We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cultural ways”
Review of Angkor Silk Farm

Angkor Silk Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #18 of 180 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Angkor Silk Farm belongs to Artisans Angkor, a social-business enterprise aiming at reviving Khmer cultural heritage while giving job opportunities to young Cambodians living in rural areas.Free guided tours through the eight hectare farm give a unique insight into the different stages involved in silk production, from the mulberry tree orchards, silkworm breeding, the spinning mills and the dying and weaving processes in the very traditional way. A shop is there for visitors as well. Tours are in English, French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean,Japanese or Khmer.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful cultural ways”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Here you will see how the process is done from the farm to the end product which we all buy, from clothing to bedding .. a must do whilst in Siem Reap

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BugzyOverbsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    248
    55
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Informational and Well-done”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

If you hired a tuk-tuk for the day, consider coming to this place after temple hopping. Typically, tuk-tuks will try to get you to go to the floating village which has poor reviews on trip advisor. Get them to come here instead.

You will get to see how silk is being made, from the start to finish. The tour is very informational and is about 40 minutes. Best of all, it is free! You can buy silk products at the end, although they are really expensive.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Wei Jie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant break if you're 'templed out'...”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Used our 'regular' tuk tuk guy (Mr Meak - say hi if you use him). Cost ten bucks for return trip from hotel. There is no cost to be shown around, but I think you're expected to give the guide a tip. It was interesting to see how the silk was made right from the eggs on the mulberry leaves through to weaving the silk. Couldn't believe you could get 40m of silk from one cocoon...

Souvenir shop at the end was a little expensive for what we'd been used to in the markets but it all looked high quality. Not sure if any money spent goes to the girls spinning and weaving. Would have been better if we could have donated something that could have been shared rather than the guide getting the few dollars for what was only 20 - 25 minute tour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting, informative, great guide”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I had read about the silk farm before going to Cambodia and was actually looking forward to visiting as much as seeing Angkor. The silk farm is situated about 15km out of the town and is run by Artisans d'Angkor. They run a free shuttle bus from the centre in Siem Reap directly to the farm. We caught it as we were only staying round the corner. It leaves twice daily at 9.30am and 1ish. We were lucky, there were only three of us on the morning trip. Our guide was excellent and very informative, answering our many questions, he was with us for over an hour and didn't expect a tip. The centre is well laid out and explains the whole process from mulberry to scarf very clearly. I'm a textile designer by profession, so was extremely interested and wrote a detailed account with photos in my travel diary, if you want to know or see more.

http://sweetmidgetgem.com/the-magic-of-the-mulberry/

There is also a huge shop of things made on site (quite pricey) and a cafe outside to buy ice-creams, coffees etc. A very nice relaxing morning , worth doing if you want to learn about a different aspect of Cambodian culture. The shuttle bus drops you back in the centre around 12ish. I wasn't disappointed. Even if your not interested in making silk, the drive through the countryside is worth the journey alone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very well done visit”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

A visit to the silk farm is a great way to spend a spare half day in Siem Reap between visiting the temples. You see and learn about each step of the silk production which is really interesting. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable about the process and the organisation. The setting is nice and the visit takes you outside several times- it was raining so we were provided with umbrellas. I found this a really impressive example of how social business can work. The products available in the shop at the end (and also in town and elsewhere) are really beautiful and excellent quality. There is a free shuttle bus from Artisans d'Angkor in town twice a day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Silk Farm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Silk Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing