We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable budget guesthouse”
Review of Ta Som Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ta Som Guesthouse
Ranked #203 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had stayed at ta-som guesthouse for 6D5N and overall i would like to rate it as excellent. We got more than what we had paid. I'll definitely consider to stay here again if i'm visiting siem reap in future.
Pros: Fast response on booking, free airport transfer and we were served with very tasty welcome drinks (banana shake), clean and spacious room, very nice and friendly staff, clean bathroom (it'll be better if they clean the floor trap everyday), free 1 bottle of 500ml water everyday, 3 computers available with free internet access, free wifi in room, free delicious breakfast, provide transportation to angkor archaeological park and tonle sap lake at reasonable price (within our surveyed range), nice and patient tuktuk driver, pleasant dinner at reasonable price.
Cons: They did suggested us to take some tour packages with them, or recommended us to dine at selected stall in angkor. But overall it's still acceptable as we could decide to take it or follow our own way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pscoolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 281 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

very good staff, helpful. Guided tours available at reception. Good prices for air/bus tickets. Tuk Tuk at disposal for day trip without guide. Free Pick up to and from bus station/airport. Very recommended and free gift at check out:-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassimoOttone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

They reply really quick to your booking and inquiries. Stayed there for 5 days, the tuktuk was there already even though we arrived late. Mr. Meng, his daughter and all of them are quite helpful, most of them speaks good English. Double room is big enough that 4-5 person can easily fit in. Will arrange transportation, ticket or other things that you need. Breakfast is a lot (which is free), and prices of the food is cheaper than other restaurant. With parting gifts and advises. But we really appreciate this guesthouse for their kind, caring and dependable attitudes for those who have stayed with them. Thanks so muchc",)

Room Tip: We have the room on the 3rd floor, not for those who hate to climb stairs. but for us is ok. With a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehjhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The stay was very comfortable. Ta Som Guesthouse is located very near the Angkor Wat area, only about 15 minutes away. During the trip from Phnom Penh, we called the guesthouse to inform them of our arrival. They told us that they'll be waiting at the bus station to pick us up. That was a surprise since we didn't know they were providing that service. After the 8-hour trip, we took tuk-tuks to the guesthouse and very easily checked-in.

The room was clean and spacious. The beds were nice and devoid of weird smells. The breakfast in the dining area was good and filling, though very simple. There is reliable wifi in the rooms. They also helped us with arrangements for the bus to Poipet.

However, when we got back from a tour of Angkor Wat, the rooms were not cleaned. It was just as we left it. After a half hour of resting, we realized the AC wasn't turned on. Turns out, they shut off the power and didn't turn it on when we came back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lovely clean friendly place. Good aircon and reliable wifi. Breakfast is warm bread and butter with jam, plus a cooked option Of your choice and tea or coffee with juice. You have your own tuk tuk driver for $13 a day, and they arrange buses and tours for you. All seems v well organised. Even got a parting gift of scarf when left. Close to main streets, and $1 tuk tuk back if you don't want to walk, otherwise ure hostel driver will take u etc.

Arranged bus to phnom Penn for us, we were picked up from entrance. Only $5. Took 7 hours. 3 toilet stops on route!

A lovely little place I would definitely go back to

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stay here 3 nights!
Before we come ,we were so happy cuz we read all this good reviews!
When we come we did't get "nice" room like on picture,the room is like a toilet!!!! We understand that price is very cheap,but we just wanna clean room! I told guy on reception that somebody need to clean our room 2 times on day,every day,but he always said- the girl now clean other rooms!!!
We came in Siem Reap with boat from Battambang and sun burned our skin,so we have to go in pharmacy,we make a deal with them for tuk tuk,they told us 1 $,and if we wanna take a drive around the city then prica is 3$! We said ok,let's take a drive around the city and stop in pharmacy for 3 $! Guy just stop in pharmacy(pharmacy is near our guesthouse) and we come back in our gust house,price - 3$!
The breakfest is basic,they dont have a fresh milk,just sweet,what is for me ghastly,but that s my opinion!
The last night we told guy on reception that we need tomorrow a tuk tuk for airport (free transfer),he told that us, we dont have to worry,it will be,but in the morning it was again one more disappointment,they forget for on us,the driver still sleeping,we have to wait...
We are a young couple who like travel,and we dont need something special,but this guest house and servants is TERRIBLE AND DISINTERSTED FOR US!
We wish you a good luck if you go there!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malacurica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived here after a 9 hour journey and were welcomed by the staff at the hotel. They took our bags and then brought us a banana shake! The room was very clean, comfortable and a nice size. There is also a balcony on each floor to chill out. Free wifi in rooms as well as on balconies. It also has a little restaurant which served great curry! The staff here organised our day to Angkor Wat and we had a tuk tuk for $15 for the day. $1 tuk tuk to pub street or a 5min walk, very close to market and centre. There were a couple of ants in the bathroom on our 4th night but nothing much and they didn't bother us. Overall a fab stay and would some here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#188 of 378 in Siem Reap
431 reviews
1.1 mi away
Siem Reap Riverside
Siem Reap Riverside
#172 of 378 in Siem Reap
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
Hotel The Angkor Crescent
#238 of 378 in Siem Reap
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
Asanak D'Angkor Boutique Hotel
#183 of 378 in Siem Reap
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
Mudra Angkor Boutique Hotel
#153 of 378 in Siem Reap
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Orange Hotel
Golden Orange Hotel
#338 of 378 in Siem Reap
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ta Som Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ta Som Guesthouse

Address: 268, National Road Number 6, Siem Reap 17252, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 378 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $10 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ta Som Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New traditional Khmer-style villa with nice balconies, comfortable, clean, spacious rooms. In the heart of Siem Reap, 200 metres from royal residence and park. 5 min to old market, 8 min to airport, 12 min to Angkor Wat. All room rates include daily breakfast. Free pick up and transfer from airport/bus/boat. We provide tour arrangements and garden restaurant & bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Ta Som Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing