We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, but Manage Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #31 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This is an excellent hotel; the level of service is over the top in every respect: reception, restaurant, spa, maid service, etc. The service in the restaurant stands out in particular, especially when you compare it to other restaurants that we dined at in town, which were not bad, but just not up to the standard here; Ms. Kimloe runs a very tight ship, but service is attentive, not intrusive. The food is excellent and a great value to boot; most entrees are in the USD 5.00 range. Another tremendous value is the spa; a 60-minute massage for only USD 10.00 almost makes you feel guilty, but a generous tip to the girls will assuage any guilty feelings.
All that being said, I wished I could have given the hotel a max score, but the location leaves a lot to be desired, IMHO. Our expectations were high given that we were checking into the number one ranked hotel (TripAdvisor) in Siem Reap, but when the driver pulled up to the entrance on the dusty service road and we took a look around at our surroundings, we started having misgivings. The hotel entrance is sandwiched between a Tuk-Tuk garage on the left and a motor-bike repair shop (?) on the right; definitely a "mixed-use" neighborhood (see pictures). Once we checked in, though, we started feeling more comfortable about our choice, given the warm welcome and wonderful hospitality. In the final analysis, though, I would just say that it is really a shame that this hotel couldn't be picked up and transplanted to the old French Quarter in town; it would be a perfect fit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,077)
There are newer reviews for Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2010

I concur with all of the other positive feedback about this hotel!

From the beginning, the email booking process was friendly and professional and the delightful Pavillon D'Orient experience started when we were greeted at the airport (and again at the hotel's reception desk) with cold towels! Although the hotel is a little out of town, as others have said, it's only a short but fascinating ride by complimentary hotel tuk-tuk (or car) away. We used the same tuk-tuk & driver for all our touring, even going all the way out to Banteay Srei. Our driver was courteous and good-humoured. If you have time, the tuk tuk is the way to go for a really authentic Cambodian experience.

It's really hard to fault this hotel. We liked the fact it was small and boutiquey. The rooms and fittings are really kooky and unusual but with all the comforts of home ie fridge, in-room safe and satellite TV (including the Australia Channel!). I did find the bed and pillows a little hard for my liking and the shower tended to leak all over the bathroom floor (it's an open design) but the room was spacious and the little touches like the nightly bedtime story left on the bed were delightful.

The hotel pool was divine, and the gardens were very lush and well maintained. We were so tired after touring all day we couldn't be bothered going into town to eat, so enjoyed two dinners (and breakfasts) at the hotel. All our meals and drinks were very acceptable and served by the smiling and gracious Cambodian staff. The service generally throughout the hotel was exemplary and the manager, Sebastien, made a point of introducing himself and getting to know all the guests.

We both enjoyed massages in the delightful little 'spa' complex and the free & fast internet was very welcome. We were asked to leave our room before check-out time to accommodate arriving guests (!), but we were given the use of another one, and all our luggage was safely stowed there until we returned to check-out.

To sum up, this hotel deserves its high ranking on Trip Advisor. Any small complaints anyone could have are more than made up for by the delightful service of the hotel staff who are so proud of their hotel and their gentle Cambodian culture.

PS: My tip for 'doing' Siem Reap: don't try to see it all in one day! We did and really regretted it. To do it properly and not be totally templed out by the time you get to Angkor Wat late in the afternoon, spread the temples over at least two days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyDi2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

We were just stayed at the Pavillon two weeks ago (7 - 10 Feb) and it really was wonderful. There may be better hotels in Siem Reap and I am sure there are worse, but the Pavillon just seemed to get everything right.

Rooms spotlessly clean, good breakfast, friendly staff, and of course the tuk-tuk and driver. That really made our stay and our driver (So-Kohm) was excellent and really helped us structure our daily schedule to get us to see the sites we wanted and get back to enjoy the hotel. The only potential downside is the location outside town, but this proved no obstacle with our driver always ready to go when we were. Really a wonderful place that greatly enhanced our terrific visit to the Angkor Wat temples!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

I entirely agree with the comments of the other reviewers - an excellent experience in every way. Even when our air/con failed they repaired it asap and rewarded us with a massage each and wine. The staff genuinely cared about our welfare. I only wish we had used the hotel's tuk-tuk service for free........
We chose the Pavilion D'Orient because we prefer small local hotels of character over large international hotels. But go soon. Siem Reap is in the grip of a development frenzy for tourists.
Clifford Gould, Glastonbury, England. 5 day visit in Feb 2010.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Based on the reviews we found here on TripAdvisor, we spent four nights at the Pavillon d'Orient hotel during our stay in Siem Reap in mid-February and couldn't have been happier. Our driver picked us up at the airport as scheduled and we were met on arrival at the hotel with a refreshing cold towel and happy smile (as mentioned in other reviews, don't let the "neighborhood" alarm you). Our room was comfortable and nicely decorated. The pool was a refreshing treat after temple-hopping each day. The breakfasts and lunch we ate at the hotel were delicious (particularly the yogurt we were served each morning). The highlight of our stay had to be the staff; friendly, attentive, gracious and helpful.

It's a great place to stay while visiting Angkor Watt.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The Pavillon d'Orient is a great hotel. It takes all the stress out of visiting Angkor Wat and the temples. There was an easy pick up from the airport, and we arrived early. As our room was not yet ready they organised another room where we could shower and rest. We were introduced to our tuk-tuk driver and the hotel provided money changing facilities as well as directing us to the local money changer and USD dispensing ATMs.

We had emailed Sebastien before hand and he had sorted out tickets to the Apsara Cultural show, we also hired a guide through the hotel and our tuk-tuk driver took us out to the Tonle Sap lake. The staff were very friendly with lots of ideas regarding what to see and what to do.

The rooms are of a reasonable size and were quite comfortable. The shower did result in the entire bathroom floor getting soaked though, which could be slightly dangerous. The pool was fantastic after a hot day treking around the temples, and whilst not huge it was large enough to swim laps in and was never packed. Food in Cambodia is very simple and the hotel breakfast was adequate if not particulary exciting. I had a Khmer style massage and found it quite relaxing (I fell asleep, so it must have been good).

Whilst the hotel is probably a little expensive for Siem Reap I think it is worth it for the service provided. Everything is easy with Sebastien and his team and they make a stay here very special indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaineyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

From the early contacts by email to arrange the booking, to organise Angkor guides and to make airport transfers, the manager Sebastien went out of his way to help. These first impressions were exactly right and all the staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful (but perhaps that is the Cambodian way since the whole 4 day visit to Siem Reap was more of the same). The rooms were all well decorated and very clean - the WiFi even worked in our room. The small pool was a great place to chill out after touring the temples. Various comments have been made about the location being away from the tourist centre. This was not a problem for us. The complimentary Tuk-Tuks were always available even beyond the stated 10pm. Being able to say 'thanks, we have our own tuk tuk" had a great ring to it and the 10 min journey to the Pub Street area always threw out new sights - a BBQ tuk Tuk with fire alight and smoke from its chimney going at 20 mph was a sight never to forget. We are delighted that we chose this hotel, it gave us a greater sense of being in Cambodia than one of the usual big hotel chains could ever have done. The tuk Tuks provided sounds, smells and sights that a taxi would never have done. Sebastien was right to recommend them. We didn't eat dinner so can't comment on that - Well done Pavillon d'Orient

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icylanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#29 of 361 in Siem Reap
870 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#20 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,674 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#48 of 361 in Siem Reap
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
2.3 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#40 of 361 in Siem Reap
493 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 361 in Siem Reap
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 , after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#27 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $50 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing