We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #32 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We had a great stay. The rooms are very nice and quiet and the grounds are great. The front desk staff were the best on our whole trip, always willing to help. It was fun to have our own tuk tuk driver who would drop us off and pick us up. Lunch was pretty good at the restaurant. You can choose a few made to order items for breakfast such as eggs and bacon as well as the Cambian rice soup for breakfast which was excellent. Since the hotel is in a local area which is not the greatest we did smell a few garbage type smells at the pool one day when it was 35 degrees as well as loud music from somewhere a few mornings but as long as you had the air-conditioning on you could not hear it in the room, only on the balcony. The pool water is fairly warm and good for kids to go swimming. I would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMJCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our three-night stay at Pavillon d’Orient was exceptional. Before you first enter the property, you wonder, “Where in the world are we?” Suffice it to say that the surrounding area is not exactly a tourist’s paradise but step through the hotel's entrance and the “Oh wow!” factor begins. (See my attached photo.)

The beautiful grounds, the warm smiles, the service, the design, the amenities, the swimming pool, the rooms – everything is what you dream about. You won’t be disappointed unless you really like to wander around the neighborhood on your own.

Other reviewers have commented on the mosquitoes in the common areas (everything is open air) but I’m sure it would have been worse without the many geckos helping out. Also the Internet wireless signal doesn’t reach all the rooms consistently but in the reception and dining areas it worked flawlessly. And yes, sometimes the bathroom floor got wet because there’s no shower curtain. However it was cleaned up immediately and many towels and bath mats are provided; no problem whatsoever.

My two most vivid memories are the lush grounds and the funny, friendly way that Mr. Dany and Ms. Phally (receptionists) would tease each other every evening. They seem to love their jobs and love the guests; it was great to talk with them after a long, hot day and night of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joel1950dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

If you want a beautiful oasis of a hotel to return to after a busy day of temple visiting - this is the place for you. A wonderful boutique hotel, Sebastian Ung the manager has to take a lot of the credit for managing this hotel so well. During our stay we had no complaints. The staff were excellent. The service offered by the hotel re tuk tuks and taxis was superb and because of this we saw much more than we thought we would. All the main temples, sunset at Phnom Bakheng and more in only two days. There was a really kind tuk tuk driver from the hotel who left us in town for dinner and then picked us up after the NYE celebrations! Siem Reap is a fantastic town and we wish we had longer to explore the town. The only minus point is the distance from town, but the tuk tuk compensates for this. On a hot day, there is nothing better than returning to the Pavilion D'Orient.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

This hotel is one of the best value for money places I have ever encountered. There is absolute nothing I can complain about, but so many details that are well thought about and smoothly organized,

But most important of all is the quality of tour guides. They are very knowledgeable, have very good command of English (pronounciation is excellent) and are very kind persons. As our first guide fall ill, I just can praise the hotels ability to organize an equally good qualified guide within an hour.
Also the tuk-tuk driver has been extremly careful, something not to often seen in South East Asia.

The hotel itself as mentioned so often before is around 10 minutes by tuk-tuk from the center i.e. for most probably Pub Street, but as Angkor is the real destination I think even the location is not worth complaining about as it is quiet and relaxed.

Service is good, breakfast is good and has a touch of France i.e. it is rather small and basic but still good. The restaurant for dinner is good and has a nice atmosphere.
The rooms are nice and spacious with a colonial touch. Whenever possible I would ask for a room on the first floor for the unobsturcted view. Bathroom even has shower and bath tube separated.

The pool is fine for swimming and good to relax after a long day in Angkor. They even have cosy sunbeds.

Last but not least Internet is for free and fast.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rouwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

this is a super small boutique hotel in a great location between the bustle of the city and the major temple attractions. the rooms and grounds are very welcoming after a day's sightseeing but the staff are the best part - they are forever smiling and attend to your every need and are a real credit to their country. the best part is you get your own tuk-tuk and driver (ask for chamrong - he was excellent) during your stay - they will take you anywhere and meet you later with a smile, a cool towel and the promise of a refreshing drive back to the great little oasis of a hotel. we cannot recommend the pavillion d'orient enough

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tappers t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Pavillon has surpassed my expectations and actually 'saved' my impression over Cambodian hospitality and friendliness (My Cambodia trip was indeed started off with a very disappointing incident, whereby the immigration officer asked money from my dad for no reason when we enter Siem Reap, this kind of behavior has completely ruined the image of the country and is unacceptable across cultures!!).

Back to Pavillon, I've bought the 3 Days Package that includes breakfast, free wifi, and transportation throughout my 3 days in Siem Reap. All I want to say is: It's really worth the $$, esp when I'm travelling with my parents who can't really walk that much, and places could be 15mins or up to an hour apart. Louis the driver has became our best friend and a professional guide throughout the trip. He didn't mind the extremely early call to watch sunrise, or even late return after dinner (car transportation service supposed to end at 7pm and replace by tuktuk).

The staff at hotel are also all very friendly and helpful, esp the reception who arranged literally everything for us. There was a time when our massage booking was slightly delayed, the hotel in return has given us 15% discount as a good gesture. We didn't even noticed that until seeing the bill when check out!

The room and facilities are all great, and the design of the hotel carries a strong French colonial character which I loved it! The only down side is wifi reception is somehow not perfect in certain spots of the room.

I'm glad I've made a right choice that touches up my annual family trip, thanks Pavillon.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 020Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

we stayed for 3 nights in November 2009. This hotel takes care of their guests. Because it was our first trip here, one is not certain what the new country will be like. Therefore we loved the idea of being picked up at the airport and then our tuk driver during the stay. It was so easy to tell other tuk drivers that we had our driver waiting for us. The service from reception was excellent. they booked us at the Raffles Hotel Dinner show and got us front row seats. Our Tuk driver waiting for us at the end of dinner and the show. We also used him for our second day of sightseeing to the termples. The staff are always smiling and ready to help in any way.

you dont be dissappointed by staying at this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hankvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
3.6 mi away
Sojourn Boutique Villas
Sojourn Boutique Villas
#31 of 374 in Siem Reap
885 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#6 of 374 in Siem Reap
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 374 in Siem Reap
3,790 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Belmond La Residence d'Angkor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Address: Road no 60 , after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
#29 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range: $78 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing