We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kbal Spean

Kbal Spean
Angkor | Kulen Hills, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$370*
and up
3-Day Siem Reap Tour: Angkor Wat, Ta Prohm, Bayon...
Ranked #27 of 167 things to do in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 11th-century relief carvings line the stream beds along this series of waterfalls.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a very different site to the main temples of Angkor. It's not a temple at all, but rather a carved, sacred river bed. It's a long way from Siem Reap, at least one and a half hours by tuk-tuk, but worth the drive. It inspired hushed awe like nowhere else we visited in our stay.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank harriscarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Scramble rather than a walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We based this as the centre of a day trip calling at a couple of temples including Banteay Srei and calling at the landmine museum on the way back. We did it by tuk tuk which was good as you get to see the countryside but probably as far as you'd want to do by tuk tuk. It cost us $25 for the day but we didn't try and get it for less as we were happy with our driver who was safe and reliable.

Glad we did it and enjoyed it but iit s a scramble up and down to the waterfall in places so you need to be prepared for some effort. It was very hot when we did it and you need plenty of water as you will sweat. You'll cool off in the tuk tuk after. The Angkor Wat ticket includes Kabal Spean and Banteay Srei so no extra charges. Plenty of places to eat by the tuk tuk park. We were about 2 hours getting up and back down. Worth doing with the other stops and different to the temples

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtotuscany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“take lots of water, great waterfall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

BRING A BATHING SUIT - Spent a week in Siem Reap and had a lot of time, we decided to do this and Banty Srei in one day and with tuk tuk which cost us $16 for the day, was well worth it, the waterfall was very refreshing the hike is actually 1500m, The drive through is excellent as well, you pass through many villages. A note about the food stalls if you decide to eat here, they all range in prices and some are significantly cheaper than others, we ate at the third from the left.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Canadians_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A bit of a walk so do it earlier in the day when it is cooler. In some places you need to scramble up rocks but it is not an excessively hard walk. The carvings a spectacular and a good guide made sense of it all.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbugsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
129 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Get away from the temples and enjoy a climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had enough of the crowds in Siem Reap and the Angkor temples. A short ride north (about an hour by tuk-tuk hired at $30 for the day or you can hire a car) and you get to see something of the countryside before you arrive and be cooled by the breeze. The climb is a bit steep at times so not for those who struggle to climb stairs - almost all under shade amid a lovely forest. Sure you sweat but that's part of the visit. The carvings themselves are not that exciting (to me) and they are child friendly in spite of many being fertility related. There is a waterfall that can be used for cooling off at the top. At the bottom are the usual curio and drink stalls. There is a wildlife rescue center and ecovillage as well (closed on Sunday so can't tell you if it is worth a visit). Where the track from the parking rejoins the main road is a restaurant you can lunch at - our driver suggested it and it was some of the best food we had during our weekend visit to Siem Reap and surroundings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Saydelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kbal Spean also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Kbal Spean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing