We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, nice rooms, nice people for a nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
European Guesthouse
Ranked #136 of 483 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Beijing, Beijing, China
1 review
“Nice location, nice rooms, nice people for a nice price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for about two weeks. It was supposed to be shorter but due to a knee injury it turned out longer. The staff was very helpful and kind, especially Moran. They gave me special care and attention because of my physical condition, too. I thank them for that. The location was quiet and close enough to the action at pub street to be easily accessible for an evening out but far enough not to be bothered by the noise and hustle. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable outfitted with cable television and wireless internet. The owner was a friendly guy from the UK. The only need for improvement would be there are is no closets or shelves to store our clothes or other belongings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urfrenddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    79
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
12
60
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good, clean hostel in an OK location. It's a half hour walk to the pub street, but tuktuks are on hand all the time to take you there for $2. The staff were great and told us about a place where only locals go for food, found a tuktuk driver to take us there and back and order the food for us! It was a great way to end our time in Siem Reap.
The staff also helped get us a good price with a tuktuk driver to take us to Ankor Watt. We kept the driver for the rest of our stay.
Still need convincing? There's a crocodile farm at the back of the hostel...!

Only negative: there's no indoor common area (aside from your room) so if you want to sit out late at night you need to take some bug spray!

Overall I'd recommend this hostel :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fe_Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in this guesthouse last week for a few days. I had a single room, $15/night. The room was big, and was kept clean throughout my four day stay. Only two minor complaints about the room: the wifi was a bit intermittent at times (it worked, just had to switch between the three European Guesthouse accounts from time to time), and second, the room I was in could use a curtain on the window. Since there's a room from another guesthouse 4-5 metres across the way a curtain would add a bit of privacy.

As for the staff at the European Guesthouse, all the Cambodian staff were quite friendly and helpful (in particular the young ladies were very eager to help out and were always smiling) and they were able to answer any questions I had. They also had a couple of reliable tuk tuk drivers on-hand that I employed for a couple of day trips out of Siem Reap. The people working here are a big asset to this place.

I'd have no problem recommending this guesthouse to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in the European Guesthouse during my short vacation in November 2012 and I absolutely recommend the place to those who want a clean and spaceous room with the ameneties. I specifically commend the staff who are very friendly and very helpful if you have questions or concerns. I like the customer service and attitude of the management and staff.
I also recommend the in-house Tuktuk driver assigned to me, he is Chankea, he is honest and he is also knowledgeable about the best locations/destinations to checkout and can provide good insights to plan your day trips.
Overall, my experience in Siem Reap was great and I would definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmund V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

European Guesthouse has got a very spacious garden, quite strange in a small road away from the touristic area; Walking around, you can notice yourself that the other places can not offer such a space, which does make the difference, especially after a long day in the temples.

Just beside the nice garden, there's a nice little bar, designed to quench your thirst and your (mine) chatting attitude (the two things go together...); at he bar i came across for few times to the Briton manager, which has been living in town for few years apparently, and is always up to give you some good tips and advice on what to do in the charming area. Is always good in my opinion to have such suggestions from an expat, as you do not end up in the touristic same old place as everyone. So, my special thanks goes to Chris and the lovely staff behind the bar, and to those that with their job, give to the new refurbished rooms, an immaculate look.

Well done boys and girls, keep doing the good job going. Once again thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numero6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very reasonable price for a wonderfully equipped and furnished room (very spacious), breakfast included (I know it can be not enough for fans of big breakfasts but the fresh baquette with jam and butter AND fresh fruts with yummy coffe was satisfactory for us).
Most of the time wifi worked well and when it didn't once, the staff helped extremely with just found us a travel agent we could book our flight tickets through, for even cheaper than by booking online.

The place itself has a nice vibe, the owner is super nice, friendly and helpful, so is the English speaking staff of young Khmers - they are all very positive and you feel instantly welcome when you move in there.

There's a menu at the bar of few nice local and western meals, cooked in nearby restaurant, not pricey in comparison to other places and delicious!

If you look for a place in Siem Reap, this is the good choice! We ended up there after one disastrous night in the place on the opposite site of the road. And guess what - we stayed for a whole week at European. Worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Lived here for a month and after a hard days work it felt like coming home. Staff are so helpful and friendly. I stayed in a room for 3 weeks and a dorm for 1 and thought both to be excellent value for money. Thanks for the wonderful hospitality to all at European guesthouse and I will definitely be back next time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#8 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mom's Guesthouse
Mom's Guesthouse
#154 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#24 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#12 of 483 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#10 of 483 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 251 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Guesthouse

Property: European Guesthouse
Address: #0566, Group 2, Banteay Chas Village | Slorkram Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet area of Wat Bo, European Guesthouse features air-conditioned rooms and dorms with free WiFi. Guests have access to a swimming pool, sunbathing area and secluded garden. European Guesthouse is a short walk to the busy Pub Street. The famous Angkor Wat Temple is just 8 km from the guesthouse. All private rooms have a cable TV and en suite bathroom with hot shower facilities. Dormitory rooms offer shared bathroom access with hot shower facilities. European Guesthouse provides a free Siem Reap pick-up service. Bus and ticketing services are available for guests. Other services include tour information, visa renewals, cooking classes, bike hire and laundry. Guests can order from a menu of Khmer and Western food including freshly made pizza and crepes. There is a fully stocked bar featuring a range of cocktails, spirits, beers, shakes and premium coffee. An active supporter of several NGO's in Siem Reap, European Guesthouse is certified ChildSafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your European Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing