We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great service!”
Review of Rosy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rosy Guest House
Ranked #37 of 515 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Simon, Smiley and the Khmer staff made me feel instantly welcome, learning my name and my preference in food and drink. Their service was flexible to my needs and offered advice and assistance, sometimes without it even being requested! Went on a Moto tour with Smiley up to Phnom Kulen with the waterfall, which was awesome! Great value and something you couldn't get to on a Tuk-Tuk! The hotel is kept really clean, food's good and location an easy walking distance from town. You might be able to find cheaper around Siem Reap but Rosy Guesthouse is well worth the extra few dollars!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Sweet inn, a little bit away from the "downtown" area, but easy to ride a bike (rent for $2 on site) or flag a tuk tuk or motorbike ride. Super clean, very nice staff, who let me borrow a book to take with me to the Angkor temples. Nice pub downstairs too and great area to chill upstairs with swinging chairs. A pool would have made this perfect. Very clean! The airport tuk tuk pick up was also a nice addition!

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room with bathroom en suite. Quiet, cool, very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Rosy is a one stop shop to everything siem reap. They have a rowdy crowd drinking and eating at their good restaurant often, the rooms are very clean as they are cleaned daily, the bathrooms are clean, they offer tuk tuk services with trusty drivers, the offer bike rentals where proceeds go to charity, and they can organize a taxi or bus to Phnom Penh or other locations if needed. The double bed with shared bathroom is incredibly small. Maybe 3 feet of space on two sides of the bed and that's it, but it suits the needs of sleeping for sure. Room 404 is the furthest from the staircase. The food costs, minus that bid a few items, is similar to going to town, relatively cheap. The staff is very accommodating. They allowed us to check out very late and provided us with meds when needed. Some things to be aware of that they didn't tell us: only cash is accepted and they shut everything down at a certain hour. So, if you wrack up a big tab, it has to be paid in cash and if you need anything in the wee hours of the morning make sure you have it in your room. One more thing concerns the main guy owner. When we arrived, little to our knowledge then, he was slammed drunk. He didn't remember checking us in so for the next few days he kept asking us if we were new. Additionally, in this state he gave us recommendations of stuff to do. I would verify everything he says. He gave us extremely wrong tuk tuk estimates for the temple visits and the long day to bengmelaya. We were a little price shocked. Also, don't Don his recommended sunset tara boat. It isn't all you can eat, and the boat doesn't even move. Seeing the floating village is something I would do on your own as seeing the level of poverty these people live in is eye opening. For a price estimate, tuk tuk to angkor wat and surrounding temples is around 10-12 at least for the shorter green loop, and to bengmalaya it's 30 usd.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I originally booked a room in the Smiling hotel on Expedia but the hotel's location was not good so I cancelled it. I went to look for a place to have dinner in town and that's how I found Rosy's. During dinner I chatted with one of the owners and she told me they had rooms too so I booked myself in. The location is great and food was even better so I was not disappointed. The river is nearby and the city centre is walking distance. There are some nice restaurants nearby and an internet cafe, laundry etc, and the owners were friendly so I cannot complain. The shower was good too, room with fan and aircon, if only the water pressure was a bit stronger. If ever I come to Siem Reap, I will defo return to Rosy;s Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Get a room with air-con or fan, otherwise it will be boiling hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanosGal1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Rooms (especially the more expensive ones) are newly decorated and excellent value for money. Food is excellent and - important in this country - safe. This is one place where you can eat salads and burgers without having an itchy stomach afterwards. Staff is very nice. I made a trip with Simon to Prasat Preah Vihear, on the back of his motor. It is a truly amazing, 12 hour return trip, which gives some unique views of not only the temple, but also countryside Cambodia. During high season, do book ahead (even if you are attempting to be a backpacker; Siem Reap fills up soon during high season).

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
Thank AnNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Brilliant guesthouse, welcoming and very friendly staff. Very clean and tidy bedrooms. You can borrow a laptop there and there is free drinking water bottles in your bedroom. Had a nice few games of pool with some other guests who were also great to talk to. Overall fantastic atmosphere, the food was brilliant, too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiancaJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This guesthouse best feature? The High Speed Internet! It works in every corner of the place.
Room is clean and they give away free drinking water.
Staff are friendly and very accommodating. The free airport pick up is also a plus. The food in their restaurant are great! It's 15 minutes from the Pub Street so at night you are assured to get good sleep.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Happy Guest House
Happy Guest House
#25 of 515 in Siem Reap
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Candles Guest House
Seven Candles Guest House
#13 of 515 in Siem Reap
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#16 of 515 in Siem Reap
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bunyong Homestay
Bunyong Homestay
#1 of 515 in Siem Reap
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Babel Guesthouse
Babel Guesthouse
#5 of 515 in Siem Reap
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosy Guest House

Address: 74 Phlum Slor Kram | (East River Road), Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 515 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $10 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautifully decorated, spotless rooms to suit all budgets and a continually developing Responsible Tourism policy emphasizing local community projects, staff development and eco-friendly alternatives Rosy Guesthouse brings you quality, comfortable accommodation with a conscience. Facilities include free, unlimited WiFi; large, relaxing balcony; big screens showing sports events and movies; pool table; bustling, fully stocked bar and restaurant with a range of delectable Asian and European foods. Located in quiet riverside setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosy Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing