We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made Siem Reap simple and enjoyable”
Review of Happy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Guest House
Ranked #25 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Started perfectly with complimentary tuk tuk from the airport, then got better and better. Phearun (the driver who greeted us at the airport) was our designated driver for the week. The guest house has a roster of trusted tuk tuk's so you get the best service and price. We did 3 days with Phearun and had an amazing time. His knowledge of the area meant we saw all the best places at times when they were at their least busy.

The guest house is really nice. The rooms are comfy and great value. We were greeted by Chop Wan who is absolutely lovely. In fact everyone was really helpful and friendly. They helped us get our Thai visas and arranged our trip from the guest house to Bangkok.

The food is pretty good and again great value. The main area with the markets and Pub Street is about a 15 minute walk, which is only a strain in the heat or the rain. There's always a tuk tuk driver around who will drop you in for a dollar.

Cannot recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 713 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while we were in Siem Reap. After trying 2 other options we decided to go for happy guesthouse. We were given a lovely welcome on arrival by the staff who overall were really friendly and helpful.

We stayed in one of the rooms on the ground floor of the front building. We were shown a room in the back building but decided to stay in the front so that we had access to wifi. The room was basic but it was quite large. We had AC, a really good fan, a window (but this just looked onto another building), a teeny TV and hot showers all for $9 a night. The room and the bathroom were both quite clean and they were cleaned every day. They have a good laundry service and three computers with free internet access.

We rented bicycles, you can borrow these for free if you're going into the market or pay $1 if you are cycling to Angkor Wat. The location is quite good and it is only a 15min walk to the night market/pub street area. However, if you wanted to stay locally there are many restaurants in the area to eat. We also booked our bus ticket to Bangkok through happy guesthouse and no problems on this journey. The cocktails were cheap and really really good but the food in the restaurant wasn't that great.

Overall, we had a really good experience staying here and I would recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to stay that is cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I paid $5 for a single room with an ensuite. I have stayed in many guest houses in Cambodia - some much more expensive, and I can honestly say that my room at Happy Guest House was one of the best. The room was clean, the bed was comfy and it had all the basics: fresh towel, toilet paper and even a complimentary bottle of water. The design of the accommodation is also very attractive and welcoming.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They are attentive to your needs and are happy to arrange anything you need, including transport around Angkor.

I only have two criticisms. The first is in relation to the food. The food didn't taste bad (although I have had more flavoursome food at other guest houses) but I found the portions to be, generally, small - leaving me sometimes still hungry after eating. Perhaps the portion sizes are fine for other people and it's just a personal preference, but I did find the portions smaller in comparison to other guest houses.

The second criticism relates to the atmosphere of the guest house in the evening. Happy Guest House does have a small bar, but I generally found the atmosphere in the evening to be lacking. Of course, Happy Guest House doesn't advertise itself as a place for major social activities - it is primarily accommodation; however, I think they could do more to liven up the evenings for guests with some music, a happy hour, etc. The guests did tend to sit there looking bored in the evenings, with the only entertainment being Khmer films screened on the small TV. Of course, guests can just travel to pub street if they want a night out, but I think Happy Guest House can do a few things to make evenings more lively and interesting for guests - especially those who are travelling on their own or don't particularly want to go to pub street in the evening.

In conclusion, Happy Guest House offers an excellent service with high quality rooms which are great value for money. The staff are very friendly with generally good English and attentive to your needs. There is room for improvement, however, and Happy Guest House should perhaps review the portion size of the food they serve and consider making evenings more lively and enjoyable for guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missversailles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although very crowded, nice hotel. Nice food and drinks. First night we slept in a hotel across the street because there were no more rooms in the Happy Guesthouse (despite our reservation..). This was not very dissapointing because the other hotel was good and had friendly staf.
Second night in the Happy Guesthouse: room was oke, quite clean and hot water. Staf was nice but because there were so many, the mutual communication was not good. We constantly had to ask our questions 3 or 4 time to different people. Chaos all over.
Saw the sunrise at angkor with our own tuc-tuc driver (hotel staf) which was great fun! His engish was fine, as was the engish of some staf, but most of them did not speak great english. They promised us some breakfast on the day of departure but unfortunately nobody was awake so no breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Room very clean. Hot water and air cond for good price (double room 7$) Staff very pleasant and able to give you all information you need (bus ticket, floating village...). The best guest house we stayed in cambodia.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great atmosphere, staff are willing to help with information, trips, travel and advise you on where to find anything you want. Tuk tuk drivers all speak good English and can be trusted completely. Restaurant and bar area outside is a great place to meet others and just relax. Booked in for 3 nights stayed 10

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank FleaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stay there! Be sure to find clean rooms, nice people and good prices. We had stayed there for 7 nights during july 2012. There is no problem to help you to find good trip, better tuk tuk (but be careful of tuk tukers everywhere !) or better place on bus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#5 of 507 in Siem Reap
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Horizons Cambodia
Horizons Cambodia
#30 of 507 in Siem Reap
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#16 of 507 in Siem Reap
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lovely Guesthouse
Lovely Guesthouse
#126 of 507 in Siem Reap
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#15 of 507 in Siem Reap
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing