We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Food, Perfect Service, Perfect Surroundings”
Review of Meric - CLOSED

Meric
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Food, Perfect Service, Perfect Surroundings”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The highlight of Meric in the chic Hotel de la Paix are its daybeds, suspended from the roof like swings, that serve as its outdoor tables. Large enough to seat four people, the sturdy mattress and firm pillows make the seating comfortable. The minimalist tables that go over one's lap like a food tray are very functional. The various ceramic balls piled artfully in a vase add visual interest to the setting. The staff are very friendly and efficient. With their good service, the great Khmer-style set lunch that they recommended, a nice breeze gently swaying our table/swing, and a happy newlywed couple discreetly taking pictures under the gigantic tree in the center of the courtyard, it was a most perfectly relaxing lunch. Oh, and the drink, both alcoholic and fresh squeezed juice, are fantastic.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drummingtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The second time we've dined here (with two years between visits) and it was just as tasty as we'd remembered! A flavorful fusion of Cambodian and French cooking. Definitely recommended!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jes6ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing and overpriced”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

So may friends raved about Hotel de la Paix and, while we couldn't get a booking to stay there (and preferred to spend a bit less on our room in SR), we wanted to see the hotel for ourselves. Things started out great. Although we arrived on the heels of a huge 50 person tour group without a reservation, one of the waiters was very helpful and helped us settle into a cozy couch in the minimalist bar area, which also serves as a gallery for interesting art, where we enjoyed great cocktails and appetizers and waited for a table in the restaurant. We should have skipped dinner altogether. We opted to be adventurous and try the fixed price Khmer tasting menu. The food was mediocre at best - many of the sauces quite watery and some of the dishes downright tasteless. The worst part was that some of the dishes didn't match the menu description at all. The wait staff was quite friendly and the service attentive, but we were definitely disappointed. Not worth the price!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirlDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulmer, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous - a real treat”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Wow...The Meric has the best service i have experienced in any restaurant. The staff are amazing and nothing is too much trouble. Seating is either outside in the fabulous garden or inside with a/c. Outside there are also some swinging beds that have to be seen.. we opted not to eat dinner on these but did enjoy a leisurely breakfast onboard!. For dinner we both chose the tasting menu which at $33 was fantastic value and delicious.
Well worth a treat here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Eat at Ceric - stay somewhere else”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

As others recommend, enjoy the Khmer tasting menu with wine pairing. Yes, it's expensive for Cambodia ($61 per person with wine pairing and service charge). But the food is special and the ambience absolutely magical. Park Hyatt is taking over the hotel later in 2012 so enjoy this while you can.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SomeKindOfWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meric also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing