We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made me feel so at home!”
Review of Happy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Guest House
Ranked #18 of 529 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Fantastic staff, all family run. Rooms were very clean and the food is amazing. Arranged our visas for Vietnam and the people were that trustworthy that they forwarded our passports on to our next hostel in phnom penh. Really enjoyed our stay, thanks so much again. Anyone visiting siem reap should stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisecunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 740 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were picked up from Poipet border by a taxi from the guesthouse after arranging by email the night before. $35 for 5 of us in a taxi. Excellent English spoken, excellent food, excellent Tuk Tuk drivers at best rates I have researched and all the advice and help you can get for onward travel. Washing done 1$ a kilo.
Paid by mastercard too which was helpful to us.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings and we stayed in the back building 1 double 1 triple. Hot showers air con fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesusangeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We have stayed at many guest houses all over the world and we have to say that this is one of the best we have stayed at!

The staff are all extremely friendly and take the time to talk to you and help with any questions. Chhorpoan who worked there was really helpful booking buses and tours and tuk tuks for us. She even took half a day out to take us on a tour around her old village to meet family and friends. WHAT A LEGEND!!!!!

This place has a great atmosphere. The lounge area is great for meeting people and chilling out. There are 3 computers for the Internet which worked well and everyone seemed happy with the place when we stayed there. The food is great. good prices on beer and drinks and service till about 11-12. Good value all round.

We stayed there a few times in Feb2011 and March 2011 and stayed in a few different types of rooms. All the rooms where very clean, comfortable and great value.

We wish the family the best of luck in the future and we will see you again soon when we come back to Siem Reap.

Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_StuLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Happy Guest House was the first place we stayed when we got to Cambodia. Having had a horrendous border crossing between Thailand and Cambodia (being driven to the middle of no where, forced to get out of our bus and into tuk tuks by men shouting and swearing at us), we were feeling a little shaken up when we arrived at the Happy Guest House. Although our initial impression of Cambodia hadn't been a great one, the staff at the Happy Guest House immediately made us feel better and went above and beyond to help us with our trips and make us feel more at ease. They organised day trips and tuk tuks for us to ensure that we didn't get ripped off. They were always happy and smiley and friendly (which is always nice when you're in an unfamiliar place). The rooms were also absolutely spotless and we really couldn't fault them for how cheap they were (they even had aircon!) The food is also really tasty and cheap. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone going to Siem Reap, in fact, I already have and they've loved it too :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiaMaria989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

It does exactly what it says on the tin! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and smiley, really making us feel welcome which is more than can be said for the other couple of places we looked at! We paid just $4 for a clean comfortable fan room with en-suite bathroom. Truly great value.
A real oasis in Siem Reap far enough away from the craziness of the old market to feel quiet and relaxing but if that's your thing then it's easily close enough to walk.
The tuk tuk drivers attached are also very friendly and offer good deals. We had already arranged a tour with someone else which wasn't a problem at all.

Room Tip: Get a bottom floor room, it's cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were picked up from the bus stop no problems by the guesthouse, eventhough our bus was an hour late. We checked in fine and were shown to. Great room that was a bargain. We have paid a lot more elsewhere for a lot less! It was very clean and the aircon worked, just.

The wifi didn't work in the room, and also didn't really work when you could get it in the common area. The common area was good. The restaurant served great cheap food and drinks from 5am. The only real downside was it was a bit of a walk to the bars. But a tuk tuk was only 1 or 2 dollars.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed at the Happy Guesthouse for 7 nights and enjoyed our stay so much in this family run guesthouse that we were sad to move on. Chekwon treats you like a member of her family - it seems that nothing is too much trouble for her. We paid only $6 for a large, clean, comfortable room , there was free internet access, lovely, low cost food in the garden restaurant - we loved the Amok fish curry and fruit smoothies and free bicycle use for travel to and round Angkor Wat.
Happy Guest was our best value and one of our most enjoyable stays during our 11 week trip round SE Asia.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.6 mi away
Khmere Maison d'Angkor
Khmere Maison d'Angkor
#26 of 529 in Siem Reap
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#15 of 529 in Siem Reap
1,183 reviews
0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#7 of 529 in Siem Reap
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#13 of 529 in Siem Reap
503 reviews
1 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#15 of 331 in Siem Reap
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Guest House

Address: 0134 Phum Wat Bo, Khum Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 529 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $10 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home. The stuffs are friendly and my family members can speak English, French and Vietnamese. Pay less but get more services like you stay in a more expensive guesthouse because the rooms are clean with private bathroom, shoes, soap, toilet paper and provide a water on arrival day, room cleaning service. My family will give you the best and the most honest advices about your stay in Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Happy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing