We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kool Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kool Hotel
Ranked #142 of 310 Hotels in Siem Reap
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay in Siam Rep
Nice pool to relax in after visiting the temples
Staff are so friendly and were really helpful in getting taxi and tuk Tuks to the temples.
The town lost power for 1 day so the hotel gave us free drinks and massages

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezzaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    145
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
77
269
111
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qalat, Zabol, Afghanistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Absolutely the best place we stayed throughout our entire journey in S.E Asia over the course of two months! Here's what and my group liked!

Staff: Absolutely beaming with happiness, and it's very sincere unlike the Thai's... thank you! You were all very helpful and willing to answer any questions we had! You even found a private car for 30 dollars to the Thai border. If we took a beer out of the fridge (we became rather comfortable there as you can ask anyone, and they'll wait on you) the staff were borderline running to supply us with a very clean glass and peanuts.

Rooms: Very spacious, extremely clean and wonderful furnishings.

Pool/Grounds: The pool was very clean and refreshing as was the grounds very peaceful and nice to relax in after exploring all day.

Location: Some people say that your not close enough pub street but in all honestly I thought it rather close. Maybe a two minute free Tuk Tuk ride.. gasp! Almost close enough to walk if one wanted too. Lots of good restaurants pretty close. Just go outside the gate onto the main road and to your right.

Value: I'm from the United States and everything very modestly priced we got more than we payed for!

Management: I met the owner and his family the last night of stay. He was very nice and sincere.

Thanks you guys are great!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a corner room with a balcony seem all rooms are pretty equal though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A nice, laid back hotel a short tuk-tuk ride from the temples or pub street. Speedy in-suite wifi and a very charming and helpful staff. Also, a pool! We stayed for three days and would happily stay there again. The room was clean, large and bright and the staff managed to arrange everything we wanted including sunrise/sunset temple viewings and massages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were very happy with this reasonably priced, comfortable hotel, in what is a touristy town, we could have paid a lot more for somewhere that gave us no more in service. It is tucked away from the busy main street, but is only a short tuk-tuk ride from everything in town. The staff were exceptional, (they sorted us out a taxi for our onward journey at a very good price), led by the owner/manager who is a hands-on can-do kind of guy. He apologised to us for the work going on next door, which was a little noisy during 1 day of our stay, but there was nothing more he could do about it, having already negotiated with his neighbour to keep the disturbance down to a minimum. There is indeed a pool, contrary to a review I have read on this site, & it is quite pretty, with tables overlooking. I would have given it a 5 apart from the breakfast which could be better for western tasted, but still offers plenty of fresh fruit, eggs etc. The rooms are large & comfortable, all in all a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The room prices are very interesting considering the fact that the hotel has a nice little pool. But I would not recommend this hotel for more than a very short stay because of several little inconveniences that made us not really feel comfortable during our four days stay although the staff was friendly and helpful.
- close to the hotel there are several dogs in a court yard that like to bark extensively even at night or early morning
- AC installed right over the bed, about 1m distance from the head -> got sick
- wifi never really worked during our stay
- no safe box in our room
- communication with staff in english mostly difficult
- cleanliness of towels and sheets could be improved
Maybe also interesting to know:
- city center not really in walking distance after a day of temple expedition. There are a few shuttles from the hotel but they stop at 9 pm so you will need to take a tuk tuk
- if you are travelling with a small child or not comfortable with stair walking, you should know that there is no elevator

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Uniko92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We are group of family and friends that stay at Kool hotel Dec 30- Jan 2 and back from HCMH,PP Jan 4-6. From airport pick up down to hotel transfer to airport we can feel the excellent service that the hotel provided. We personally meet the owner Mr Dara Sour when we arrived from PP who personally assist us room check in even taking our orders for dinner that night,now I know why they have excellent service :-) Mr Sothy personally drive us to mekong express terminal when 9the van that was suppose to pick us up got problem. Their restaurant have great food we ate twice and the price is reasonable, lowest from our tour from SR,HCMH,PP. Got extra service at no extra charge when they extended our room till 8pm as our flight is 10:30pm (lucky for us that no group check in for that day)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil_su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a very nice stay here. Went for 3 nights. The staff were amazing they would bend over backwards to help you. Lovely big and clean rooms. The pool was great and the food was also very good. Its a little way from town but tuk tuk drivers are waiting outside at all hours and will take you into town for $2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.8 mi away
Nagara Angkor Boutique Hotel
Nagara Angkor Boutique Hotel
#106 of 310 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rithy Rine Angkor Hotel
Rithy Rine Angkor Hotel
#161 of 310 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#125 of 310 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
Angkor Boutique Tropic Hotel
#111 of 310 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Frangipani Villa Hotel, Siem Reap
0.6 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#73 of 310 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kool Hotel

Property: The Kool Hotel
Address: 18 National Road 6 Tapaul Village | Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 17259, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#50 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#66 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Kool Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kool hotel is located on a quiet lane yet in the heart of Siem Reap town, close to transports and the airport, minutes away from the world's famous Angkor temples, shops, and restaurants. We offer immaculately clean, good value for money, chic, friendly, mid-range luxurious accommodation with modern facilities, also featuring Khmer, Thai, and International fusion restaurant, massage, tours, and pick-up. Our personalised services during your stay sets us apart from others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Kool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kool Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing