We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Con” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa
Ranked #408 of 500 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Con”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked this hotel as we had heard it was hard to get a room in siem reap. We turned up to be told the hotel was full and hostel bookers had made a mistake. We started to panic about not having a room for a night when they said the did have our rooms but they would be twice the price. A similar thing happened with the free breakfast when we turned up with in the time we were told it had finished unless we paid. The staff were not nice people, in 4 months of travelling this is the only time I have been compelled to write a bad review.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcolledge07729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    15
    8
    16
See reviews for
4
11
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in that hotel for 3 nights. We booked a twin bed room for 15dollars. The hotel has also dorms at 8dollars. The room was reasonably clean and big enough. Same goes for the bathroom. Breakfast is included but very light (bread and egg). The lobby has a strong smell of enscent which may be a bit uncomfortable when having breakfast. The main advantage of the hotel is that is very near the old market and pub street.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineLprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Okay

A tuc tuc driver named wanton took us to ponloue after picking us up from the bus station.

We booked 3 nights in a double room, but we only stayed 2.

Apart from no WiFi, horrible breakfast, ignorant and creepy staff, young rough looking tuc tuc drivers hanging around the entrance all day and night the straw that made us leave was when we returned from our visit to the temples to find a necklace had had been taken from within one of our bags. Actually from within our stuff, so who ever took it had a good look through our things.

I confronted the manager who didn't say anything, he basically shrugged it off. He said nobody had been in the room, even though we had clean towels and beds made. (I had asked on check in that nobody is to visit our room)

While waiting in the lobby for more answers I spoke to a couple of other guests I was sat with who also had stories of their own about the strange staff.

After an hour the manager came to me and asked my partner and i to leave and find another hotel as people were getting worried about their belongings (the 2 people i had spoken to) and it was basically my fault the necklace was stolen.

He would not refund any money for the 2 nights we had there and didn't care in the slightest about the stolen necklace.
He also refused to give me the contact details of the owner so hopefully he/she will see this and sort the place out.

Believe the terrible reviews about ponloue villa and avoid it.

Worst accomodation I've ever experienced from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mxr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Siem Reap hotels

George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bottom line: would we stay here again? No, I don't think so. In a small town with few guesthouses, this hotel would do fine, but in Siem Reap, surely there must be better places.

Not that there is much wrong with this hotel. For $20 we had a clean twin, air-con (not needed in January), tv, fridge, hot water, the works. And all that in an excellent location.

But... the staff seemed to think of their job and their guests as their lot in life and nothing more, something inevitable that they somehow had to put up with. They were loud when moving through the corridors, even early in the morning, and non-communicative towards the guests. We have seen staff with a very different attitude in Cambodia!

By the way, others have mentioned people trying their door. We were in our room late one morning, and staff entered without so much as knocking.

On a positive note: when the laundry was returned, not a single item of clothing was missing (see earlier reviews).

Another thing we weren't entirely happy with: the wifi was spotty at times, and non-existent at night. At first, we accepted explanations of 'a problem', but it became a pattern. Not all hotels have these 'problems', and other hotels in Siem Reap do have good internet.

So would we stay here again? Nooo.... better try somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Ferringhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We visited here in February 2011 and came back in October 2012 and stayed full 10 days!
The place is a good value for the money, convenient location and basic but clean room. We opted for fan room as we don't like a/c so much... The staff was friendly and accommodating and if and when we come again, we would certainly stay at Ponloue Angkor Siem reap Villa again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholasnevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was propably a beautiful hotel a few years back. Now it's been left falling apart and it shows in details. The hose for my shower was only 1 meter long, so I had to crouch for shower. There's an 11-year girl, who works a lot. If you ask something from the men staff, like can I get some soap to my room, they use the young girl for this. She also serves the whole breakfast, while guys are playing with their iPads... Try Tanei guest house around the corner. Has a pool, frienly staff and good atmosphere and pay less.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this place as it was recommended by a blogger. It's 15usd per night and thought that was cheap, then I realized that's pretty much the goon rate for inns around that area anyway (it's not a hotel!)

I was picked up from airport for free and that was a good deal (again other inns provide the same service) and chhong who is looking after the inn (family business) welcomed me from airport too and gave me an overview of the Angkor complex for the next day's trip.

The room is ordinary which is really ok, save for the fact that someone forgot to latch the window (found out the next day) so I had a sleepless night and the mozzies were on a bloodfest. The next night was much better, except I woke up sweating to learn that there was no electricity. Apparently their generator couldn't be up all night and all morning so they had to turn it off around 8. That was ok, but then I was told there was no free breakfast that day (their stoves were running on electricity??)

So all in all, it was okay, but there are other choices around pub st area which could be better... But Siem reap isn't exactly a place you'd come back again to, so I guess I won't find out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candlebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#267 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#157 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cercle D'angkor Villa
Cercle D'angkor Villa
#157 of 250 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Sengky Guest House
Sun Sengky Guest House
#289 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dream Butterfly Garden Boutique Villa
0.1 mi away
Kim Xiang Boutique
Kim Xiang Boutique
#196 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa

Property: Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa
Address: Sivatha Road, Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #408 of 500 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ponloue Angkor Siem Reap Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing