We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”
Review of Babel Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Babel Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a great place to stay in Siem Reap! These guys are big on respnsible tourism (Norwegian owners are very educated on the topic, they have a fund to provide education for their employees, they support a local orphanage etc etc - when you get to Cambodia, you'll see how important it is to contribute!) but they also have big, clean rooms, friendly staff, a shady garden/patio and a fantastic atmosphere. Traveling alone, this was a great place to meet people, and I could easily hang out all evening by the bar. And the bar/restaurant has good, cheap food too! It's a 15 minute walk to Siem Reap center, but it's on a quiet side street which means you get a good night's sleep before getting up early to see the temples. I was concerned about other reviews on Tripadvisor complaining about noise, but this was absolutely not the case. The bar is very chilled and doesnt play loud music, and music seemed to stop around 11. At USD 20, you get hotel quality, and Babel has a mixed crowd of both young and older - again contributing to the great atmosphere. I felt very safe here and well taken care of!
Babel also has their own tuk tuk drivers, and I used one of them for various tours every day I was there (I stayed 5 nights). I could easily have stayed longer, and hope to come back sometime in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hildeanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babelsiemreap, Owner at Babel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! This gives us a lot of motivation to continue with the work we do! Nice to see that it worked, the meeting we had with the students after reading the former reviews about noice. The students are now paying a lot of attention to other guests, and the music in the bar is turned down in reasonable time. We also hope you will come back again in the future. Welcome anytime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 692 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family only stayed here for a few nights in August, but they were really amazing. We had booked through their website, but it bugged out somewhere along the line and our booking wasn't confirmed. They could have just turned us away, but they put us up at the guest house nextdoor, which was more expensive, and paid the difference for us. They also let us use one of their tuk-tuks for our temple visits. When we did eventually move there for our last few nights, our room was just as lovely as the one we'd been staying in nextdoor, and the service was brilliant. The staff there are really friendly, lovely bunch of people, and there's a lovely little cat that you'll sometimes find sleeping outside. Really made our stay there feel cosy and comfortable, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babelsiemreap, Owner at Babel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We were at the moment you were booking changing our webpage, and we had some problems with the booking system. We are still working on it, but finally now the booking system on our webpage is working again. Of course we are paying the difference for you to stay with our neighbours, the mistake was on us. We are very glad you liked our room as much as you liked the one next door! Thanx! And thank you for kind words about the staff and the service. This is our biggest pride :) And we are happy you also liked our cat, Bella :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

people are so friendly and I really enjoyed my stay. Rooms are big and very clean. The outside bar and chilling area is also sweet. Recommend strongly this place :)
Don`t know why some are complaining about Norwegian girls, Norwegian girls are the best girls in the world:)
In conclusion: Great atmosphere, Great Value, Great Staff, Recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markusnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babelsiemreap, Owner at Babel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for all the kind words! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice guesthouse in Siem Reap.
Not exactly in the centre but actually preferred to stay in this area, not very far anyway, maybe 10/15 min walking to Pub St.
Rooms are big and clean, all the guesthouse is very clean. Outside bar is cool place to chill out, food is also very good!
Staff is great, very friendly and smily all the time, all of them are always very helpful and warm, same for tuk tuk drivers. I was really surprised every people of the staff was going to work every day always happy!
Really enjoyed our stay here, cosy atmosphere.
There is a swimming pool next door, 3 dollars a day and they give you towels, the pool is small but very nice and clean, a plus after a hot day visiting temples!!!!!!!!
The only reason I can't give an excellent is that sometimes music is loud at night and people partying at the bar: Babel often has exchange students from Norway, who of course are in the party mood.... it was fine for us as we like meeting people and we enjoyed having drinks with them at the bar every night; plus we would be able to sleep no matter how loud music is...
but I can see this could be a issue... if you can't handle noise at night, maybe should ask for a room that doesnt face the bar.
Suggestion for the owners: maybe trying to keep music volume not vey high that late as people going to Siem Reap to see Angkor wake up early in the morning.
But: best place we stayed in Cambodia, we absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babelsiemreap, Owner at Babel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you soo much for all the kind words about the staff and the Tuk Tuk drivers. We are very proud of the whole Cambodian team at Babel. We have had two other reviews about noise from the group of Norwegian students living at Babel at the moment. We take this very seriously, and had a meeting with all the Norwegian students about this matter just after we reading the reviews.

We listen to your suggestion, and now we turn down the music after ten in the evening.

Thanks to these review from you about this noise, the students now much more quiet and pay attention to other guests. And the volume in the bar is turned down.

Again, thanx!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice guesthouse. The rooms are big, simple and very clean. Comfy bed. Good aircon. Lovely staff that fix everything for you. It's a nice place to meet other travellers.
I would have given a great review because this guesthouse is friendly, cosy and very clean, but the 20 Norwegian girls(students) that stays there at the moment made my stay pretty bad. I slept maybe 3 hours during my 3 nights there...it was all party-party EVERY NIGHT ALL NIGHT LONG and they were yelling and running in the corridors(as the other reviewer also commented). 5am some of them even knocked on every doors(mine included) because they couldn't remember which room they stayed in... All the tables in the bar/restaurant were constantly occupied.
I would recomend this guesthouse, but not for the upcoming months as long the Norwegian students are there.
Free wifi, slow but who cares...you're in Cambodia.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank homelessdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babelsiemreap, Owner at Babel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback, it was really helpful. We take this very seriously, and had a meeting with all the Norwegian students about this matter just after we red the review. You were really unlucky though, as your stay was just before the school started for the students. It was their first week in Cambodia, so they were still in a "holiday-mode" when you were here. Now they go to school every day, learing about Responsible Tourism, so they do not party like they did that first week you were here.

Thanks to you we will now make sure this will not happen next time we get a new group of students here. And thanks to you the students is now much more quiet and they pay attention to other guests.

We also changed the Internet company since you were here, and its working much better now.

Again, thanx!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Room was ok (with a comfortable bed) but too expensive (25 $ a night) regarding the standing. Nice bar/restaurant and friendly staff but don't expect to sleep on a Friday night, we could hear till 6am the drunk Norwegian girls who live there half of the year yelling and running in the corridors, which was quite annoying. ..

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank tonio712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babelsiemreap, Owner at Babel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We take this very seriously, and had a meeting with all the Norwegian students about this matter just after we red the review. You were really unlucky though, as your stay was just before the school started for the students. It was their first week in Cambodia, so they were still in a "holiday-mode" when you were here. Now they go to school every day, learing about Responsible Tourism, so they do not party like they did that first week you were here.

Thanks to you, and another review like this, we will now make sure this will not happen next time we get a new group of students here. And thanks to you the students is now much more quiet and they pay attention to other guests.

Again, thanx!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is the best guesthouse I have ever been. Rooms are big with comfortable bed and very clean private bathroom. Staff are really friendly and very welcoming people. They make you feel like home with a personal touch. We will definitely come back soon to have again an amazing holidays here. It is 100% recommendable!!! ;)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javi865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babelsiemreap, Owner at Babel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

What an amazing review!! Thank you so much!! Welcome back anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Riversoul Residence
Riversoul Residence
#5 of 361 in Siem Reap
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
0.3 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#10 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viroth's Hotel
Viroth's Hotel
#7 of 361 in Siem Reap
749 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rose Apple Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babel Guesthouse

Address: 738 Wat Bo Road | Salakamroeuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $19 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Babel Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Babel Guesthouse is an intimate guesthouse surrounded by a tropical garden with an outside bar & restaurant area, serving a combination of local and western style dishes. We offer you beautifully designed, comfortable spacious and clean rooms. All the rooms are air-conditioned with cable TV and bathrooms with hot water showers and bathtubs in most of the rooms. Norwegian owned and managed, located in the charming Wat-Bo area of Siem Reap, only 15 minutes away from the majestic temples of Angkor Wat. The wonderful staff at Babel Guesthouse possess great local knowledge that we are more than happy to share with you to make your stay in Siem Reap memorable. Our local drivers and guides have worked for Babel Guesthouse for many years, and we can assure you they will be there for you, wherever you would like to go and whatever you would like to do during your stay at Babel. Babel Guesthouse is run with an active focus on Responsible Tourism. We constantly seek to provide benefits from the tourism industry to the local community in Siem Reap, and we are doing our best to cause as little damage as possible to the area in which we operate. We only hire local staff, drivers and guides. We sponsor all our staff and some of our Tuk Tuk drivers with higher education. They all receive plenty of training, good working conditions, fair salaries and flexible working hours to enable the staff to continue their education. We buy our food for the restaurant at the local market, and we support good projects in town that actively focus on Responsible Tourism. We at Babel Guesthouse are looking forward to give you memories for life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Babel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babel Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing