We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, but not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Ranked #62 of 344 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great value for money, but not 4 star”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel is 10 villas with 2 apartments in each villa, one upstairs one downstairs so there are very few guests around. All villas have a balcony with a couple of very comfortable chairs.

Main reception area is where you go for breakfast and dining. Staff are superb, very friendly and helpful, with good English skills.

Room was a good size and quite comfortable, although the bed is quite firm. Bathroom is basic and no sign of the bath that Agoda mentioned. Shower is a bit sad, not much force and lukewarm but enough to get clean. I found the AC unit quite noisy.

Oddly, there's no phone in the room so you'll have to go down to reception to order room service etc.

A lot of other reviews mention how quiet the hotel is, and it generally is, but you should note that there is a club or bar nearby somewhere that plays loud music at night. I only noticed this on the Saturday night though so it could be an occasional thing. Also note that there is a Mosque nearby so Sunday morning will have a bit of noise too.

Hotel location is within 10-15 mins walking distance of Pub street, although note that the hotel is located on an unlit road, so single women / kids may perhaps feel uncomfortable walking alone. There are a couple of great tuk tuk drivers just outside the hotel though and they'll get you to Pub Street for $1 very quickly.

Wifi coverage is patchy. I couldn't get anything in my room, but had a vague connection on the balcony. You'll need to head down to reception for good coverage.

Breakfast is not a buffet, you pick from a list. Very basic but not bad. The main menu for lunch / Dinner is short, but the food was good. All food / drink within the hotel is quite cheap.

One thing I have to say is that the hotel, although nice, is not a 4 star hotel as advertised. I've stayed in other 4/5 star hotels in Siem Reap and they offer bigger pools / more food selections / buffet breakfast etc. I'd put it as a good 3 star.

This hotel is very good and I'd recommend staying here again.

Room Tip: Only choice is upstairs or downstairs. 10 separate villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear SIR and MADAM, thank you very much for your valued time to wrote a review about our facilities to TripAdvisor, of course, we do not have phone in the room as we very small Boutique Hotel only 14 rooms and we still have room services from 06:30 am to 21:00 pm, but the problem guest have to walk from the room to the restaurant or the bar.
The reason that we do not put the phone in the room, because sometimes the guests call the wrong number, especially early morning. One more thing, I am sorry that you said the A/C is noisy and my place is not quiet.
Nearly very hotel in Siem Reap they have only one door, my hotel the ground floor 2 doors and the first has four doors, why do I put 2 and 4 ? because, to stop the noise outside in to the room 100 % the long you close the door, if you close only one door, you still hear little bit sound outside, because this is the wedding season in Cambodia and I can not band them ( this is the Cambodian custom, they make loud music from 4:00 am early morning until 11:00 am and start again at 03:00 pm until 20:00 pm ).
I have security start from 05:00 pm to 07:00 am and I always told my security, any rooms which close one door, you have to close the other door more, but as the proverb said that ( no one is perfect ).
As you know last week the nearly the whole Siem Reap town no power, so the internet provider can not provide, that is sometimes you can get inside the room and sometimes outside the room.
Anyways, I am looking forwards to see you again soon.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    154
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
195
61
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a tour through Cambodia and I loved this place.
The room I had was big, very nicely decorated, beautiful balcony to sit on overlooking a tropical garden.
The pool area was really nice and the staff were really attentive.
I liked that it was slightly out of the main part of Siem Reap yet very close by Tuk Tuk.
The breakfast and juices were delicious whether Asian or Western. I had a delicious omelette.
I wanted to just stay longer. I would have no qualms highly recommending this great little villa-styled place.
Safes in the room. About 20 minutes to Angkor Wat and other temples. A beautiful base to visit surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syowoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much MADAM for your valued time to wrote review about our resort to TripAdvisor even positive or negative to improve our local business.
I do hope to have a chance to see and serve you again someday.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed three nights during a birding holiday. Eat here once - very good, but was impressed by restaurants in town. Great rooms - tiled floors, good air con, nice balcony. You could just stay here all day, but that would be mad!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much SIR for your valued time to wrote a review to TripAdvisor about our resort while you staying with us even positive or negative to improver.
I do hope to see you again one day.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We loved this little hotel...beautiful setting...10+ minute walk from the central market and pub street area...has a salt water pool which is very nice. Staff is friendly. Best fish amok I had while in Siem Reap. I would stay here again. For breakfast, you order from the menu...western style is juice, tea, coffee; fruit plate; eggs to order; or muesli...Cambodian style is fried rice, fried noodles, or soup noodles. We were here several days and tried everything on the breakfast menu except the soup noodles. All our breakfast items were good. We did have some confusion during our first breakfast. Breakfast starts at 6:30am; our tour starts at 7:00am; we could not get fried rice or fried noodles in time for the 7am start. The answer is to let the staff know the day before and they will make sure you have fried noodles or rice in time for an early start.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahoo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much MADAM for your valued to wrote a review about our resort to TripAdvisor, even positive or negative.
I will do hope to have a chance to see and serve you and your family again some days.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a nice, small hotel with nice landscape and a great pool. The staff was friendly, helpful and would fulfill you requests even if they had to consult another staff member. The tuk-tuk drivers they provided were outstanding; honest, friendly and fun! The room was nice, but the bed was very firm. The shower was awkward because there was a built in bench right below the shower head. The location was about a 10 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops. It was kind of a dark street, but seemed safe to walk anytime (if in doubt, take a tuk-tuk into town). Lastly, as a younger traveler, this hotel seems to attract an older crowd of travelers (if that matters to you).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your valued time to wrote a review to TripAdvisor about our resort and about shower consequence, I agree with you, so the next low season coming shortly, I will take it out ( May or June ).
Thank you again on behalf of, I am the manager of Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort hope to see you next time.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

First and by far the best place we've stayed in Cambodia. Start your trip here and you basically can't go wrong. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The garden is realy nice, as is the pool area (though the pool was rather warm and salty ... if that bothers you). Fantastic breakfast, you can pretty much get whatever you want.

Room Tip: I don't think there's actually bad rooms available here. Ours was a bit more in the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your value time to wrote a review to TripAdvisor about our resort even positive and negative, it is encourage me and our staff to improve our business in the future.
I do hope to see and have a chance to serve you gain.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I loved Sonalong when I was there 2 years ago and my recent visit has not changed that. The beautiful gardens are growning into a small tropical forrest complete with sweet smelling flowers and orchids; there are now family suites also available and I noticed that Mr Hak has added a bar poolside. This is the place to return to after a hot and dusty day at the Temples! As usual Mr Hak arranged a perfect itinerary and tuk tuk driver for our Temple tours and we managed to miss most of the tour groups each day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your value time to wrote a review to TripAdvisor about our resort even positive and negative, it is encourage me and our staff to improve our business in the future.
I do hope to see and have a chance to serve you gain.

Best regards
HAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 344 in Siem Reap
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#57 of 344 in Siem Reap
549 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
La Residence Blanc D'Angkor
#44 of 344 in Siem Reap
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#30 of 344 in Siem Reap
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#70 of 344 in Siem Reap
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort

Property: Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Address: Street 27 | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#37 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#45 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run by a friendly khmer manager who speaks excellent English, Sonalong Village is situated in a quiet area within walking distance of the main shops, restaurants and Old Market area in Siem Reap and just 15 minutes drive from the International Airport and the Ankor Temple complex. Surrounded by beautiful flowery tropical gardens there are 8 double and 8 twin rooms, each with free Wifi, shower, A/C, ceiling fans, mini bar and private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonalong Boutique Village And Resort
Sonalong Boutique Village Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing