We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
The best way to escape the crowds at Angkor Wat

My husband and I booked a 2 day photography tour with Darren around the Angkor Wat temple complex... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
RachelinNorwich
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
via mobile
A great day shooting at Angkor!

I spent a great day with Darren shooting the wonders of the Angkor complex. I had selected Darren... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
jgr22
,
Berkeley, California
via mobile
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
10
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews photography tour camera settings day tour angkor wat portraits composition shooting capture patiently sunrise cambodia
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2018

My wife and I had a 1.5 day tour with Darren in Siem Reap and the Wats of Angkor. This was originally booked as a photography tour but turned out to be an amazing adventure through Angkor Wat, Ta Phrom, and Preha Khan on the first half day. Then on the second day we covered Bayon, Leper King Terrace, Krol Ko and a fishing village about an hour outside Siem Reap called Kampong Khleang. I have to say we were so spoilt as we almost had each Wat to ourselves as Darren masterfully guided us through the madness of the tourists trail with our tuk tuk driver Mr Gau. If you're into Photography or (Sorry Darren) you want to avoid the tourists then I would highly recommend this tour, you are looked after from start to finish and I like the fact that Darren was so flexible with our itinerary. Thank you Darren and Mr Gau for making our stay a memorable one and next time I'm in Siem Reap I will definitely book another tour! Thanks again.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Mihilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

As an experienced photographer with limited time it was important to find someone who could help with my needs. Darren was just the guy, he has excellent local knowledge of the temples and where to be at what time. After visiting Banteay Srey at sunrise I really wanted to photograph some monks, Darren had organised everything and we had a great session shooting portraits of the local monks at Chau Srei Vibol temple. It was great to get away from the crowds and Darren's knowledge of locations really helped. Next time I'm in Siem Reap I will definitely book another tour! Thanks again.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank rjtphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

Had a private 1.5 day tour with Darren.
Told him about my wishes and needs in advance and he build a wunderfull tour around it. Learned so much about camera settings and saw so many wunderfull things, always away from the crowd.

He's patient, an excellent teacher (if you need one) and let you go your own speed.

If you are looking for someone who knows his way around and the local people and who shows you the most beautiful places, Darren is exactly the one you are looking for.
To keep it short, it was an incredibly positive experience.
Would booke ihm over and over again.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank rosaswanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2018

If you like your photography to capture the soul of Cambodia, Darren is the person to go to. He helped me not only capture beautiful images of the architecture, people and traditions but also helped me explore perspectives i would normally not think of. He also patiently helped me brush up on my technical skills and guided me while i got comfortable with the techniques.
Its a long tour but definitely an amazing experience!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank appaiah_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Darren is an excellent photographer that knows the best locations away from the crowds.

Highly recommend!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenwilch, Owner at Cambodia-Images, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Thanks Mike, was a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews