We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple”
Review of Palm Garden Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Garden Lodge
Ranked #108 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stay here for 4 days last week during my trip to Siem Reap. It's a simple place, and located not very far from the night market. There are a few convenient shops around, and also other guesthouses. The short path leading to the lodge is a dirt road, but so does a lot of roads in Siem Reap. It may be dusty during dry season. The manager is Mr Mau, he is kind and helpful at times, others are not quite fluent with English, so might be a little slow in responding to your request. Keep you expectation to guesthouses or inn, because that is what it is, simple room with bathroom, fan or air-con, simple breakfast. Bath towel will be provided, but I would advise to bring your own. Mr Mau arranged a driver for my 3 days Angkor Tour. His name is Sokunthai. He is such a sweet guy, responsible, able to converse in simple English, working two different jobs a day, but still mange to be on time to pick me up from the hotel at 4.30am for sun raise at Angkor, and he did that 3 days in a roll, pity him because the monthly pay as a driver is so low, so do give him a tip at the end of your tour. One importing item to bring when you are visiting Siem Reap, do bring a long some sweets or pencils or pens for the children selling souvenir around all the ruins.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peierl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    133
    48
    25
    32
See reviews for
18
139
84
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My experience here was nothing but fantastic, although it was more than a year ago, in August, 2010. The staff was incredibly friendly and dedicated to making my stay as pleasant and convenient as possible. There weren't many others staying there at the time so I believe they gave me the nicest room ... It's about a 10-minute walk to the main market area of town but the staff are happy to give you a lift.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NateDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I would like to highly recommend Palm Garden Lodge to all travelers coming into Cambodia.The staff are very hospitable,the service was good and most importantly the lodge was very neat and clean.Please note that the road heading to the lodge is rather patchy,but the lodge is worth staying in. A special thanks to Ms Solida her young lovely daughter, Mr Mao and all the staff for making the place really homely and warm.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jit008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed this hotel 2 nights . It’s in a great location, a very short walk to the action such as to Old Market, Night Market or Pub Street by tuk tuk for free from hotel service. The room isn't huge but it’s clean and had all the amenities I needed with colourful flower petals on the bed. Staff was very helpful in answering questions. Free internet, breakfast, and 24 hours tea and coffee. Would highly recommend this place. Welcome drink was also delicious and refreshing

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivergurl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked this place re the TA but this was the only ever dissapointment we ever have had with TA.
1. They include a free airport pickup, this worked well. One thing we wanted while in SR was to find a driver/guide who we clicked with and hire him for the entire stay. We found that the airport pickup driver did the service for free and it was expected that we take him for the stay. He was a very nice man with a family and this was his chance to earn something that week. He was not what we wanted but could not turn him away. We hired him for two days.
The hotel itself looks fine, but is a bit tired and needs a spruce up. The rooms were pleasant enough, although one of the sheets had a grubby feel and we asked for it to be changed. They changed both sheets and replaced them with two equally grubby sheets. As we had early starts to see the ruins, we concentrated on our touring. The 4 metres rough ride on a dirt track to the guesthouse became tiring, this had to be put up with at least 4 times each day sometimes more. The fridge in the room was more noisy than an old tuk tuk, it had to be turned off each night otherwise we could not sleep. The breakfast area was very tired and was a mossie heaven, breakfast was most basic. The last straw was an english woman shouting(as they do) at the manager seeking a discounted rate, he brought me into the argument stating what rate I paid. We cut our stay short and moved to another guesthouse closer to the main area. It was 1000 times better for an additional $5 per night. Just one night there made our stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I booked the rooms through their online website, under the name of ADVISOR ANGKOR VILLA, but when we arrived at the bus station Siem Reap same like the previous review it turns out we were transfered to a different place which is PALM GARDEN LODGE. This guy called Adan or Leng Dan were giving excuses that he have ended the contract the place at Advisor Angkor Villa & now he runs this new place with his brother (very suspicious excuse right ? but still we trust him instead...because Siem Reap is our final destination after Saigon & Phnom Penh, and we never have a problem with the previous accomodation).

