We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stress free holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
European Guesthouse
Ranked #143 of 485 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stress free holiday”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a wonderful time. Stayed in a family room which was clean and cool. Garden was big enough for kids to explore without getting lost while we relaxed in the garden bar area.The staff were very helpful organising our temple trip and great with the kids. Will recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi

Always nice to get a good review. Thank you.


Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    79
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
12
61
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

after reading a note in lonely planet guide we headed directly to this hotel. Once we arrived, we realised that bikes for rent announced in the guide were not available. First room we got was stinky as the walls were wet. Staff was uninformed and one o
f the employees was likely
drugged. Great location, but hotel we moved to in the same street was 10 $ cheaper. Dont recommend

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I think this review says more about the writer than the guest house and I will be asking Trip Advisor to follow this up.

The suggestion that one of our employees "was likely drugged" is slanderous and ridiculous.

I assume that this "guest "was traveling with Leinka who also wrote a bad review along the same lines on the same day.

I can only ask that travelers look at the series of good reviews that we have had until these two and see these as people who have clearly had another agenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the European guesthouse me and my partner for 3 nights in August 2013, which is the low season here. Services offered in our guidebook were no longer offered (bike rental with 1/2 of rental fee to some community program), the first room we got smelled of mould (we got a new room without a problem and quickly), water didn't run properly and was cold most of the time and the price was disproportional to what other guesthouses in the same street and same services offered (we moved to a different guesthouse for 2 more nights where we were perfectly happy and got superiorly better service so we have direct comparison - 18 usd with breakfast and air con vs. 12 usd without breakfast worth 1.5 usd on the menu). The location, however, is excellent - closer to the temples than the more central guesthouses (we biked fir sunrises so every minute counted in the morning), quiet but still a walking distance to the buzz of town! Overall, I wouldn't recommend this guesthouse. It is too expensive fir budget travellers and doesn't include any perks for the more luxurious folk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray_Macmillan, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi

We are very disappointed to get this review since we very rarely get a bad one and certainly never two on the same day day presumably from guests traveling together.

However we always try and see if we can realistically improve so my comments are:

1. All of the rooms have been renovated within the last year and none are mouldy.
2. The water is served by 65000 liters worth of tanks and each room has a working electric shower.
3. We stopped doing the charity bikes because they were often not in a fit state for customers and since we put customer safety first we thought it safer to stop. We are not aware of any other services that are no longer available.

In the low season some of the less popular places may be offering discounted prices. That is their choice. We do not claim to be a lower end budget guesthouse and of course some guests may find that any price is too expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great rooms, fans, air con, ensuite and free breakfast. Sound advice about touring around the temples and staff can organise tuk-tuk, circus tickets and anything else you require. A short ride from town, away from the major tourist areas. Don't forget to check out the wildlife behind the main building!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickOzJap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siriri86, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It means a lot to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

European GH is a great place, located away from the main town (although only a 10-15min walk) it's perfect if you want to be away from the noisy pub street area. The rooms are large, spacious and clean, showers are hot and the tv works! Breakfast is included for the price but you have to pay $2 extra for eggs and bacon - my only tiny complaint here would be that one morning we asked for boiled eggs instead of fried and got some very strange looking poached eggs - but eggs are eggs so it didn't matter too much. My only suggestion for this place would be after reading on here that generally if you handed your key in your room would be cleaned as the staff knew you were out, this didn't happen for us and we had to ask for our room to be cleaned - again not a problem but my suggestion would be to get some door knob hangers for guests to hang outside their room if they want it cleaned. Also having some hooks on the walls inside the rooms for hanging up clothes would be great - we got soaked in a downpour one day and had no where to hang our clothes to dry. All in all a great place to stay and we'd stay here again if we ever come back to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siriri86, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi there.
Thank you for your kind and helpful comments. We do have a bit of a problem figuring out whether guests are in the rooms and whether to clean so having something to hang on the door is a great idea.
I also take your point on hangers. We renovated the rooms last year and due to an oversight on our part the hangers never made it back on to the walls after we decorated and I never got around to doing anything about it. So now we will.

Thanks again

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

European Guesthouse has awesome staff and is a great deal for the money! The rooms are basic, but the grounds are very nice for socializing with people from all over. Areas of possible improvement - staff could tidy up the rooms more often, especially with longer stays; have somewhere to store things or hang clothes, like a shelf or closet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrSmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siriri86, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi

Thank you for your review. It is always very helpful to get comments.

I have set up a new process for a daily housekeeping checklist. We sometimes have a bit of a blind spot where the cleaners are not sure if a guest is in the room or not.

We have also arranged to get a free standing hanger / coat stand for each of the rooms.

Thanks again


Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived in Siem Reap and asked our tuk tuk driver to take us to the European Guesthouse as had read a good review in Lonely Planet. He told us "very very far away" and would be a hassle, and "much better" places close to pub street area.

We were the take to string of dingey backpackers and guesthouses which were nothing like we had described we were looking for despite being close to pub street.

We eventually ended up at the European Guesthouse and felt at home right away. The staff are professional, friendly, welcoming and can capably assist you with any travel arrangements from a tuk tuk driver to pick you up at any time, to booking onward travel.

Oh, and the "very very far away" location turned out to be a $1 ride away from the pub street/ night market area, in a lovely wee street with other guesthouses and convenience store very near by.
Great atmosphere and chill out area downstairs, books, comfy couches etc, and excellent well priced food.

Would chose again if visiting in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanistheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siriri86, Owner at European Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your kind words. It is great for the staff and for me to feel that things are working.

All the best


Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#7 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mom's Guesthouse
Mom's Guesthouse
#165 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#24 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#11 of 485 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 260 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Property: European Guesthouse
Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 485 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet area of Wat Bo, European Guesthouse features air-conditioned rooms and dorms with free WiFi. Guests have access to a swimming pool, sunbathing area and secluded garden. European Guesthouse is a short walk to the busy Pub Street. The famous Angkor Wat Temple is just 8 km from the guesthouse. All private rooms have a cable TV and en suite bathroom with hot shower facilities. Dormitory rooms offer shared bathroom access with hot shower facilities. European Guesthouse provides a free Siem Reap pick-up service. Bus and ticketing services are available for guests. Other services include tour information, visa renewals, cooking classes, bike hire and laundry. Guests can order from a menu of Khmer and Western food including freshly made pizza and crepes. There is a fully stocked bar featuring a range of cocktails, spirits, beers, shakes and premium coffee. An active supporter of several NGO's in Siem Reap, European Guesthouse is certified ChildSafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing