We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”
Review of Chamkar

Chamkar
Ranked #111 of 1,143 Restaurants in Siem Reap
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chamkar is an authentic vegetarian restaurant featuring fine and genuine Khmer cuisine in a friendly and cosy atmosphere. We cook with fresh local vegetables, and strive to use organic ingredients whenever possible, providing a gourmet and healthy dining experience for all lovers of fine food.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

Why this place has gotten great reviews is beyond me. The food is truly lackluster and just not tasty at all. The ambience is dismal. Really regret going here. Siem Reap has such great vegan restaurants. Skip this one

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank 374kexint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Chamkar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019

Dear Kexint,
We are very sorry to hear from you talking as bad as you do about Chamkar Café Restaurant.
Let me explain our story..
Chamkar has been the first Khmer Vegetarian Restaurant In siem reap since more than ten years, with love and taste, we make one by one our recipe, that's mean, you will never, never find the same taste wherever, every single dishes has been created with creativity and love, yes sir, we use local and organic products that means fresh and we do everything A LA MINUTE, and we haven t change anything in our recipe since this time because our customers love them so much!
So, you did not enjoy your meal, fine, we are very sorry about this, and I wish I can change your mind with a another dish, but do not be so bad where behind people works so hard.

The team,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

The wedding dip was good. I have celiac disease so asked if I could have vegetables to eat the dip with and they gave me just a few. The vegan oysters were terrible- way to much holy basil. No ambiance at all. Skip this place

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 728kimmya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Chamkar, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019

Hello Kimmya,
We are very sorry to hear that you have celiac disease, we are not responsible for that, our menu is completed and well clear in two languages wich is English and Chinese, you could choose something adapted with your restrictions, de plus Vegan Oysters was not your taste, I would say the same things I used to say to my own kids, That is not terrible, that is not your taste. We are sorry once again, you did not have a good time with us and hope you had enjoy your trip in Cambodia anyway.
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

Located in the small gully near busy pub street. Small place but the service is quite good ordered curry which is served with rice and the food was satisfactory.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank raghudupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

Lovely restaurant in touristy area where nice to be.

The food was good but the service was average. We wanted to order the wedding dip but discovered that the bread has the eggs, so we had to skip the dip. We ordered noodles and soup; both were good but nothing special that would trigger our return.

If you vegan, ask additional question because the hidden non-vegan ingredients could be in your meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EarlyRetirementAbroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

You can eat here with all confidence to know your food is well sourced and prepared, as promised by them.
Very cosy, intimate restaurant, just behind Pub Street, away from the crowds. Can definately recommend this for the conscious about their food.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank StandUpDeliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamkar also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Chamkar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.