The room is rubbish & dirty, our deluxe ordered triple bed, was a two twin bed with an extra bed made on the floor !! And the toilet inside the room, the walls is half made so if someone taking a dump..imagine the smell in the room will be !!

It is a USD 25 a night room in Siem Reap, worst the sign for this accomodation stated a USD 15 !! Came up front with Adan, he couldn't said a words and offered us discount and apologize only...what kind a business this guys are running !!!

PS : breakfast also worst, as already said in the review before and be carefull of renting tuk-tuk from them. I took the liberty of checking Palm Garden Lodge website now, said tuk-tuk for Angkor Tour only USD 12/15, but he charge us USD 20 (for use only to see the Angkor Wat, Bayon, Ta Prohm). The strange thing was I manage to stay in touch with him even 2 days before arrival in Siem Reap related with pick-up service but he never mentioned about this changes with the Advisor Angkor Villa into Palm Garden Lodge).

The scam of "sister hotel" or "phonny website" BOOK WISELY !! For this one...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theolydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We chose this hotel only because of the nice look on the internet and all the fantastic comments on TripAdvisor.com - also the reason that we now make a comment.
Checking in on the 13. September 2011 we were met with a "sorry, this probably look different than on the internet. But we just moved to a new location". So this hotel is with out any nature around, the building is a one flour candy colored box and the rooms is containing nothing else but a bed. There is still a television, fridge (very dirty), air condition. Its offered WiFi and hot water but only if the switch is not turned off which happened a bit to much for us. Laundry changed price over night and in general we really did not like what we got. We checked out after one night despite having booked 4. The hotel is not bad, the people working there is nice and polite, but you don't get a 3 star hotel and not what you expect after looking at the pictures and reviews on the internet!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sannekoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angkorsolida, Owner at Palm Garden Lodge, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Dear sannekoppe,

Thank you for your feedback. We’re very sorry on behalf of the whole team, if any part of your stay with us disappointed you. From your other feedbacks you seem to have been unlucky on your travels and we sincerely hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels and that you are accompanied by good luck everywhere you go.

We checked every part of your feedback with the team and only as a means of reaching a better understanding I wanted to give you more information in brief. We say sorry again, because our, computer and English are very poor, and we need our friend come and help. So it’s late to change location and photos on internet. All of our rooms, now we’ll check and clean it every day after we get your feedback, and we make garden around as well.

About our hotel, we never wish to 3 stars hotel, but all of customers. When they stayed with us, they provide us about this rating. For us, we just wish only one star, it’s enough.

However We need to say thank you for staying one night with us and your feedback.

Best regards,
Lim Solida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sala Lodges
Sala Lodges
#20 of 354 in Siem Reap
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adan World
Adan World
#25 of 279 in Siem Reap
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Advisor Angkor Villa
Advisor Angkor Villa
#117 of 279 in Siem Reap
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bou Savy Guest House
Bou Savy Guest House
#20 of 493 in Siem Reap
1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiri Villa Siem Reap
Kiri Villa Siem Reap
#174 of 493 in Siem Reap
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Lodge

Property: Palm Garden Lodge
Address: La Pax Hotel Street, No.132, St. Tepvong | Next to Phsar Gné,Ta Poul Village, Svaydan kum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 279 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palm Garden Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Garden Lodge & Siem Reap Tours is tropical garden in downtown of Siem Reap with Khmer style furniture, just a simple and peaceful place for your holiday. Closed to Market, Restaurant and Pub Street Area. 10 minutes to Central Market, 15 minutes walking to Old Market, Pub Street, Night Market, Siem Reap River and Artisan D' Angkor. You will enjoy staying in Our Lodge! Free WiFi & Internet 24 Hours Free Pick up Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee 24 Hours Free Picnic Box (Minimum 2 Nights Stay). Best regards, Leng Dein ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing