We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very high "ick" factor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very high "ick" factor!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Sometimes, reviewers can be overly harsh with negative reviews. Disappointment is a product of expectations and sometimes, expectations are just too unrealistic. I've stayed at Ritz-Carlton properties and I've stayed at Choice Hotels brand properties. In both cases, I know what to expect. The Comfort Inn in North Abescon failed to meet even the lowest of expectations. In this instance, absolutely pay attention to the negative reviews. I'll start with a positive, though, and mention that the front desk did grant my request at check in, for a room high up and away from the elevator. Room 703 fit that bill. Once we entered the room, it was another story. Everything just looked run down and dirty. The bed spreads looked like they haven't been washed in years. The carpet was horribly stained (pretty bad if you can see stains on dark carpet). I made sure my mate kept his slippers on the entire time while we were in the room and in the bathroom. YUCK! Just YUCK! I'm sorry that I am not being very articulate right now, but I'm not sure how else to describe it. Even though I wanted to leave, I made it work because it was one night and we only needed a place to lay our heads without spending a lot of money. Free breakfast was bedlam and we decided to skip it. No one was really "policing" the food line and so people, with bare hands, were reaching into the food. I know that hotel staff can only do so much about customers' bad behavior, but a little supervision and customer service-friendly reminders about keeping sanitary habits would be much appreciated by all. I'm not a germophobe -- just a reasonable person avoiding gastro-intestinal bugs. Let me say again that I have stayed at other Choice Hotel brand properties in other parts of the country and most of them were fine and provided good value.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel? If stuck here, then higher floors and far away from elevators. You'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoRockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    105
    101
    49
    85
See reviews for
115
151
29
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one evening. The hotel is updated and the rooms look recently updated.We requested a non-smoking room being that I have allergies. The first room we were given, as soon as the door was open the smell of smoke hit us. We were given a second room which smelt much better for about an hour then the smoke smell was kicking in. Housekeeping came and sprayed but a little while later the smell was back. The whole floor was labeled as smoke-free. The front desk was pleasant but I will not be back. The smell was too strong for me.The beds are not so comfortabable, can use an update.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here while on vacation to Atlantic City. Hotel is cloce to AC and its a very easy drive.

The hotel looked older on the outside, however was almost entirely brand new inside from recent renovations, I assume from the hurricane.

Staff were very helpful and kind. Nothing overly special worth noting, but nothing negative to say. What I expected from this brand of hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A1_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in February for business. This was a horrible hotel. The bed spreads had holes in them, dragging on the dirty floors. Everithing (sheets, pillows, towels),was old and dingy. I asked for another room after entering the first one. Well, the second one was worse then the first one. The owner did not care. Since I had it pre-paid through the Priceline there was a cold treatment from the owner. He ran the lobby, the guest rooms, the check ins, and it was basicaly a "the one man show".
I had to stay there for two days and could not wait to check out. I will never, never stay there again, even if I had to sleep in my car. FILTHY!!!!!!

P.S.
Don't be fooled by the looks of the outside of the building.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a room for an overnight stay and were very happy with the accomodations. The hotel's lobby was very appealing and the front desk staff also pleasant. Our room was spacious and clean and we were glad to have a refrigerator. The dining room for breakfast was large and accomodated many guests. The buffet had usual variety for breakfast and two waffle makers. It was a
pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Utilized this hotel for an overnight stay. The outside was not too welcoming; however, the inside was pretty decent. Easy check-in/check-out. Clean room. Clean bathroom. No noise. Free shuttle to casinos. Free breakfast but didn't eat. Reasonably priced, much less than staying on or closer to boardwalk. Allowed a late checkout w no hesitation.

First room door did not lock when closed...mgt. quickly reassigned room. Vending machine also did not work. Overall good stay - will refer friends and family. Will likely stay again in July when Beyonce comes to town.

Room Tip: City view facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meeeshia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had an early flight from AC airport and dinner with friends the night before the flight in AC. I was a bit nervous after reading some reviews. Our goal for this night was to have a central location between airport and AC and a clean bed. Well if that is all you want I think you should book this hotel. The bed and rest of room was better then I expected. nothing fancy but it seemed pretty clean and comfy. Maybe we were lucky with our room but next time i will try this hotel again if we have an early flight. We only paid $27 for the night on price line....pretty amazing for what we got.....For the rest don;t expect anything else. Location is on the bay but nothing near the hotel....it's a 10 minute drive away from AC and 10/15 min from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
2.7 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#3 of 25 in Absecon
436 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
3.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
17,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City

Property: Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
Address: 539 E Absecon Blvd, Us 30, Absecon, NJ 08201-2244 (Formerly Comfort Inn Atlantic City North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Absecon Hotel Absecon
Absecon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing