We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to try”

Abacus Restaurant, Garden & Bar
Ranked #72 of 869 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
“One to try”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Arrived in siem reap with no friend recommendations so had a look on a couple off sites and this place came up high on most lists. Easy to see why having now eaten there. Nice ambience in a quiet side street a short tuktuk ride from downtown. French owner who has maintained very high standards of service and quality. We had the beef and veal tenderloins that were cooked to perfection. We dine out a lot and this is definitely top 10 %.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    110
    41
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not that good”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you are looking for a great meal in Siem Reap I would recommend Wat Damnak over Abacus.

Went here with my family for Christmas dinner and got the pre fixe menu. The appetizer of fois gras was just a massive slab of fois gras-more than one person would ever want to eat and was not prepared in an interesting way. No one at our table of 10 finished theirs. The steak was ok but not great considering the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
332 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food for Decent Prices”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went to Abacus in December 2013 from the recommendation of a family friend who visited Siem Reap a while ago. He told us the French food was amazing and it certainly was! We all ordered appetizers, main courses and two desserts to share. Our waitress was friendly and served everything in a timely manner. Everything was delicious, literally no complaints! We enjoyed the goat cheese salad, duck confit and chocolate cake the most. The owner/manager was also extremely pleasant to chat with and even recommended us a place to go to for drinks after dinner. My only complaint was that because we sat outdoors, there were a lot of flying bugs that landed on our table. We also saw a rat run across the garden but that can't be helped.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow !!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We went to the "Abacus" on our first night in Siem Reap, we read the reviews and decided this was where we wanted to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary, I'm glad we did.
When we finally managed to find the restaurant, the setting is beautiful, it's set back down a narrow lane, so make sure the Tuktuk knows where they are going first !!
We chose Foie Gras and Crab Meat Salad, we went 50/50, loved both of them and couldn't say which was best, 2 totally different flavours both equally as good. Main courses were Grilled Seabass and Duck Breast again going 50/50, again both superb and totally different. We enjoyed a good bottle of wine and my husband had the Chocolate Truffle, very naughty but very nice !!! Don't weigh yourself for at least 2 days later !!!
When 1 of the owners found out it was our 25th W/A he gave us a very large Calvados, finished off the meal perfectly.
It is a little bit more expensive that the norm BUT it is a lot more than the norm.
Thank you "Abacus" for making our meal special and perfect.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great value! ”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 9, each ordered a starter and a main. From the starters we ordered foie gras, crab meat salad, goat cheese salad, scallop and shrimp in sauce and beef carpaccio, which was a very generous portion! Clearly a favorite of everyone.

As for mains, we ordered the duck confit , grilled salmon, lamb shank, grilled seabass, veal medallion, and seared tuna. Once again you could hear the oohs and aahs around the table.

A handful of us had space so we ordered 3 kinds of desserts. Chocolate truffle with vanilla ice cream was so rich yet delicious. The chocolate and vanilla mousse with coffee ice cream was light and tasted great together. I have stopped taking photos of food as my facebook wall is full of them, until now....

I couldn't resist taking photos as the dishes looked spectacular.

Each person paid 32 usd (without alcohol) and more for the drinkers as we ordered wine, armagnac and cigars. Definitely coming back next time we are in siem reap!

Helpful?
Thank Jessica819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abacus Restaurant, Garden & Bar also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Abacus Restaurant, Garden & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing