We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy guesthouse”
Review of Happy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Happy Guest House
Ranked #24 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy guesthouse”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although very crowded, nice hotel. Nice food and drinks. First night we slept in a hotel across the street because there were no more rooms in the Happy Guesthouse (despite our reservation..). This was not very dissapointing because the other hotel was good and had friendly staf.
Second night in the Happy Guesthouse: room was oke, quite clean and hot water. Staf was nice but because there were so many, the mutual communication was not good. We constantly had to ask our questions 3 or 4 time to different people. Chaos all over.
Saw the sunrise at angkor with our own tuc-tuc driver (hotel staf) which was great fun! His engish was fine, as was the engish of some staf, but most of them did not speak great english. They promised us some breakfast on the day of departure but unfortunately nobody was awake so no breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    219
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
35
253
130
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Room very clean. Hot water and air cond for good price (double room 7$) Staff very pleasant and able to give you all information you need (bus ticket, floating village...). The best guest house we stayed in cambodia.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere, staff are willing to help with information, trips, travel and advise you on where to find anything you want. Tuk tuk drivers all speak good English and can be trusted completely. Restaurant and bar area outside is a great place to meet others and just relax. Booked in for 3 nights stayed 10

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FleaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trutnov, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stay there! Be sure to find clean rooms, nice people and good prices. We had stayed there for 7 nights during july 2012. There is no problem to help you to find good trip, better tuk tuk (but be careful of tuk tukers everywhere !) or better place on bus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Happy guesthouse is run by the nicest family in town. Definitely had a great time! The owner even drove back to the busstation to get my memory cards, which I lost on the way! His daughter too really makes a big effort to make your stay as great as possible. Tells you everything you need to know and arranges guides for travels etc. And then there's Mr. T.! The best tuk tuk driver who will drive you around all day if you want. Knows all the best places in Angkor! Would really like to go back to Siem Reap en Happy Guesthouse. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corine86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wonderful family run guesthouse & a brilliant start to our 4 week trip through Cambodia & Vietnam (definately one of our highlights). So far removed from the huge resort style hotels we saw on the approach to Siem Reap - didn't expect those.
Rooms at 'Happy' were clean & basic, ours was a little on the small side but was fine for our short stay. Fabulous, cheap food in the restaurant, which is a great place to relax. We were lucky enough to book 'The' (Tee) as our tuk-tuk driver to visit Angkor Wat - we travelled as a group of four 50 somethings... & we felt it was a huge privilege to meet such a genuine, hardworking, interesting man.
Thank you to everyone for making our stay at the Happy Guest house so enjoyable - we would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went to Siem Reap with my friend in April this year. We took a double bed room. Happy Guesthouse really served the best! Very clean & extremely comfortable room!
The staffs are very warm & kind! They were patient & nice. I like their friendly smiles! One of the staff even showed us the village where the local usually held event in celebrating Khmer New Year. Its was fun & interesting to joined in their activities in the village!
The price is very low, suitable for budget backpackers (like me)!
The cook is also good. You can try their menu.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#7 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#22 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#9 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#105 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Property: Happy Guest House
Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing