We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Inns Hotel(Siem Reap)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveler rating
381
161
28
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
161
28
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr hakpub streettuk tuktropical treesoverhead fantwo storeygarden settingprivate balconyminute walkquiet oasisexcellent englishquiet streetair conpool areaold marketwonderful poolclose to town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 578 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The whole Angkor experience has just been amazing. The tour was very complete and the guide explained really well. Mr.Hak was very friendly,he gave us a warm welcome on arrival and explained all the details very well. The staff there were very friendly and helped us with all our request. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Mr.Hak also helped us with our outing to the town and gave us a few tips. I am really looking forward to another trip to Siem Reap in the future and also I'll be recommending this place to all travelers who want to enjoy the Angkor experience.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sanjay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you so much SANJAY and your family for staying 3 nights in our resort, especially, for your valued time to write a review about our services. We do hope to see you and your family for the near future again.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I just returned from 7 nights at the Sonalong and this place is a fantastic hotel with everything you need.
The staff are extremely professional and help you with every small detail. Like organising tuk tuks and any tours or guides that you may need,use there guides and drivers they are very good.
The rooms are large and airy, with great balconies and outdoor fans , excellent to sit and have a beer after a day of walking in the heat , at the temples.
The swimming pool and gardens are clean and immaculate and we spent a couple of days resting by the pool and we ate in the restaraunt and the food was very nice and well priced.
Mr Hak the manager allowed us to have a late check out , and was very accommodating as we had an evening flight home.
The resort is only a 2 min ride in a tuk tuk to the centre of pub street, so the location was brilliant. Sonalong is a quality resort with excellent staff, nice big rooms , and a lovely garden setting and pool.
My wife and I would definitely stay here again when we decide to come back to siem reap.

Room Tip: All rooms look good,all have a great balconies with fans,can't go wrong
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you so much SIR for your valued time to wrote a review to TripAdvisor about our resort, It is very useful for encouragement our future business event positive or negative review.
We do hope to have a chance to see you and serve you gain next time.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I've visited here several times and each time Mr Hak shows me the new surprises at his wonderful villa. This trip there are two brand new villas to compliment the existing buildings. And to top it off, there's now a very relaxing bar alongside the fantastic pool. The bar is cozy and far enough away from the villas not to be a distraction. Mr. Hak has taken his boutique villas to another level without losing any of the legendary Cambodian service and friendship. As always, the staff are just terrific. "Want a tuk-tuk - no problems Sir." "Can you wash these for me - no problems Sir." " How do I get to this street or that shop or that temple - no problem Sir." This boutique village is not pretentious - it's a home away from home - a genuine 'best kept secret' that is a few minutes walk from the Old Market and famous Pub St areas. I've recommended Sonalong to many of my friends and work colleagues and without fail, they just love it. Sonalong is well worth a look. It's clean, quiet and safe. The staff are extremely helpful. Say "Hi" to Mr Hak for me. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms I've stayed in have been excellent. There's now two brand new villas to add to those existing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you so much PETER for your keep coming to Cambodia as volunteer work and always stay with us.
We have the honor to have the guest like you that are satisfy our resort.
We do expect to see you next time again.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

my daughter and i stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and cannot say enough about how helpful the staff and the owner Mr Hak were. The rooms here are clean and well furnished, the garden and pool are beautiful and the owner even provides free pick up to and from the airport. if you want to stay at a really lovely hotel pick this one - for the price it is brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bree19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you so much MADAM for your valued time to wrote a review to Trip Advisor about our services and we are pleased to see you and your daughter again soon.

Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed last August (2011) for 4 days with our 10 year old daughter. This hotel is a charming and peaceful, away from the hustle of Pub Street. We found it to be a great place for families with children. The previous reviews criticized the food and we agree, better food can be found elsewhere but the hotel itself was a fabulous and we would stay there again. The rooms were spacious, clean, and more than comfortable. They were almost too large for the 2 of us. The balconies were lovely and the gardens around the pool very relaxing. I don't know why anyone would choose to stay at any other hotel in the city. If you really want to experience Cambodia and still want a comfortable and beautiful place to stay, this is the perfect location. The pool was fabulous and cool.

We booked all of our tours through the Ponheary Ly Foundation at the 7 Candles Guesthouse and recommend this to all travelers. By booking through the foundation, your tourist dollars directly help the school children of Cambodia have a better future.

Room Tip: Both first and 2nd floor rooms are fabulous. You can't go wrong at this hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiciaNGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonalong V, Manager at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you so much SIR and your family for your pleasant staying with us and spend your valued time to write your review to Trip Advisor and it is very important to improve our services for the future and we will try to do our best for all the next guests who will come to stay with Sonalong Boutique Village have pleasant stay like yours.


Best regards
HAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews