We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Encore Angkor Hotel
Ranked #171 of 489 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average but ok”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The location of Encore Angkor is great, very close to Pub Street and Sivatha Rd so good places for eating and drinking are just around the corner - yet the area around the hotel is quiet at night. The terrace and lobby of the hotel are also nice but the room not so much. It was clean but small and the furniture seemed old and worn out, especially in the bathroom. Moreover, there was construction work going on on both sides of the hotel (the crocodile farm is no longer there as far as I cant tell), so it was noisy during daytime and all I saw from the window of my room was a wall of the neighboring building. If a clean place to sleep and a quick dip in the pool is all you are looking for, this is not a bad place to stay because of its location and price. Otherwise I would look elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    53
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
94
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on my first visit to Cambodia in 2008 when they had just opened. I found it to be as much as i needed in comfort and cleanliness. I stayed there again recently with my wife and found the hotel to be very comfortable. Good beds, clean and helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast was good as well. The location is excellent for a few nights stay because you can walk to restaurants, pub street and the night market with ease.

A couple of negatives. The water in the shower can get incredibly hot. And you have to be careful with the controls. You could easily scald yourself, and it's potentially dangerous.

The other is the 'no shoes' rules in their lobby. You have to leave your shoes on the steps outside the lobby. it can be a real nuisance if you are not wearing sandals. Also, my wife was not comfortable with the frequently wet floors. She felt it to be dangerous ( sometimes difficult to see) on the steps, etc. I might take off a half star for these complaints. But otherwise a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights and found it hard to leave. The place is well managed, the staff are lovely and well trained. The location is very central to Pub Street and Markets etc, but not noisy at night.

Breakfast is simple but quite adequate. The place is spotlessly clean and the beds are comfortable. There is also a nice pool.

It is also a very ethical hotel, not allowing "Sex Tourism".

I would highly recommend Encore Angkor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is located only 5 min walk from pub street and all the night markets. The staff were very friendly and accommodating of all our needs. Pool was refreshing, and breakfast each morning very convenient. Rooms were quite noisy however from construction next door and air vents, but room was clean and spacious. Would go back next time when in siem reap.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_92aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed for three nights and would highly recommend it. Great location at the top of pub street - close enough that you're right in amongst it, but far enough away from it that you won't be disturbed by the music and drunk Australians. Our room and indeed the hotel in general were very clean and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Organised our transport and guide for the temples through the hotel as well, and they made us a large breakfast to take with us (also made us a small breakfast to take with us when we checked out before the breakfast start time).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here with a group of people doing volunteer work in Cambodia. We did not have luxury accommodation but if I was traveling to Siem Reap again I would not hesitate to stay here. It is so conveniently located to markets, eateries & Pub Street. The rooms are of good size (I was in a double) and the bathrooms are good. But the one drawback - I did not have hot water in mine, although all the others in the group did. Fortunately I had a friend next door who offered hers when we came back hot, tired & dirty from our work with schools in a disadvantaged area. The staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfasts were good - pastries, eggs & fruit. I did not try the pool as we didn't have much spare time & I was advised it's cold in Winter - but worth a try in the Summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I didn't even get pass the reception - the service was so bad I couldn't bring myself to stay here.

I had just arrived from a long, tiring bus journey and was very hungry. Unfortunately it was peak period and about most other places were full. When I went to Encore, the price they quoted was twice that of the latest edition of Lonely Planet. Simple query of this got me unfriendly response. I wanted to have a room quickly so agreed to the price. Suddenly other customers interrupted us and the staff left the counter to serve them without even asking me to wait. I stood there for 10 minutes. Then the female owner insisted I confirmed how many nights I will stay. "can I stay for the first night and let you know when I decide tomorrow?" "NO, you have to tell me now, because depending on how many nights, I will give you which room". "well in that case, can you show me the rooms?" Another customer interrupted us, and again I was left to stand to wait indefinitely while those customers were served, instead of asking them to wait.

I turned to leave. Instead of apologising, they turned aggressive. The male owner looked as though he was ready to start a fight.

How on earth did they get the "Our Choice" rating on Lonely Planet??

Room Tip: look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vortexz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
5.8 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#3 of 343 in Siem Reap
127 reviews
6.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#17 of 343 in Siem Reap
3,543 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
Royal Angkor Resort & Spa
#72 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Jaya House River Park
Jaya House River Park
#1 of 343 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
5.5 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#6 of 343 in Siem Reap
1,482 reviews
5.4 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encore Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encore Angkor Hotel

Property: Encore Angkor Hotel
Address: No.1482 | Village Chay, Commune Tek Vell, Siem Reap SR1 15, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 489 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Siem Reap's exquisite countryside, 5 kilometers from Pub Street and Old Market (free pick-up and drop-off, 8am-9pm), a beautifully presented, spotlessly clean family-run hotel. Computers are available for guest's use - all rooms include free Wi-Fi Internet. Refreshing coffee, tea, and snacks are complimentary of your stay and available throughout the day. Refrigerator and electronic safe are located in every room. Tours arranged free of charge. Complimentary pick-up from Siem Reap International Airport and the local bus station for guests of Encore Angkor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Encore Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encore Angkor Guest House Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing