We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food and friendly service”
Review of Le Malraux

Le Malraux
Ranked #127 of 878 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Cambodian, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice food and friendly service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ordered fish with green peppercorns, and ribs. all was yummy. Western food with a Cambodian twist. The wait staff were friendly and engaging.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galaxiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    219
    82
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good location, great food & service”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Visited in September.

Lovely decor, able to sit outside under their covered dining area which is nicely decorated with hanging baskets and orchids. The only downside is that it is close to Pub Street and you can hear some of the punters in the karaoke bars blasting out various Abba numbers!

Starters were fairly large abs tasty (spring rolls). Mains were good also, I opted for the lake fish from the special board. Good selection of desserts but my creme caramel needed a little more caramelisation.

Drinks were not too expensive.

Overall, you pay hotel prices (good hotel) and get good quality, well presented food. Would certainly recommend and visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks great but food isn't!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant as it was decorated beautifully and looked as if it would serve good quality food, how wrong we were! I ordered the beef lok lac and my partner the ribs, both dishes were cold when served, I sent mine back nd it came back only slightly warmer. Both dishes lacked flavour and were bland.
Considering we ordered Cambodian cuisine we expected a lot more. We have had much better food for half of the price.

The beer was warm and tasted off. My mojito was nothing like a mojito completely tasteless.

Overall I feel that whilst the place might look easy on the eye they should concentrate on making the food better because for the price it was shocking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestsoph2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Quaint and Romantic”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We decided to explore Le Malraux because It looked like a hanging garden with orchids hanging from the ceiling in the outdoor dining area. Muted amber lighting gives it a cozy, if not romantic feel. The interior is the bar area with a good selection of drinks.

We ordered just a beef carpaccio as we were already full from a heavy lunch and it was expertly sliced and well presented on a platter. It came with bread and salad. The table condiments were local Kampot pepper with French olive oil. It was delicious and the service was very warm and good.

We are panning another trip to Siem Reap and will definitely be back at Le Malraux for a proper meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“WARNING: Food so good, you will overeat, despite good intentions not to!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Le Malraux has a very pleasant atmosphere to it. The place is tastefully decorated and I do like the different seating inside and outside. The orchids outside are a nice touch, though after a good meal and a bottle of wine it can be a challenge to maneuver through the hanging orchid forest.

In the back of our minds we were thinking of La P'tite France in Phnom Penh, our by far favorite French place away from France, with it's amicable chef Didier. Having said that, Le Malraux has a very amicable chef as well; I did not catch his name but he surely looked like an interesting character and also someone interested in his guests and the food he serves them.

We started with 3 starters; why choose when it's not entirely necessary. We had escargots - very good taste, the foie gras paté - which was wonderful, liked the little fruit compote to go with it, but needed a few minutes extra to get to the right temperature, and the ravioli with spinach and cheese. The ravioli had a really nice taste, but it had a little too much oil to it. Still good, but not getting the 'wonderful' mark.

Then I had ribs and my wife had the salmon carpacchio / tartare. The ribs were very tasty. I was surprised with rice coming with ribs and not fries - so if you want fries with your ribs order them as a side dish. Having said that; the rice was spiced nicely and delivered a good balance with the meat. A small side note; if you are from the US and you are used to a rack of ribs the size of a small child; these are smaller, but they are very meaty!
The salmon carpacchio / tartare was nice, but my wife would probably have gone for only the carpacchio. I'm a tartare fan, beef tartare as well, but it is an acquired taste and the finesse of the carpacchio perhaps does not mix well with the tartare, which is not as refined. But wonderfully fresh salmon; perhaps a tad too much olive oil.

As desert we had the profiteroles and the mouse au chocolate, which I accompanied with a triple sec - they were out of amaretto that day. Both great, though at the point of ordering desert we already knew we had already eaten enough. But well; it looked so tempting when someone else ordered it and we promised ourselves ice cream.

If the ravioli and carpacchio would have had a little less oil - perhaps use less and serve the olive oil with it for those who like more - this would have been a 'excellent' mark, but it still is very VERY good.


Great food, nice place, good atmosphere, friendly staff, great evening,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis_Bours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Malraux also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Le Malraux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing