious rooms and nice garden there is such a lack of proffessionality of the staff, mainly the recepcionist boy of the evenings and cleaners.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms in the second floor are better, but even if you ask for them as I did they might give you any other without previous notice. Staff is not reliable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you so much SIR for your valued time to write a review, I am really sorry to see you review about my staffs, normally we have the policy to tell guests on arrival some information, as you stay on first room at the ground floor, you said that, you heard the noise from the motorbike, but it is not that, it is the noise of the generator around 5 mn, because the government power supply cut off, so I have to start my own generator better than no power ( this is what you pay ), then we changed you to second floor room 205 as you said, I and my house keeping every day we check and clean, if we see any ants or insect, we will kill them, not allow them to run into the room, but I was a little bit wondering about the mould in the room.
For the staff in the evening, I will double check who try to sell the tour to you, because I am not allow them to sell the tour to any customers, just information ( I am not travel agency ).
Anyways, Hope to see you next time and have a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards
CHHAYHAK ( General Manager )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

During ourstay mid Deceber 2013, we experienced the Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, Siem Reap as a very good deal: Very friendly staff, attractive compound with 2 store houses in a very green envrionment, clean and convenient rooms with terrace (very convenient: you can choose between air con and fan), clean pool, excellent breakfast, very good location in the rather quiet 27th street and only ~ 10 min walk from the market quarter of Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much SIR and MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor, even positive or negative, it is very important to improve our facilities in the future.
I do hope to have a chance to see you again.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews