We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Ranked #21 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

We had a fantastic stay at Pavillion d'Orient. The rooms and grounds are really beautiful and the staff are all truly lovely. LOVED the pool after a very hot day travelling around the temples. The hotel provides a FANTASTIC transport service to all its guests that we utilised everyday and makes the stay and exploration at Angkor Wat so easy and stress free. Would recommend this to anyone going to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingplacesmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    211
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
460
1,079
115
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

Sebastien and his crew at Pavillon D'Orient really do a fantastic job. We were extremely happy with the service.

Breakfast was ok, but a tad light when it came to 1 croissant PP. They also offered other food, but the option of a second croissant would be nice (they were tasty!). Lunch was just ok. Much better food in and around town.

The hotel itself is all we needed for our stay. Our driver was fantastic and acted as a partial guide. Very helpful! It was nice coming back to the hotel pool at it's refreshing temperature (not too hot, not too cold). Pool service would be nice, but wasn't expected by us.

The room was very clean and quiet.

The massages were very good (better than we expected and rivaling Toronto's good quality masseuses) and at a great price. Wish we would haev induldged further!

I highly reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for good value in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cash_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

We booked this hotel last minute and I can't believe that they still had spaces. The main reason that we chose the hotel was because Sebastien answered our queries so quickly and because they offered airport collection and a tuk-tuk at our disposal all day. This saved a lot of stress with bargaining on a trip by trip basis. (Ask for Mr Sett as your driver if he is free.)

The gardens of the hotel were blissful after a hot day at the temples. The rooms were fantastic and very clean. However, the best aspect was the helpful and friendly staff. We left early to catch the riverboat and they waited up with us in reception and provided a free breakfast pic-nic for our trip.

The thing that made it special was all the little touches such as water in our room, bedtime stories, mosquito coils on the balcony and a sense that you as a guest mattered.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schubert_Rd_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

From the fast response of the first email contact, Sebastien and staff demonstrated how they have earned the top slot in the Angkor area. From lemongrass tea upon arrival, fun and friendly tuk-tuk transporation, stylish accomodations, relaxing garden and pool, Khmer bedtime stories, to secret gifts upon checkout! We WILL be back to this charming hotel. They exceeded our expectations by paying attention to the small details that are appreciated rather than getting distracted by the big ones that don't really matter.
Thanks for a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oildan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Historically, I have tended to take online hotel reviews with a pinch of salt as, in the most part, people make more of an effort to complain than congratulate and this can lead to unfair bias and often un-representative reviews. Likewise, any hotel that appears to have ridiculously high praise and limited apparent faults is also cause for scepticism.

The Pavillon D'Orient, on virtual paper at least, initially fell into the latter category for me (in fact, as far as tripadvisor reviews are concerned, it apparently had NO faults).

However, having just stayed at the Pavillon for 3-nights, I was very chuffed to discover that all the reviews on tripadvisor, to this point at least, were absolutely warranted. It is a gem and stands out, as quite simply, the best hotel experience I have ever had.

As previous reviewers have noted, the entrance is non-descript but once through the doors, a tranquil, charmingly decorated oasis awaits. However, it is not the quality of the decor, the bathrooms, TV's, gifts, fresh fruit , bedtime stories and food that inspired this review (albeit very welcome) but the unrelenting quality and friendliness of service from Sebastien and his team.

Nothing was too much trouble. Service above and beyond was always offered and more often that not, completed without request . For example, within 10-minutes of arriving, following a cold towel and refreshing drink, we had a bespoke itinerary discussed, prepared and printed (tuk tuk driver introduced and briefed) that would see us at the best temple locations, avoiding the crowds, at the best times of day for viewing.

During our stay they also packaged a painting I had bought ( I only asked to borrow some tape), offered to burn my photos to CD at a local shop, booked us a balloon ride and generally looked after us to such an extent, that I will genuinely miss it.

Our tuk-tuk driver for 3-days (included in the rate) was charm personified and gave us an insight into the country and its people, picking us up before dawn on one day and remaining available until 10pm (and doubtless beyond if required). He also ensured that we benefitted from his local knowledge and had access to local eating (on one day we bought freshly grilled fish, rice,sauces and drinks, then ate by a lake, far away from anyone else).

In summary, it was fantastic. ALL other hotels take note..as you are probably not as good as the Pavillon D'Orient..and you really ought to be. This was perfection and it was a pleasure to experience it first hand..for the first time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndietravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Pavillon d'Orient and we could not have been more impressed.
On our arrival we were welcomed with cold towels, fresh drinks and a level of personal attention that would persist through our entire stay. We had originally wanted to spend 3 nights here but due to the hotel being fully booked we could not. However Sebastian, the General Manager, was extremely accommodating and arranged for us to spend 1 night at their sister hotel the Pavillon Indochine. We were fully taken care of with airport transfers and transfers between hotels.
Our room was very spacious with fresh fruit, bottled water and tea/coffee facilities provided. The open air restaurant was an ideal place to relax with a few drinks after a tiring day of temple trekking. The menu itself is small but well priced and delicious, offering traditional Cambodian faire with French-European influences. The restaurant staff are helpful and polite, but occasional minor mistakes with food order accuracy do occur (a language barrier more than anything else).
Let the reception staff recommend temple itineraries for you, all you need to do is turn up with a camera, sunscreen and comfy shoes.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

Hotel is really nice. Never had such helpful staff anywhere. The rooms are very comfortable, and slightly colonial. Every wish was accomodated and the staff attention was just incredible. I would have loved to have stayed much longer! Although the hotel is a bit out from the centre this doesn't matter in the least as you have your own tuk-tuk and driver to take you around. The tuk-tuk made our stay hassle free and was great fun. Book into this hotel and you will have a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan100london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.6 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#13 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Temple Residence
Golden Temple Residence
#3 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Privilege Floor by LOTUS BLANC
1.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#37 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#36 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel

Property: Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel
Address: Road no 60 (rd to Angkor), after Psah Leu market, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#6 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
#17 Spa Hotel in Siem Reap
#25 Business Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Pavillon d'Orient Boutique-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavillon d`Orient Boutique Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing