We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So informative!”
Review of Angkor Silk Farm

Angkor Silk Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Private Tour: Siem Reap City Tour Full Day
Ranked #19 of 181 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Angkor Silk Farm belongs to Artisans Angkor, a social-business enterprise aiming at reviving Khmer cultural heritage while giving job opportunities to young Cambodians living in rural areas.Free guided tours through the eight hectare farm give a unique insight into the different stages involved in silk production, from the mulberry tree orchards, silkworm breeding, the spinning mills and the dying and weaving processes in the very traditional way. A shop is there for visitors as well. Tours are in English, French, Spanish, Chinese, Korean,Japanese or Khmer.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So informative!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I will never underestimate the amount of time and effort it takes to make anything with handwoven silk. This was a really nice tour that was completely free. We tipped our tour guide because he was really nice, but that was at our discretion. We started in the handicrafts shop and then took the free tour to the silk farm after our tour of the handicrafts workshop. It was a nice thing to do on one of our less hectic days.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you for your review and for visiting the Silk Farm! It is good to read that you enjoyed the tour and we hope it was a relaxing and informative break during your time in Siem Reap.

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    261
    58
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have visited Siem Reap many times but had never been to this place.
We were told it was free and if any guide asks for a tip or a donation do not pay. We had a lovely guide called Kry who was knowledgable and spoke well and was very friendly.
The whole tour was interesting and it made me appreciate the whole process and the time involved to make silk products.
The products in the shop were very expensive but there was no pressure to buy.
A good place to visit and the drive our is always enjoyable in a tuk tuk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank frizzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for visiting the Silk Farm and for taking the time to give your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your tour and that your guide was knowledgeable. As you said, tipping our guides is not mandatory as they receive a fixed salary from Artisans Angkor. We hope to see you again in our workshops next time you will be in Siem Reap!

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We decided to go here on our tuk tuk after a trip to all the temples.

This educational tour doesnt take too long but is fascinating as you can see how silk is made from the very beginning with the caterpillars right to the end product. You wouldnt believe all the processes that you will see. The amount of work that is involved in creating a handmade silk scarf is incredible and its fascinating to see the women making the scarfs - thread by thread.

The tour is free, you only need to give a tip to the guide if you want to. Definitely recommend it if you have some spare time. There is a gift shop with many products to buy and also a nice outdoor space where you can sit down and have an ice cream.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your review! It is good to read that you were impressed by the silk process at our Silk Farm.

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An education in the Silk process, and some nice stuff in the shop”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Looking to kill 2 hours, go see the Silk farm. You can see the process from caterpillar to end products. Some very nice merchandise in the shop at really good prices. We loaded up on Christmas gifts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Public Relations Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your feedback and for visiting the Silk Farm. We are glad to see that you already purchased your Christmas gifts there!

All the best,
Artisans Angkor's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

It took around 30 minutes from our hotel to reach the silk farm, it opens from 8 AM till 5 PM and there's a bus transfer from the Artisan Angkor main showroom at 9.30 AM and 1.30 PM. The first thing we saw as we reach there is the mulberry garden, the mulberry leafs are the food for the silk worm.

We were greeted right away by the guide provided by the silk farm, they gave us a tour starting from information building.

Then to the place where they grew the silk worm from eggs to larva to little worms until it becomes large enough to build it's cocoon. Since the worm breeding is in a house of stilts, the below stilts are soaked in a bit of water to avoid ants to come in and attack the worms.

Then we were brought to the place where they collect the thread from the cocoon, the 1st layer is the thread to make raw silk and the 2nd layer is the thread to make silk, both has different texture. All of the product produced here is fully utilized : cocoon for the silk thread, silk worm to be consumed (local delicacy) mulberry leafs for the silk worm food and mulberry to be consumed by human. After dying the thread with natural coloring, they spin the thread manually or with a machine, then they combine from lots of spools of thread in same color to make it even layering by finely combing it with semi machine since this process still needs to be done by man (or woman to be exact).

Afterwards we were brought to another chamber where they will process the even thread with motif by covering with plastics then dying the thread again and repeat the process until it follows the design from the designer, then the threads are spin again manually.
Then only after this process can the weaving start, it is said that the weaving is using the 2 on top and 2 below technique. It's really beautiful and this trip made me appreciate silk much more, to make one fabric can take 3-6 months for making starting from the egg stage depending on the level of difficulty of the making.

We were brought to their exhibition room which has collections of old traditional equipments to make silk, and there are examples of their traditional clothes made of silk as well. At the exit of the museum our guide informed that this is the end of our tour, the guide is free of charge by the company, they gave a very good tour and very patient in answering our questions.

I recommend to go to this place, especially if you are templed-out and it's worth seeing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank NiaHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtisansAngkor, Manager at Angkor Silk Farm, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear visitor,

Thank you very much for visiting us.
It's wonderful to see how informative you've found the guided tour!
You know everything about how to make silk now !

Thanks again,
Cheers!

Artisans Angkor's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Silk Farm also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Angkor Silk Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing