We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pre Rup

Pre Rup
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Private Temples and Lake Explorer from Siem Reap
Ranked #27 of 179 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Breathtaking temple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

One of my favorites in Cambodia, the place is beautiful. I highly recommend to reach the top of the temple. It is so magical up there. The hike is all worth it. Wear comfy shoes or scandals

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ces168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    401
    125
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
180 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Sharp climb.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went to watch the sunset, which sadly, when we visited, was shrouded in cloud. Got very crowded as sunset approached. Amazing 10th century temple, but one for the mountain goat; do not visit if you can't cope with steps over a foot high and a gradient of 70 degrees. Brilliant view from the top though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Very Steep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A small but good temple to visit, but the stairs are very steep to get to the top. Not for the very unfit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pre Rup - One of my Favorite Temples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hiking up this temple surely has reignited my fear of heights. As you go up and on the highest temple, the steps are quite steep and going down the steep steps will make your imagination run wild. It certainly added a rush of adrenaline coupled with reverence to the hands and mind who built such a magnificent structure!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous-Itchy-Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Get there early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

One of our favourite temples. Arrived there early - about 8am on the way to the landmine museum and Banteay Srei. We were the only people there and had the entire temple to ourselves. Enjoyed climbing up and down the steep narrow steps without any of the touristy railing being added in - sense of adventure! Definately worth an early visit - very different from Angkor and Bayon.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HolidayKat_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pre Rup also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Pre Rup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing