We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful friendly guesthouse that lived up to expectation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosy Guest House
Ranked #44 of 490 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“A wonderful friendly guesthouse that lived up to expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. The owners and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was beautifully clean and the food was delicious. We had lots of helpful advice about local attractions and staff made phonecalls on our behalf to book up our next hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller293925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    103
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
153
96
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

Loved the place and would totally recommend it. It is a tuktuk ride from the centre, which was actually a relief to be away from the main hub. A lot more relaxing (nice scenic stream/park opposite), and more local people, but also plenty of choice of restaurants nearby by, 5 min tuktuk ride to centre - plenty of availablility without the hounding.
Cleanliness and staff were top notch. Use of internet and dvd loan were much help, and included in price of stay were a mega bonus. I stayed here for about 7 days, and at the low point of my travels (dodgy tum, home-sick) and they restored me. In comfort, and friendlyness, advice and safety for getting the most of the area - can't praise them enough.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flicks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

As we normally do, we booked a single night to test the waters and see if we liked the place and immediately booked back in for another 3.

Having just travelled from Bangkok where you get nothing for $30USD/night, we got everything we needed and more for $20USD - this was a private double bed with aircon, fridge, tv/dvd, ensuite. The beds were soft and foamy, the best we'd slept on the whole trip.

The guesthouse has a bar at the bottom that costs $1 for a beer that's fresh as fresh, we even watched the lines being cleaned out while we stayed. The food and coffee were cheap and tasty.

Rosy is run by a husband and wife team, English ex-pats. You'll see their little girl and dog running around the place and it's really a home for them and their guests. Simon offered for us to play some Wii on the big screen, watch some dvd's and relax on the open-air balcony, on the 2nd floor.

Upon check-out, they organised a taxi for us to the Thai border at the right rate ($30) and made a point of saying they only hire people they know and trust. The guy even waited an extra half-hour for us while we had some breakfast made, nothing was ever a problem.

A special mention to their lady who works for them during the days and nights, I didn't catch her name. But she was super attentive, friendly and made us feel so very very welcome.

Thanks guys for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoedee1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

When we came into Siem Reap we planned to stay 4 nights but had to move on to Phnom Penh unexpectedly after 1 night's stay. Rachel and the Rosy staff were as accommodating as they could possibly be and were able to have the same room for us when we came back to Siem Reap a couple of days later. They were extremely helpful and informative when it came to arranging transport to Phnom Penh and everywhere else. It was really nice to be picked up at the airport. We liked the location because it is away from the main tourist area, yet within walking distance of wherever we wanted to go. Our room was spacious, very clean and quiet enough. We were provided with a top sheet, but I could have used a blanket to shield me from wind coming from the a/c fan, which was pretty noisy. That was minor because the room was very comfortable otherwise. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonypaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

I can't think of one bad thing to say about the place ( maybe one, Mr Set), the location is quiet, overlooks the river. The owners are very helpful, and play great music down stairs.
The staff are unbelievably lovely, and will do everything they can to help you.
They will all give you great advice, so ask them about anything, particularly local prices.
A word of warning, try not to encourage the tuk tuk driver Mr Set (he is the one with the bad teeth). On several occasions he rudely intarupted our breakfast, barging in on our private conversation, trying to drum up business. And did this to several guests whilst the owners
and staff were out of sight. He will also try to grossly overcharge you.
The only one spot on otherwise a delightful stay.
When we are back in Siem Reap, this is our first choice.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuey-dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosy_Guesthouse, Owner at Rosy Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Hi Stuey-Dent,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your compliments and comments to our staff.

We were not pleased to hear about your experience with one of our recommended drivers Mr Set however and we would like to apologise for any inconvenience to you regarding his behaviour or if this made you feel uncomfortable in any way. Thank you for letting us know. We certainly do not encourage our drivers to approach guests who are eating or relaxing in our bar/restaurant. We will be talking to Mr Set, as well as reiterating our tuk tuk policy with our staff so they are more vigilant to any further instances of this and we will take further action if needed.

We do not take commission from our drivers; all the money they charge is for them and their families. This is why we let guests know our guide rates for different routes so you can talk directly with the drivers to plan your itinerary to suit each guest. Without knowing routes that you took or prices charged (or quoted for) I cannot comment directly on the comment regarding overcharging, but we will note that you felt you were overcharged by Mr Set and keep this on file.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again if you return to Siem Reap.

Kind Regards,

Rachel and Simon

Rosy Guesthouse Managers and Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Rosys has got to be among one of the most friendly and helpful guesthouses ive stayed in. Simon and Rachel run it, together with Khmer staff and an old golden retriever. Rooms are spotless and stylish with tv, dvd player and lots of free dvds. Good help and advise available from all staff regarding trips and suggestions around Siem Reap and further on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psm_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

The hostel is well located, 5 mins walking to the centre and 10 min by tuk tuk to the temple. Another positive point is that the people there treat you really nice, warm specially the owners. You will probably have a good talk with them on the bar, which has a nice decoration.

If you don't feel usually safe in a hostel don't really. I hardly recommend to stay in this hostel, because I forgot my iphone on the room and on the same day they send me a email asking what they can do to send me it back again.

Thanks a lot!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrique_Amorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#23 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#8 of 490 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#9 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The City Premium Guesthouse
The City Premium Guesthouse
#126 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panda Guesthouse
Panda Guesthouse
#82 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
Siem Reap Rooms Guesthouse
#10 of 490 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosy Guest House

Property: Rosy Guest House
Address: 74 Phlum Slor Kram | (East River Road), Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 490 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautifully decorated, spotless rooms to suit all budgets and a continually developing Responsible Tourism policy emphasizing local community projects, staff development and eco-friendly alternatives Rosy Guesthouse brings you quality, comfortable accommodation with a conscience. Facilities include free, unlimited WiFi; large, relaxing balcony; big screens showing sports events and movies; pool table; bustling, fully stocked bar and restaurant with a range of delectable Asian and European foods. Located in quiet riverside setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rosy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing