We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Prices, clean rooms,very nice staff, from the manager to the barman...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Happy Guest House
Ranked #25 of 486 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
“Good Prices, clean rooms,very nice staff, from the manager to the barman...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I staid one week in this GH and I think everuthing is in the title! I can add that I had very tidy single room with tv and fan for 4 dollars! And that they re offering little services that make all the difference : free water on arrival, free bicycle, free internet... All the staff is also very friendly and try to resolve all the little problem you can have. A good and calm ambiance, far away from the Las Vegas style of siem reap downtown!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    219
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
35
251
130
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Happy Guest house for 10 days. We loved the location which is out of the way from the hustle and bustle of pub street but still an easy walk.

The guest house itself was big and clean. We paid for a A/C room $11pn which ended up being $10pm becaus we stayed so long. The room was large and clean with both ac and fan. The rooms were cleaned even few days and toilet roll replenished.

The restaurant served a good selection of food but I wouldn't recommend the fried noodles. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. We highly recommend you use Teddy as your tuk tuk driver for any of the trips. He is very helpful and friendly and has some fascinating stories from his youth. Please ask for him when booking a tuk tuk, we used a different driver one day when Teddy was busy and we were hugely disappointed.

I would highly recommend Happy guest house to anyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

They set us up with an excellent guide and driver - safe, knowledgeable, honest, and friendly without being overbearing. Room clean. Staff helpful and polite.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice place with a friendly staff and lots of information if you need it.

Their restaurant has really good and cheap food all day long. Their staff is lovely and friendly, some of the young one are a bit slow sometimes - a couple of times they didn't get our order right - but we didn't mind too much. Just make sure you state clearly all the items you want.

We stayed in a double with AC and en suite - it was nice and clean and good value. There was some very loud construction going on behind the back building - they have two little buildings - so we couldn't really sleep later into the morning. I guess that is alright for most days as most of the travelers wake up early but if you plan on sleeping a little longer on some days make sure you ask for a room that isn't affected by this. We didn't bother asking as it was towards the end of our stay but I am sure it would have been fine to change for a different room.

Also, there was no wi-fi in the back building. Don't know about the front building but there is wi-fi downstairs in the public/restaurant area and there are computers with internet that you can use for free anytime.

They have a lot of info regarding trips and tours and have a few of their own tuk tuk drivers. Ours was really nice and I think the price was ok. Shop around if you want to make sure tho and also research beforehand.

You can rent bikes for $1 a day, which is great. Ours were a bit broken though so try them out first or maybe just take them around the city and not for long distances.

It's a short, 10 min walk to the old market area where all the restaurants and bars are.

A few things could be improved on but overall we were happy there (excuse the pun) and would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Ask about the construction going on behind the back building, not good if you're planning on sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed 4 days in the Guesthouse to explore Angkor Wat. The guesthouse contains an eating/TV area and behind this there is the house where you sleep. Although not that modern at all, we stayed at a comfortable room and the beds were very clean.

Although the Guesthouse is not located in the centre of Siam Reap there are plenty of Tuk Tuk's that will bring you for around $2 to the centre (negotiate!)

You can book Angkor Wat tours (incl. Guide and Tuk Tuk) at the Guesthouse. However, we would not recommend you to book your on-going tour to Phnom Penh for example through the guesthouse. They only bring you per private minibus to the public bus station where you get on on a public bus (very noisy). You should find a cheaper Tuk Tuk for this transfer!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XelaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Happy Guesthouse is clean, safe, and are equipped with honest, helpful staff. We enjoyed the tuk tuk driver an guide for Angkor Wat they set us up with. Overall a wonderful and inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

It was my first time to do 'backpacking' and basically I chose this guesthouse since it's recommended by so many People Here in the page. If you go to their website, you'd find the pictures to be the exact depiction of what it really is.

I only paid for my stay 6USD per night and the room was really clean, cozy and pleasant. Even the bathroom, the stairway, the floor and free usage of Internet were all conducive away from the comforts of your own home and obviously good.

One of the nice things as well is that they have low-priced meals and wifi in the dining area. Please try their amok! It is really good, party in your mouth.

I will go back perhaps early next year and would definitely Stay there again.

I highly recommend this hostel ... Don't miss the bicycles! They lend it for free and should you want to use it going to the temples, what is one dollar? :)

Room Tip: There are two areas... Get to the one at the back... If you check their website, the picture display...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_Stamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#11 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#24 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schein Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Tropical Breeze Guest House
#107 of 486 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Property: Happy Guest House
Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 486 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing