We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a summer place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a summer place”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Cons: The airconditioning system was from the 60's. Not the kind of place you want to be in the heat of the summer! The hallways were not airconditioned, so even if you cranked the air in your room (which didn't help much) you were a sweaty mess by the time you hit the lobby. Ice machines were only operational on 2 floors of the hotel (with no sign that said that). The front desk was understaffed. There was always a line. Better to call down and hope they pick up the phone than sweat to death waiting in line for their attention. There were a lot of shady people staying there and I did not feel particularly safe. The hallways smelled. There were guys hanging around outside. There was broken glass and garbage in the parking lot. There were parties going on during the weekend, further making me feel unsafe. Glad my room was on a high enough floor that at least I escaped the noise of the parties. I watched many people come into the hotel and then leave without checking in, because it was so gross.

Pros: The mattress and pillows were quite high quality. Everything in the room was functioning (shower, toilet, sink, coffeemaker, hairdryer, etc.). The room did appear to be quite clean. It is an EASY drive into the heart of AC from this hotel. The location is not bad at all. My GPS wanted to take me to another spot on the road, so you have to keep your eyes open for the hotel and not blindly listen to the directions.

Advice: Don't stay in the summer. If you must, then check in and leave the air blasting while you go out, so that it will be cool enough to sleep during the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    97
    90
    46
    78
See reviews for
103
140
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here this past weekend the lady that worked the night audit shift was very nice and pleasant. That was the only nice thing about the hotel....the hallways were extremely hot and breakfast was disgusting. I tried to fix a plate and take it to my room since there was not ample seating in the breakfast room but ended up trashing it because the sausage was undercooked and the croissants seemed stale! We ended up finding a Burger King to eat breakfast...even the soda machines on each floor didn't seem to be keeping the sodas or water cold as the two sodas we purchased were lukewarm. The kicker of our stay at this hotel is that on saturday night really sunday morning 2am when we were trying to sleep a drunken guest fell on our Locked door and our door bust wide open! So much for locks....this hotel needs to really step it's game up!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savvytraveler35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Absecon hotels

Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here august 13th to the 14th.the guy at the front desk was ok and gave me a room at the end of the hallway but thats the only good thing.the hallway to the room has no air at all.it was so hot walking down it.the carpet in the hallway looked old and dirty.the room itself was outdated with stains on the carpet and a tv that had alot of static on it.the room had a outdated air conditioner that barely worked.the room was so hot when we arrived and the ac when turned on helped very little.the room was very dusty and didnt look like its been clean in awhile.the comfortner on the bed even had stains on it.the thing that really suprised me that even some of the towels in the bathroom had stains on it and looked dirty.the toilet even looked like it hasnt been cleaned.we couldnt wait to checkout the next day and leave this filthy hot place.i wouldn recommend this place to anyone.i say dont believe the good reviews that some people write about this place.i think they are far from the truth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2011

i booked this hotel & was nervous at first because of all these reviews I read, but I'm glad they were all wrong (at least for us!) The front desk staff was very nice & helpful, we had an issue with our air conditioner not working and although it took a few calls and quite a while for the guy to come check it (although it didn't matter cuz we weren't in our room over that time frame anyways) they promptly moved us to a nicer room as soon as we returned. The rooms were large & clean, beds were awesome, breakfast good & great location! We enjoyed our stay & wil go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adhrjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

While the hotel is reasonably priced for the Atlantic City area (those are the pros), I cannot recommend it. We never received a room key : they told us when we checked in that there was a problem with the keying machine and it would be fixed shortly. They had a staff member take us to our room and let us in. Later that evening when we returned to the hotel, the machine was still not fixed, so another staff member let us in our room. The next morning - still not fixed, still no key!
We had to go to 3 different floors to find a working icemaker;. Not a biggie, but just added to the cons about this hotel. The room itself was just ok : it was relatively clean and the bed was comfortable. The room did have a funny smell to it (can't place it, but thank goodness I brought my febreze and lysol). The carpet near the window was wet and pulling from the floor - not sure if there was a problem with the air conditioner or something else...
Breakfast was a joke - very limited selection, and very poor quality. Coffee, however, was good.
Overall, not worth the "discounted" price we paid!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dohligee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Jerome, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We reserve for one week at this hotel for a family trip, beach ect... on internet the photo was nice and it s seem appear clean. but after 12 hours in the car we arrive at the hotel and bad trip.... the parking was a big garbage ,chairs,table and smell very bad.The lobby window was very dirty and after the check in we go in our room. The second floor smell so bad in the corridor that i block my nose.We enter in our room and surprise....my view in my window is the parking garbage ...wow..the room was dirty and i don't have the courage for open the beds so, we found another hotel for the week and we live this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Whatever you need the front desk would help you...very very hot in the hallways..they need air room very clean rooms....but I call. Myself laying in the bed before we hit the beach an my oh my....I got bite marks on me like 11 or 12 by bed bugs oh my gosh.....noooooo say it ain't so bed bugs....call and theymoved me from 3-5.....much better bui was scared to sleep at nite...please please check ur bed so this don't happen to u...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meme924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Absecon
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Atlantic City
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Absecon - Atlantic City Area
2.7 mi away
Garden State Inn
Garden State Inn
#3 of 25 in Absecon
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites West Atlantic City
2.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Atlantic City North
3.6 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
16,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City

Property: Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City
Address: 539 E Absecon Blvd, US 30, Absecon, NJ 08201-2244 (Formerly Comfort Inn Atlantic City North)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Absecon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Absecon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Absecon Atlantic City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Absecon Hotel Absecon
Absecon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing