We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Temple Shopping Mall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banteay Kdei

Banteay Kdei
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.00*
and up
Tour of Banteay Kdei and Ta Prohm Including Khmer Massage and Cultural Dinner...
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The Temple Shopping Mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Banteay Kdei is an attractive partial ruin close to Ta Prohm and near to the Sras Srang Reservoir. With 4 faced gateways, a moat and a low level collection of charming galleries; Its a place worth visiting, At the Eastern Gopura there is a very friendly nun who takes offerings to the Buddha and wishes you "good luck and long life" The Temple has a spectacular buttressed spong tree which is one of my favorites photographically
In recent years vendors have encroached within the temple which has detracted from the atmosphere. I'd still recommend it as it is one of the minor jewels in the jungle.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    178
    38
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A ruin away from the crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Banteay Kdei right after Ta Prohm and it was a welcome relief to see ruins where you could linger and not have to find solace from the noisy tour groups. Banteay Kdei was apparently another monastery but unlike Ta Prohm this temple has not succumbed into nature's embrace. It was hauntingly quiet as we delved deeper into the ruins & despite the lack of obvious restoration efforts details and some (yes, just some) of the structures remain well-preserved. I understand from research that Banteay Kdei was made with inferior materials & construction technique that explains the deteriorated state it's at today-- nevertheless if you're searching for a more solemn temple scene, this may be that one.

This temple is right next to Ta Prohm and with the thin crowd you should be in & out well within an hour. Have your Angkor pass.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvjae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Another gorgeous temple - don't miss Kdei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This magnifcient temple is remotely similar to Ta Prohm. It is a large temple with lots of space to explore. There were not a lot of tourists here in the early afternoon. I enjoyed the nature setting of this temple and the tall, stately white trees. This temple will take 1-2 hours to explore. Enjoy.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank odennyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Off the tourist radar...but worth a look.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This temple has the same feel as "Ta Prohm" architecturally but with far far less tourists. As a result I found it a different experience with time for reflection on this magnificent complex. We visited in the late afternoon and with the jungle encroaching and the sounds that come from it at "Dusk" I found it a beautiful experience. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank roamingmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Impressive because of its size”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is definitely not the most beautiful temple in Angkor. But because of its size you should have visited it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banteay Kdei also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Banteay Kdei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing